Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home > Search Tools > Librarian Picks > Animals > Helping Stray & Feral Cats

Helping Stray & Feral Cats


*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Walter Noiseux, Librarian

Learn how to help the stray cats in your neighborhood. These books and websites offer practical information about caring for individual cats, and about helping alleviate the problem of abandoned and feral cats.


Please Choose from the Following:

Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Program & Events


Books

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Cat Adoption
Feral Cats

 

Books

book cover image - Stray Cat HandbookStray Cat Handbook
by Tamara Kreuzbook cover image - Living in Shadows
636.808 KRE
How to help individual stray cats or feral colonies.

Living in Shadows: How to Help the Stray Cat in Your Life (Without Adding to the Problem)
by Ann K. Fisher
636.8 FIS
Enrich your life by helping the abandoned or feral cats in your neighborhood.

book cover image - Taming the Feral CatTaming the Feral Cat: The Crate Training Method
by Carrol Clancy
636.808 CLA
A step-by-step illustrated guide to helping and socializing the feral cat too wild to be handled. The author’s website is http://www.oasisdelosgatos.org/.book cover image - Complete Guide to Lost Pet Prevention & Recovery

Complete Guide to Lost Pet Prevention & Recovery: How to Prevent Your Pet from Being Stolen: How to Recover Your Lost Pet: What to Do If You Find a Stray Pet
by Joseph Andrew Sapia and Patricia Sapia.
636.088 SAP
This book will help you get a lost cat back to his or her owner, and it will help you keep your cat from becoming hopelessly lost


Top of Page


Magazines

Best Friends
Published by a major no-kill shelter, this bi-monthly magazine is an excellent source of information for those working with stray or feral cats. It also has great cat photos.

Past 6 months available at:
Hazard Branch Library
1620 W. Genesee St.
Syracuse, NY 13204

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about cat adoption, stray cats or feral cats, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

 

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

Alley Cat Allies
Alley Cat Allies is a national organization with information on how to care for individual cats and about trap-neuter-release programs.

CNY Cat Coalition
A local organization with much helpful information and contacts. Check the website for the time of their next meeting.

Top of Page


Programs & Events

Central New York Cat Coalition
Check website for time of next meeting,
or call 315-289-2287.

Salt City Cat Show
Local cat rescue groups have informational tables at this annual event. This is a great way to meet people involved with helping cats in Central New York. The event is usually on the third weekend in September, at the NYS Fair Grounds. Admission is charged. Check website for details.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010