OCPL Home > Search Tools > Librarian Picks > Arts & Entertainment > History of Classical...
The History of Classical Music
*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***
by Marilyn Smith, Librarian
![]()
This pathfinder is a guide to resources for the layperson on the
history of classical music from Gregorian chant—the first
written music of the Western world in the Middle Ages—to
the present. For this purpose, classical music is defined as
Western “art
music” and does not include traditional or folk music,
jazz, rock or other forms of popular music.
Please Choose from the Following:
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Program & Events
Local Resources
Associations
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Billboard Encyclopedia of Classical Music
edited by Stanley Sadie, Billboard Books, 2004.
780.3 BIL
This encyclopedia is organized chronologically by musical era. Each chapter features an introduction to the period, its key composers and other personalities, musical styles, forms and instruments, as well as a listening guide.
Milton Cross' Encyclopedia of the Great Composers and Their Music
by Milton John Cross, Doubleday, 1962.
780.92 CRO
The first section of this encyclopedia contains 78 chapters on the composers who have contributed the most to the history of music. Other sections are devoted to a brief history of music, a list of basic works for collectors and the anatomy of musical forms.
The
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
New York: Grove, 2001.
780.3 NEW
This 29-volume set is the updated edition of the most comprehensive, substantive encyclopedia of music. The 1995 edition is more widely available.
Books
Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:
The following subject headings will generate a search in the OCPL catalog:
Composers
Music Appreciation
Music -- History and criticism
Music -- 500-1400 -- History and criticism
Music -- 15th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 16th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 17th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 18th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 19th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism
Music -- Chronology
Books
Listed
below are a few recommended books from the Onondaga
County Public Library (OCPL) collection that provide a good introduction
to the history and appreciation of classical music. The OCPL collection
includes many other general works on classical music, as well as
books on specific composers or genres. See the SUBJECT HEADINGS section
to search for additional titles in the OCPL
catalog.
Classical Music for Dummies
by David Pogue and Scott Speck
IDG Books Worldwide, 1997.
780.9 POG
The first part of this book introduces the reader to classical music,
including a chapter on “The Entire History of Music in 80 Pages.” Other
sections cover the concert experience, instruments of the orchestra,
components of music and starting a classical music collection. The enclosed
CD introduces different styles and time periods.
Classical Music Without Fear: A Guide for General Audiences
by Marianne Williams Tobias
Indiana University Press, 2003.
781.68 TOB
Major historical periods of classical music (i.e., Baroque, Classical, Romantic,
Impressionism and 20th Century) are covered in a chapter entitled, “The Time Zones.” Other
chapters explain what to expect at a concert and how to read music. A classical
music sampler with tips for compiling a CD collection is included.
The History of Classical Music
by Richard Fawkes
Naxos Audiobooks, 1997.
CD 780.9 FAW
This audiobook on CD covers the history of classical music from Gregorian chant
through the 20th century. Many musical expressions, such as polyphony, sonata
form and serial music are explained. Excerpts from many highly praised recordings
illustrate the text.
A History of Western Music
by Donald Jay Grout and Claude V. Palisca
Norton, 1996.
780.9 GRO
This classic text surveys Western music from Ancient Greece and Rome through
the 20th century. Not for the casual browser, this book is unequaled in the
depth and authority of its coverage. A glossary is included.
The
NPR Curious Listener’s Guide to Classical Music
by Tim Smith
Perigee, 2002.
781.68 SMI
A chapter entitled, “The Story of Classical Music,” provides
a brief history from the Dark Ages through the early 21st century. Other
chapters address varieties of classical music, the elements of classical
music, composers, performers and compositions. A suggested core collection
of classical music on CD and a glossary are also included.
The Symphony (The Great Courses)
by Robert Greenberg
The Teaching Company, 2004.
CD 784.18 GRE
This 24-lecture course on CD traces the development of the symphony from its
roots in the opera of the Baroque period to the present. Three guidebooks accompany
the set.
A
Young Person’s Guide to Music
by Neil Ardley
Dorling Kindersley, 2004.
J 780 ARD
Part Two of this guide for young people tells the story of classical music
from the earliest times to today. It contains timelines, an A-Z of composers,
a section on musical forms and a glossary. The book also describes the orchestra,
the roles of the conductor and composer and musical instruments.
Magazines
BBC Music Magazine
[available at Petit Branch, or Onondaga Free Library]
Also available in online format.
Contains feature articles on performers, composers, historical events and more, as well as CD, DVD and book reviews. Visit the BBC Music Magazine online to subscribe.
The Gramophone
[available at Central
Library, or Manlius Library]
Also available in online format.
Includes feature articles, news, events listings and reviews of CDs, DVDs, books and audio equipment.
Visit The Gramophone online to subscribe.
Databases
For articles about classical music, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.
For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.
For the serious researcher, the journals below are indexed in the InfoTrac and Galenet
databases available through OCPL. You will need a valid OCPL library card to access these databases.
The General Reference Center Gold database indexes:
Notes (Database includes full text)
Musical Quarterly (Database includes abstracts only)
The Academic ASAP database indexes:
Musical Quarterly (Database includes abstracts only)
The Journal of the American Musicological Society (Database includes full text)
Current Musicology (Database includes abstracts only)
The Journal of Musicology (Database includes abstracts only)
Websites
The Classical Music Pages
This web site provides a wealth of information about classical music, including history, composers, explanations of the various musical forms and musical terminology. It is designed to be of use for everyone from the beginner to the music professional.
Classical.Net - Classical Music Informational Sites
This directory provides links to web sites on classical music, organized by topic. A searchable index is included.
Essentials of Music
This web site, produced by Sony Classical, includes overviews of the main periods of music history, composer biographies, a glossary and listening excerpts.
Music History 102
This Internet Public Library guide to the history of Western music from the Middle Ages to the present is organized according to the historical eras. Audio examples are included.
Music Resources on the World Wide Web
This web site, produced by the Yale University Music Library, contains a comprehensive list of music resources on the Web, organized by subject.
Musical History - Useful Internet Links for Research
Designed for middle school students, this resource, produced by the Cedartown (Georgia) Middle School, contains useful Internet links for research.
Yahoo! Entertainment Directory - Classical Music - History
This directory provides links to web sites about the history of classical music, further subdivided by periods and styles.
Programs & Events
Your increased knowledge of the history of classical music may lead to greater enjoyment of classical music concerts offered locally by such institutions as:
The Skaneateles FestivalSyracuse Friends of Chamber Music
Syracuse Opera Syracuse Symphony Orchestra
Local Resources
The Syracuse University Library Music Subject Guide is a guide to music resources available at the Syracuse University Library and on the World Wide Web.
Associations
The University of Washington Libraries provides a comprehensive Directory to Musical Organizations, Societies and Clubs on the Web. Some organizations of particular interest include:
The American Beethoven Society
American Handel SocietyEarly Music America
Last updated: June 26, 2010

