Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Reference

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


Gale Academic OneFile      novelny logo

Over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.

 

Gale General OneFile       novelny logo

Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

 

GreenFILE

GreenFILE a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns - global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. Containing nearly 300,000 records, it includes full-text from current publications as well as backfiles from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management , Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology . Also included is information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.

 

Milestone Documents in American History

Online, searchable, full text content of the 4-volume reference title, Milestone Documents in American History. It combines 134 full-text primary source documents  covering the time period 1763 to 2003 with expert analysis and commentary.

 

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century

In-depth biographical and critical essays covering  more than 600 musical artists who made an enduring impact on music between 1901-2000.  Includes many genres,  world music and music for film and musical theater.

 

ReferenceUSA

Business and residential phone numbers, addresses, and other directory information, including reverse phone number lookups. The business directory offers advanced mode searching by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


CQ Researcher/CQ Global Researcher  

These two CQ Press titles offer in-depth, unbiased analysis of pressing political and social issues covering topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Popular sections such as “Current Situation” and “Pro/Con” are joined in the CQ Global Researcher by the new “Voices from Abroad,” which presents a multitude of international viewpoints on vital current issues. Maps, charts, and other explanatory graphics are included.

 

McGraw-Hill AccessScience

Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. Find RSS feeds, Flash® animations, image galleries, podcasts, videos, weekly Q&A and biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists. Content is contributed by more than 5000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners.

 

Patrons Books in Print

An easy-to-use tool that allows you to discover titles similar to books you already enjoy or to create a suggested reading list based on the search criteria you enter.

 

Statesman's Yearbook

[In Library Use Only]

Information on every country in the world, covering key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defense, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets and much more.

 


*NOVELny Database

Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated July 2, 2010