Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home > Search Tools > Librarian Picks > Arts & Entertainment > Turner to Cezanne

Turner to Cezanne

book cover cezanne landscapeTurner To Cezanne Exhibit 

Masterpieces from the Davies Collection,
National Museum of Wales

Everson Museum of Art  
October 9, 2009 – January 3, 2010 

Turner to Cezanne at the Everson Museum of Art will be an exciting event for Central New Yorkers.  Explore the artists and art movements at OCPL libraries - we have many books and videos on Impressionism and Impressionists and the movements that foreshadowed and flowed from Impressionism. 

This pathfinder offers an overview of OCPL resources for patrons who plan to visit or who have visited “Turner to Cezanne” at the Everson Museum.  The list provides search terms and an introduction to OCPL’s resources in 19th and 20th century art.  It is not intended to include all library resources but is intended to provide a starting point for further study.  

 

Please Choose From the Following:

Art Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Books

      Art Movements in Turner to Cezanne

      Artists included in Turner to Cezanne

      Painting Like the Impressionists

DVDs & Videos

Journal Articles and Magazines

Websites

Nearby Museums with Impressionist Collections  


Art Encyclopedias & Dictionaries  

The Dictionary of Art (Grove)
Jane Turner, editor 

Impressionists and Impressionism
by Maria and Godfrey Blunden 


Books

(on Art Movements included in Turner to Cezanne) 

Avant-garde

modern painting book coverModern Painting : the Impressionists-- and the Avant-Garde of the Twentieth Century
by Stefano Zuffi and Francesca Castria 

Modern Art 1900-45 : The Age of Avant-Gardes
by Gabriele Crepaldi 

Beyond Modern Art
by Carla Gottlieb 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search term:  Avant-Garde (Aesthetics) 

Top of Page


Barbizon School

 

barbizon school book coverThe Barbizon School & the Origins of Impressionism
by Steven Adams 

Barbizon Revisited: Essay and Catalogue
byRobert L Herbert 

The Barbizon School and 19th Century French Landscape Painting
by Jean Bouret 

American Art in the Barbizon Mood
by Peter Bermingham 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search term: Barbizon School 

Top of Page


Fauvism


fauvism book coverFauvism

by Sarah Whitfield 
 

Expressionism and Fauvism
by Kristian Sotriffer  


Fauvist Painters

by Georges Duthuit 

The Fauve Landscape
by Judi Freeman 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search terms:  Fauvism  

Top of Page


Impressionism

 

impressionism book coverImpressionism
by Martina Padberg 

 

World Impressionism : The International Movement, 1860-1920
by edited by Norma Broude 

The Graphic Works of the Impressionists : Manet, Pissarro, Renoir, Cezanne, Sisley
by Jean Leymarie. Catalogue by Michel Melot 

Impressionist and Post-Impressionist Paintings in the Metropolitan Museum of Art
by Charles S. Moffett 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search term:  Impressionism (Art) 

Top of Page


Post-Impressionism (Art)

 

post-impressionists book coverThe Post-Impressionists
by Belinda Thomson 

The Great Book of Post-Impressionism
by Diane Kelder 

The Post-Impressionists: a Retrospective
by Edited by Martha Kapos 

Post-Impressionism: From Van Gogh to Gauguin
by John Rewald 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search term:  Post – Impressionism (Art) 

Top of Page


Realism in art 

realism book coverRomanticism and Realism : the Mythology of Nineteenth-Century Art
by Charles Rosen and Henri Zerner

Realism
by Linda Nochlin 

Realism in 20th Century Painting
by Brendan Prendeville 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search termRealism in Art 

Top of Page


Books

(on artists included in Turner to Cezanne. ) 

Pierre Bonnard

bonnard book cover Bonnard:  Shimmering Color
by Antoine Terrasse 

Bonnard and His Environment
by James Thrall Soby, James Elliott, and Monroe Wheeler.  

Pierre Bonnard
by Andre Fermigier 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term

Top of Page


Paul Cezanne

cezanne, book coverCezanne: a biography 
by John  Rewald

Cezanne's Watercolors:  Between Drawing and Painting
by Mathew Thomas Simms 

Cezanne: The Late Work
by Theodore Reff et al. Edited by William Rubin 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Jean-Baptiste-Camille Corot

painting by corotThe Rise of Landscape Painting in France : Corot to Monet
by Kermit S. Champa ; with contributions by Fronia E. Wissman and Deborah Johnson ; with an introduction by Richard R. Brettell. 

Corot
by Keith Roberts 

Corot: Biographical and Critical Study
by Jeanne Leymarie 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term.

Top of Page


Honore Daumier

painting by daumierDaumier
by Sarah Symmons 

Daumier
by Roger Passeron  

Daumier: Drawings
by K. E. Maison 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Edgar Degas

painting by degasDegas: The Artist’s Mind
by Theodore Reff 

Degas: His Life, Times and Work
by Roy McMullen 

The Sculpture of Edgar Degas
by Charles Millard 

Degas: Impressions of a Great Master
by Gerhard Gruitrooy 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Augustus John

 

painting by johnAugustus John
by Richard Shone 
 

Augustus John
by John Rothenstein

 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL.

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Edouard Manet

 

painting by manetManet : A Visionary Impressionist
by Henri Lallemand 

The Life and Works of Manet
by Nathaniel Harris 

Edouard Manet:  Rebel in a Frock Coat
by Beth Archer Brombert 

The Last Flowers of Manet
by Robert Gordon and Andrew Forge 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Claude Monet

 

painting by monetMonet: A Biography 
by Charles Merrill Mount 

Claude Monet
by Trewin Copplestone

Monet’s Years at Giverny: Beyond Impressionism
by Claude Monet 

Monet's Cathedral : Rouen, 1892-1894
by Joachim  Pissarro 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Pierre Auguste Renoir

renoir paintingPierre-Auguste Renoir
by Trewin  Copplestone 

Renoir: Hayward Gallery, et al 

Renoir: His Life, Art, Letters
by Barbara Ehrlich White 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Alfred Sisley 
book cover image - sisley

Sisley
by Raymond Cogniat 

Click on the title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term.

 

Top of Page


 Joseph Mallord William Turner

painting
Exploring Late Turner
by Leslie Parris, editor 

Turner
by James Hamilton 

Turner: Paintings, Watercolors, Prints & Drawings
by Luke Herrmann 

The World of Turner, 1775-1851
by Diana Hirsh  

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


Vincent Van Gogh

painting by whistlerVan Gogh: His Life and His Art
by David Sweetman 

The World of Van Gogh, 1853-1890
by Robert Wallace and the editors of Time-Life Books. 

Van Gogh in Saint-Remy and Auvers
by Ronald Pickvance 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term. 

Top of Page


James Whistler

painting by whistler

Victorian Outsider: a Biography of J. A. M. Whistler
Roy McMullen 

The World of Whistler, 1834-1903
Tom Prideaux  

Whistler: A Biography
Stanley Weintraub 

 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 
For more materials, use the artist’s name as the search term.

 

Top of Page


BOOKS

(How-to books on painting like the Impressionists)

cover - how to paint like the impressionistsPaint with the Impressionists:  A Step-by-Step Guide to Their Methods and Materials For Today’s Artists
by Jonathan Stephenson 

Painting Methods of the Impressionists
by Bernard Dunstan 

Techniques of the Great Masters of Art
by David Anfam 

book cover image - painting lightPainting Light: The Hidden Techniques of the Impressionists
by Iris Schaefer 

Paint Like Monet
by James Heard 

 

Plein Air Painting 

book cover - plein air paintingLandscape Painting Inside & Out: Capture the Vitality of Outdoor Painting in Your Studio with Oils 
by Kevin D MacPherson 

Plein Air Painting in Watercolor and Oil
by Frank Lalumia 

Click on each title to locate it in OCPL. 

For more materials, use the search term: Impressionism technique art  

Top of Page


DVDs & Videotapes 

DVDs 

cover - ambient artAmbient Art: Impressionism 

From Monet to Van Gogh:  A History of Impressionism 

Hermitage Masterpieces 
[Impressionism is on Disc 3] 

Sister Wendy’s Story of Painting 

The History of Western Art 


cover - private life of a masterpiece

The Impressionists 

The Private Life of a Masterpiece. The Complete Seasons 1-5
[Disc 4:  Masterpieces 1850-1900]
[Disc 5:  Impressionism and Post-Impressionism] 

Videotapes 

A Day in the Country:  Impressionism and the French Landscape  


cover - accessible paradise

An Accessible Paradise  

Art of  the Western World

      Program VI: An Age of Reason, An Age of Passion

      Program VII : Realists, Impressionists, Post impressionists

      Program VIII: Fauves, Cubists, Surrealists 

 

Degas  

Landmarks of Western Art

Volume 6:  Impressionism and Post-Impressionism 

cover - impressionists on the seineImpressionists on the Seine  

Sister Wendy’s Story Of Painting

Program 4: The Age of the Revolution

Program 5: Modernism 

The Impressionists: The Other French Revolution  

Three Colors Cezanne

Top of Page


Databases for More Information

Use OCPL’s magazine* and biographical databases to find magazine, journal, news and reference articles on Impressionism like the three listed below:

 

*Academic ASAP

*General Reference Center GOLD

*ProQuest Platinum

*Gale Biography Resource Center

Top of Page


Websites:
Impressionism, Davies Sisters Collection, Artists in Turner to Cezanne


American Federation of Arts

Artcyclopedia

Metropolitan Museum of Art:  Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

      Impressionism: Art and Modernity

      Fauvism

      The Barbizon School

      Post-Impressionism

 

National Museum of Wales

National Gallery of Art - Washington D.C.

Art Institute of Chicago

Top of Page


Nearby Museums with Impressionist Collections 

 

paintingEverson Museum of Art
Syracuse, New York

Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Buffalo, New York

Barnes Foundation
Lower Merion, Pennsylvania

The Hyde Collection
Glens Falls, New York

Hill-Stead Museum
Farmington, CT

Herbert F. Johnson Museum-Cornell University
Ithaca, New York

Museum of Fine Arts
Boston, Massachusetts

Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
      Cezanne & Pissarro Exhibit
      Van Gogh's Postman Exhibit

Shelburne Museum
Shelburne, Vermont

Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
Williamstown, Massachusetts

Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
Hartford, Connecticut

Yale University Museums

Yale Center for British Art
New Haven, Connecticut

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010