Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home > Search Tools > Librarian Picks > Animals > The Cat in History

The Cat in History



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Janet Kiernan, Librarian


No other animal has evoked such strong emotions as the cat. Enigmatic and fiercely independent, cats have interacted with humans throughout history, both hated and revered. Its physical traits and super senses have fascinated some and repelled others to such an extent that the animal has been the subject of art, poetry, and sculpture as well as legend and folklore.


Please Choose from the Following:

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Books
Databases
Websites
Associations



Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia Americana

The Encyclopedia of the Cat
by Bruce Fogle. [Introduction: Chapters 1-2.  Short overview.]

book cover image - The New Encyclopedia of the CatThe New Encyclopedia of the Cat
by Bruce Fogle.

Legacy of the Cat
by Gloria Stephens. [pp. 4-8.]

 

 

 

Top of Page


Books

book cover image - When Cats Ruled As KingsWhen Cats Reigned Like Kings: On the Trail of the Sacred Cats
by Georgie Ann Geyer.  McMeel  Pub., 2004.
Curiosity about the ancestors of her own two cats led the author to the East to search out the human-feline role of cats in ancient cultures. 

The Classical Cats: the Rise and Fall of the Sacred Cat

by Donald Engels. Routledge, 1999. 
[Not available at OCPL - if interested, try our Interlibrary Loan option.]

Author traces history of cat’s exalted status in ancient Egypt, through the Middle Ages, and into the 19th century.  He pays closer attention to neglected period 500 B.C.- 500 AD.

Cats Ancient and Modern
by Frederick Cameron Sillar.  Viking Press, 1966.  Through a historical perspective the author portrays the cat in fiction, fact, religion and supposition in illustration of its appeal.

The Cat in Ancient Egypt
by Jaromir Malek. British Museum Press, 1993.
[Not available at OCPL - if interested, try our Interlibrary Loan option.]
Main source of the cat’s early domestication is revealed in art and sculpture. Its role as an accepted member of the household and as a religious object is evident.

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about cats in history, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Ebscohost & Masterfile Select 
 [Search Cats + History]

"The Feline Immigrants."
(Source: Animals, Sept/Oct’94,v.127, issue 5,p.24, 5p.) 
Cats arrive in New England as pets of European settlers. A Symbiotic relationship existed between cats and owners.

"Feline Forecasters." 
(Source: Weatherwise, Jun/Jul.’92, issue 5, p.17, 4p.) 
Colonial ancestors considered cats good predictors of weather.  Their sensitivity to minute physical changes may have contributed to their reputation.

"Pussycat Queen of the Nile."
(Source: Hopscotch, Feb/Mr, 95, v.6, issue 5,p.144, 2p) 
Traces history of the domestication of cats.  Cat killing was a crime, punishable by death. Mummification was practiced by wealthy Egyptians.

Gale General Reference Center Gold   
 [Search Cats + Religion]

"Kitty Kings Rule Hearts." 
Washington Times
, Dec.17, 2004. 
Writer studies the roles of cats throughout history.

Top of Page


Websites

Cats in the Middle Ages
from Storm Tidings

Cats in the World Almanac for Kids

Top of Page


Associations

CFA Breeds—Cat Fanciers Association

See Egyptian Mau

See Birman

Top of Page

Last updated: June 26, 2010