Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Carnegie Library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Biography

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


 

Great Athletes

Search this online encyclopedia set for sports articles and biographies. The emphasis is on sports that are popular in North America, but there is considerable coverage on sports and athletes from other parts of the world, too. Includes volumes on baseball, basketball, boxing, racing, football, golf, ice hockey, the olympic sports, and tennis.

 

Great Lives from History: Ancient World, Prehistory to 476 C.E.

Biographical essays with illustrations of key historical figures up through the Fall of Rome.

 

Great Lives from History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era 1454-1600

Biographical essays on the standard figures - kings, queens, generals, artists, and scientists from Africa, Asia, Europe, and North and South America as well as many key figures who are less well known. Also includes a comprehensive listing of Rulers and Dynasties, other chronologies and maps.

 

Great Lives from History: 17th Century

Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished in the 17th century. Includes biographical information about emperors, conquerors, kings and queens, popes and theologians.

 

Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives

637 essays focus on historically significant people considered "notorious" and controversial. Scope of coverage is worldwide from ancient times to the present, with an emphasis on the North American and the West.

 

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century

In-depth biographical and critical essays covering  more than 600 musical artists who made an enduring impact on music between 1901-2000.  Includes many genres,  world music and music for film and musical theater.

 

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


American National Biography

Profiles of more than 18,000 deceased men and women who have influenced American history and culture.

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated July 10, 2013