Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Encyclopedias

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


 

Encyclopedia Americana     novelny logo

Based on the distinguished, long-standing print product.  Geared to the sophisticated research needs of more advanced students.

 

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia       novelny logo

Based on the full text of the Academic American Encyclopedia, is a fact-filled reference resource. Includes and interactive atlas, images, sound files and topical Internet links. Designed for users from the upper elementary grades through adults.

 

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre     novelny logo  

Complete encyclopedia for Spanish speakers and Spanish language students.

 

Milestone Documents in American History

Online, searchable, full text content of the 4-volume reference title, Milestone Documents in American History. It combines 134 full-text primary source documents  covering the time period 1763 to 2003 with expert analysis and commentary.

 

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century

In-depth biographical and critical essays covering   more than 600 musical artists who made an enduring impact on music between 1901-2000.  Includes many genres,  world music and music for film and musical theater.

 

New Book of Knowledge      novelny logo

Concise resource covering a broad range of topics. Includes history timelines, wonder questions, reading lists and teacher guides. Geared toward students in the middle grades. 

 

Oxford Reference

Contains eBooks to read online, or library cardholders may e-mail or download chapters. Includes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, the Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, and the Grove Encyclopedia of American Art.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated March 22, 2014