Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
Ask A Librarian | My Account | Catalog | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | Locations & Hours |

News & Events | Search Tools | Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Newspapers

New York State Newspapers by Location

New York State Newspapers by Title


Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


NewsBank

Search over 1,800 current and archived local, state and national newspapers for full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, sports, obituaries and more. Newspapers include all the Syracuse Newspapers (12/2/86-Current), Utica Observer Dispatch, Albany Times Union, and many major U.S. metropolitan titles. This collection is text only and has no images.

How to Search NewsBank News Resources Note: Your local library may or may not have all the sources referenced.

 

InfoTrac Newsstand    novelny logo

Access full text articles from more than 1000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading international titles. Search articles by title, headline, date, author or newspaper section.

** Tutorials **

 

Gannett Newsstand Complete novelny logo

Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
List of Newspapers Available [PDF]

 

Newspaper Archive.com

A searchable archive of digital images of the Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. Coverage also includes more than 750 US cities and over 2000 US and international newspaper titles. Included in the collection is This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages. Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.

 

Newspaper Archive.com - Syracuse

A searchable archive of just the Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages. Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.

 

New York State Newspapers     novelny logo

Full-text articles from a collection of New York State newspapers including the Syracuse Post Standard (1996-current). To search the Buffalo News and Albany Times Union, use the Newsbank database. To search the New York Times use InfoTrac Newsstand database.

 

National Newspaper Index     novelny logo

Indexing for six major newspapers from 1977 onward: The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Washington Post.

 

New York Times Digital Microfilm & Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm

Retrieve digital images from the New York Times Eastern edition or the Wall Street Journal Late edition from 2008 to present. Unlike a database, you will need to select a date to view the newspaper image. Subject or keyword searching to locate articles is not available in the digital microfilm. To search for articles by subject, use the National Newspaper Index database listed above.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context       novelny logo

Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.

 

Business Insights: Essentials    novelny logo

Up-to-date business, company and industry information and a wide variety of global business information from business magazines, trade journals and newspapers.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Proquest Historical Newspapers

Full text coverage of the following newspapers: New York Times (1851-2010),
Wall Street Journal (1889-1994) , Washington Post (1877-1995) , Los Angeles Times (1881-1988),
The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998).

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated December 18, 2014