Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
Ask A Librarian | My Account | Catalog | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | Locations & Hours |

News & Events | Search Tools | Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

East Syracuse Free Library

4990 James StreetEast Syracuse Library photo
East Syracuse, NY 13057

Telephone: (315) 437-4841
Fax: (315) 437-5982

map icon Get Map

Access icon Accessible

wireless icon Wireless Internet


Hours | Closings | Grace Days | Staff | Board of Trustees | Legislators | About this Library


Monday 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Sunday closed


Summer Hours

Mid-June - August

Saturdays closed

Sundays closed

Library Closings


Thanksgiving Eve (Close at 3:00)
Wednesday, November 25

Thursday, November 26

Day after Thanksgiving
Friday, November 27

Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24

Christmas Day
Friday, December 25



New Year's Day
Friday, January 1

Martin Luther King Day
Monday, January 18

President's Day
Monday, February 15

Memorial Day
Saturday- Monday, May 28-30

Independence Day
Monday, July 4

Labor Day
Monday, September 5

Columbus Day
Monday, October 10

Veteran's Day
Friday, November 11

Thanksgiving Eve (Close at 3:00 PM)
Wednesday, November 23

Thursday, November 24

Day after Thanksgiving
Friday, November 25

Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24

Christmas Day observed
Monday December 26



Grace Days

Three (3), except for short loans and event passes


Director: Laurie Rachetta

Board of Trustees

President: Alan DePietro

Vice President: Elaine Lyon

Treasurer: Bert Calnon

Board Clerk: Lisa Wojtaszek

Members: JoAnn Binion, Thomas Hough, Michael Rauer, Susan Rauer, John Ryan, Joe Steinberg

Board Meetings: First Tuesday of every month, except July and August, at 7:00 PM.

Annual Meeting: March


Assembly District No. 119: Sam Roberts

Senate District No. 49: David J. Valesky

County District No. 7: Danny Liedka

About the Library

Located at 4990 James Street, the East Syracuse Free Library was originally founded by community leaders in 1924, to lend books to the residents of the Village of East Syracuse. Since then the library has continued and expanded its mission to bring best selling fiction and nonfiction in print, classic videos, talking books, magazines for adults and children, reference materials for students of all ages, and free access to computers to the community. Featured at East Syracuse is a special collection of Railroad History.

Last updated: November 21, 2015