Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Ask A Librarian | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy |

Locations & Hours | News & Events | Search Tools |Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Magazines and Journals

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries

 

General OneFile       novelny logo

Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

** Tutorials **

 

Academic OneFile      novelny logo

Over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
** See tutorials in General OneFile section, above.

 

Business Insights: Essentials      novelny logo

Up-to-date business, company and industry information and a wide variety of global business information from business magazines,  trade journals and newspapers.

** Tutorials **

 

FirstSearch ArticleFirst

OCLC index of articles from the table of contents pages of 16,000 journals in the areas of business, science, humanities, technology and popular culture. Covers 1990-present.

 

GreenFILE

GreenFILE a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns - global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. Containing nearly 300,000 records, it includes full-text from current publications as well as backfiles from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management , Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology . Also included is information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context       novelny logo

Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Masterfile Elite

Full text for magazines, periodicals and reference books covering a wide-range of subject areas. This database also provides Country Reports and an Image Collection containing photos, maps and flags. List of titles includes Consumer Reports. [Titles available]

** Tutorials **

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated March 22, 2014