Troubleshooting
If you are having technical difficulties using either the online catalog or the databases, please try the suggestions listed below.
- Why can't I log in to a database?
- Clear your browser's cache or temporary files
- Make sure your browser is set to accept cookies
- Clear your browser's cookies
- Turn off Internet accelerators
- Check your firewall
- Check your library card and PIN
- Try again at a different time
- Heritage Quest tips
- If you still can't connect, email the Library
Why can't I log in to a database?
I can access my account in the online catalog, but I can’t login to the databases.
Database access is dependent on your primary library, the library that issued your library card.
OCPL has purchased some of the online databases for Systemwide access. Other databases are purchased with funds from the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services and made available through the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library (NOVELNY). These resources are available to all OCPL cardholders.
To access one of the OCPL System databases, click the link for the database and enter your card number and PIN.
Certain databases have license restrictions. These databases are only available for remote use by cardholders from the library that purchased that database subscription.
Databases for the Central Library and city branch libraries are identified. If you received your card from one of the suburban libraries, please check their website or contact the library for information on the databases that may be available to you.
You may use any database in person at the subscribing library, whether or not you received your card from that library. Due to licensing restrictions, a few databases cannot be accessed remotely, and are only available in person at the subscribing library. Contact your local library if you have questions about database availability.
Clear your browser's cache or temporary files.
Clearing temporary Internet files in Internet Explorer 6.0:
- Click Tools on the Internet Explorer menu bar.
- Click Internet Options.
- On the General tab, click Delete Files. Check the box for "Delete all offline content" then click OK.
Make sure your browser is set to accept cookies.
To enable cookies in Internet Explorer 6.0:
- Click Tools on the Internet Explorer menu bar.
- Click Internet Options.
- Click the Privacy tab and adjust the setting to Medium or lower. (For some databases, it may be necessary to set the level to Low.)
For more information on managing cookies in Internet Explorer, see Microsoft's website.
Clear your browser's cookies.
To clear cookies in Internet Explorer 6.0:
- Click Tools on the Internet Explorer menu bar.
- Click Internet Options.
- On the General tab, click Delete Cookies, then OK.
Some websites use cookies to store user names and passwords and automatically log you in when you visit. If you clear your browser’s cookies, you may need to enter this information again.
Turn off Internet accelerators.
Internet services with accelerators (AOL TopSpeed, NetZero HiSpeed, EarthLink Accelerator, MSN Dial-up Accelerator) can cause problems with the way the catalog looks or displays. If you use one of these services and are having problems, try turning off the accelerator feature.
Check your firewall.
If you are connecting from home and have a firewall set up on your computer, try disabling the firewall before you connect. If that solves the problem, you can configure the firewall to allow access to the catalog and/or databases. Consult your firewall’s documentation.
If you are connecting from work, your company may have a network firewall that is blocking access. Check with your network administrator.
Check your library card and PIN.
If you are unable to login to your account in the catalog or digital catalog, or you cannot access the databases, check your library card number (User ID) and PIN (Personal Information Number). Make sure you are entering your entire library barcode correctly, without spaces. Your PIN should consist of numbers only. If you don't have a PIN, or you can't remember your PIN, contact your local library or call the Central Library at (315) 435-1904.
If you can login to the catalog but some of the functionality is missing, there could be a problem with your library card itself. Blocks due to outdated addresses or overdue items can have an effect on your ability to access certain functions of the catalog. Please contact your local library if you feel this might be the case.
Try again at a different time.
Sometimes the catalog and/or databases are down temporarily. You may be able to access them if you try again later. If they will be down for an extended period of time, a notice will be posted on the website.
Heritage Quest Tips
When I try to use HeritageQuest Online, I receive a browser incompatibility error, even though I am using a current version of Internet Explorer.
If you are able to connect to HeritageQuest, but you receive a "Browser Incompatibility" error, you may need to lower your privacy settings and allow cookies. To allow cookies in Internet Explorer, click Tools on the menu bar, and select Internet Options. Click the Privacy tab and move the slider down to Medium. If it is already set at Medium, or if setting it to Medium doesn't help, try setting it to Low. Also check the tips if needed and then try accessing the database again.
Tip #1: Your computer may be running a personal firewall such as Norton’s Internet Security, Zone Alarm (or other security software) that blocks your browser from transmitting the referring URL. Configure your personal firewall to prevent it from blocking the referrer information. To do this, some firewalls may require you to mark HeritageQuest® Online as a trusted site. If so, please visit http://www.etsupp.com/firewalls/ for instructions. If you do not see your package listed, you will need to contact the vendor of the security package directly for instructions on how to configure the software to allow cookies or information about visited sites.
Tip#2 If you are using Internet Explorer version 7.0 then:
1. Go to tools and choose internet options
2. Click on the Security tab
3. Click on trusted sites and add your site's domain name and click add
4. Click ok, and log into ProQuest.
Tip# 3 If you are using a Macintosh, you will not be able to use Internet Explorer. There is a known problem with this browser. If you are using OS 9.x, you can access ProQuest by using FireFox. If you are using OS X, you may use either FireFox or Safari to access the site.
If you still can't connect, e-mail the Library.
Please send an e-mail message to: reference@onlib.org
- Explain the problem in detail. Do you have problems with the catalog, the databases, or the entire OCPL website? Do you get an error message? If so, please tell us exactly what it says.
- Who is your Internet service provider?
- What operating system and web browser version are you using?
- Are you connecting from home, school, or work? If you are connecting from home, are you using a firewall?
- What steps have you tried already?
Last updated April 23, 2009

