Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Ask A Librarian | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy |

Locations & Hours | News & Events | Search Tools |Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Antiques, Arts & Music

 

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


Fine Arts & Music Collection

More than 100 full-text magazines and journals including the Wilson Art Index and RILM. Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

 

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art

This five-volume set includes American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century devoting coverage to many previously underrepresented areas of inquiry, including African American artists, Asian American artists, and Native American art, both historical and contemporary. Artists, major movements, institutions, critics, and the architecture found in major cities of the United States are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art.

 

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century

In-depth biographical and critical essays covering  more than 600 musical artists who made an enduring impact on music between 1901-2000.  Includes many genres,  world music and music for film and musical theater.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Antiques Reference

Provides price and background information on hundreds of thousands of antiques, collectibles, fine art, and historic Americana. Updated daily, data is based on auction information drawn from fifty leading regional auction houses located throughout the United States, plus other selected specialist auctions.  Users can search by item category, specific type of item within a category, geographic origin, keyword or date.  Also included are links to auction houses and other auction-related links.

** Tutorials **

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

 

Last updated January 22, 2014