Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

History & Social Science

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


U.S. History Collection

A collection of journals providing balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.

 

Milestone Documents in American History

Online, searchable, full text content of the 4-volume reference title, Milestone Documents in American History. It combines 134 full-text primary source documents  covering the time period 1763 to 2003 with expert analysis and commentary.

 

Milestone Documents in African American History

Covers 135 iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Includes legislative documents, speeches, congressional reports and more with in-depth analysis and commentary. Also includes biographical essays, timelines and images.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context       novelny logo

Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.

 

Virtual Reference Library - ebooks

Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books. There is no loaning or checking out - the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. GVRL has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.

 

America the Beautiful     novelny logo

Fact-filled, interest-driven resource for the states, noted Americans, and U.S. History for elementary school and above.

 

World History Collection

Balanced coverage of events in World History. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. Contains nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals.

 

Milestone Documents in World History

Covers 125 iconic primary source documents from ancient times to the present and from virtually every geographical region. Entries include the full text of the document, an overview that outlines the importance of the document and an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.

 

Great Events From History

From Salem Press, the database includes essays, maps, charts and images about the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries, plus historical biographies.

 

Lands and Peoples     novelny logo

Up-to-date information on countries, cultures, and current events for middle school and above.

 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology

This three-volume encyclopedia examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. This set provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from circa 500 CE to circa 1500.

 

Military and Intelligence Collection

Over 500 titles and more than 7 million articles with links to related sources outside of the current article: reference books, magazine and newswire articles.

 

War and Terrorism Collection

Gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. Almost 100 full-text periodicals are included. Coverage begins in 1980.

 

Pop Culture Collection

Useful information for researchers in social science, history, or art. Includes 100 subject-appropriate periodicals, which are predominantly full-text.

 

Diversity Studies Collection

Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980.

 

Gender Studies Collection

Balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Coverage from 30 full-text journals begins in 1980.


star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

 

Last updated March 22, 2014