Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Religion & Philosophy

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion 

Over 2,500 entries from 180 international scholars including biographical sketches of important personalities associated with the development of the Jewish religion over the centuries and an index with alternate spellings of Hebrew terms.

 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible   

Contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

 

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Research different religions and philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Comprised of 250 periodicals, many of which are full-text. Coverage begins in 1980.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Mango Languages Online - Religious and Scholarly Language Collection

This specialized collection brings life to documents and languages from the past, featuring passages from ancient texts in Koine Greek, Ancient Greek, Latin, and Biblical Hebrew. The courses focus on passages from historical books, poems and religious documents, providing insight into the cultures in which the languages were spoken.

 


 

Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

 

Last updated April 17, 2013