Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Health

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


Gale Health Reference Center Academic     novelny logo

Over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
** Health Reference Center Academic Tutorial (3:45 minutes)

 

Salem Health

Online, searchable, full text content of two titles: Magill’s Medical Guide 7th edition, an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides and Salem Health: Cancer, 835 essays on all aspects of cancer for the patient, family members and caregivers.

 

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration – with content from more than 380 journals.

 

ReferenceUSA

A business and consumer research tool to use for quick lookups or creating customized lists. Includes listings for more than 14 million U.S. business, 4 million new businesses, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, more than 800,000 U.S. physicians and dentists and 210 million U.S. residences. Profiles include contact and other directory information. Advanced search allows users to do reverse phone number lookups, search by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.
** Using the ReferenceUSA Business Database Tip Sheet [pdf]

ReferenceUSA Online Tutorials

 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

Articles from more than 60 journal titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

 


star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated March 17, 2014