Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Students K-8

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


eLibrary Elementary  novelny logo

Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes the American Heritage Dictionary.



Kids InfoBits   novelny logo

Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.

 

Encyclopedia Americana     novelny logo
Based on the distinguished, long-standing print product.  Geared to the sophisticated research needs of more advanced students.

 

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia      novelny logo
Based on the full text of the Academic American Encyclopedia, is a fact-filled reference resource. Includes and interactive atlas, images, sound files and topical Internet links. Designed for users from the upper elementary grades through adults.

 

Amazing Animals of the World     novelny logo

Comprehensive collection of over 1,200 animals for elementary school and above.

 

America the Beautiful     novelny logo

Fact-filled, interest-driven resource for the states, noted Americans, and U.S. History for elementary school and above.

 

Lands and Peoples     novelny logo

Up-to-date information on countries, cultures, and current events for middle school and above.

 

Learning Express Library 3.0 - New Platform!

The School Center includes online math and reading practice for 4th and 5th grades, math, reading and writing skills improvement for 6th through 8th grades  and high school entrance exam preparation. The School Center contains tutorials and downloadable ebooks for 4th grade and up. The College Preparation Center has practice tests for AP, ACT, SAT and PSAT

View the Learning Express 3.0 User Guide videos to learn how to register, search the database, take a test, download an ebook and more.

 

Milestone Documents in American History

Online, searchable, full text content of the 4-volume reference title, Milestone Documents in American History. It combines 134 full-text primary source documents  covering the time period 1763 to 2003 with expert analysis and commentary.

 

New Book of Knowledge    novelny logo
Concise resource covering a broad range of topics. Includes history timelines, wonder questions, reading lists and teacher guides. Geared toward students in the middle grades. 

 

New Book Of Popular Science     novelny logo

In-depth coverage of science, health, and technology for middle school and above.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context    novelny logo

Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.

 

Tumblebook Library

Animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Children can read along, or just have the book read to them. All books play directly in your internet browser window, so there is no software or files to download to your computer.

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Masterfile Elite

Full text for magazines, periodicals and reference books covering a wide-range of subject areas. This database also provides Country Reports and an Image Collection containing photos, maps and flags. List of titles includes Consumer Reports. [Titles available]

** Tutorials **

 

NoveList

Database covering more than 120,000 adult, teen and children’s fiction titles. Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels, award-winning and recommended titles, read-alikes, book reviews and much more.

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated: June 13, 2014