Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Ask A Librarian | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy |

Locations & Hours | News & Events | Search Tools |Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Science & Technology

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


General Science Collection

Provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology from more than 275 academic journals and general science-focused magazines.

 

Salem Science

Includes Earth Science: Earth’s Surface & History, Applied Science and Physics & Chemistry of the Earth. Together, both titles include over 425 lengthy essays and more than 1,000 illustrations (tables, charts, drawings, and photographs) that display basic principles, phenomena, geological features of our world and the solar system, engineering, micro- and nanotechnologies, aerospace, communications, energy, information, medical, military, transportation, forensic, and even food technologies.

 

Great Lives from History: Scientists & Science

Includes coverage of over 350 of the greatest scientists in history from a wide range of fields. Each of these extended biographies offers an introductory summary of the person's scientific significance; birth and death dates and places; and specialty fields of science. Biographies represent a strong, global, cross-gender focus.

 

Virtual Reference Library - ebooks

Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books including books on North American mammals and exploration. There is no loaning or checking out - the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. GVRL has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.

 

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather   

Over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes.

 

New Book Of Popular Science     novelny logo

In-depth coverage of science, health, and technology for middle school and above.

 

Environmental Issues & Policy Collection

Provides Instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests. More than 175 journals covered.

 

NewsBank

Includes the following science and technology magazines: Popular Science 11/01/2002-Current, Science Illustrated 2/01//2009-Current, and Science News 7/4/1998-Current. Also includes Special Report section, Science and Health in the News; A learning resource offering articles on current news topics and on scientific concepts, technology and the practice of life, earth, physical, medical, health and applied sciences.

 

Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection

Focus specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. Includes content from 50 journals relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

 

GreenFILE

GreenFILE a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns - global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. Containing nearly 300,000 records, it includes full-text from current publications as well as backfiles from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management , Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology . Also included is information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.

 

Psychology Collection

Access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

 

Agriculture

Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. Comprised of nearly 200 titles.

 

Computer Database

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

 

Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Nearly 100 leading industry journals covering topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. Coverage begins in 1980.

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated April 17, 2013