Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Business & Investing -> Sustainability

Sustainability: A Bibliography

by Betsy Burton, Librarian


Sustainability addresses the issues of Social Equity, Environmental Stewardship, and Economic Vitality on local, regional, state, national, and international levels. F.O.C.U.S. Greater Syracuse has named Sustainability as a goal for our region.

Those who work for sustainability on whatever level do so in the hope that our children and the generations that follow them will live on an Earth that is healthy and healthful for all.

The books and DVDs listed here have much to offer, from theory to practice, for all of the roles we play daily— citizens, parents, educators, activists, businesspeople, policymakers—as we work toward making our communities and our world sustainable.  All are available for free loan through the Onondaga County Public Library system.

Reserve materials online with your OCPL library card and PIN, or call the Central Library at
435-1900, or your local library, for assistance with placing hold requests for any of these titles.


Please Choose from the Following:

The Sustainability Shift
The Sustainable Design
The Sustainable Society
The Sustainable City
The Sustainable Neighborhood
The Sustainable Environment
The Sustainable Enterprise
The Sustainable Individual - In Action
Sustainable Energy

Sustainable Living
Sustainable Building
Sustainable Syracuse


Books and DVDs

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Sustainability
Sustainable Agriculture
Sustainable Development
Alternative Agriculture
Ecology

Top of Page


The Sustainability Shift—Where We’ve Been, Where We Can Go

 

Book coverState of the World 2010: Transforming Cultures, from Consumerism to Sustainability 
Linda Starke and Lisa Mastry, editors, W. W. Norton., 2010
330.973 STA

Becoming Green:  Growing Environmental Awareness
(DVD) WGBH, 2008.

Climate Capitalism
L. Hunter Lovins and Boyd Cohen, 2011.
338.927 LOV, Browse Business and Finance

Common Wealth: Economics for a Crowded Planet
Jeffrey Sachs, 2008.
338.9 SAC

Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future
Bill McKibben, 2007.
306.3 McK

Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Robin Morris Collin.  Greenwood Press, 2010.

Energy: Supplies, Sustainability and Costs
Sandra M. Alters, 2007.
333.7 ALT

Good Value:  Reflections on Money, Morality, and An Uncertain World
Stephen Green, Atlantic Monthly Press, 2010.
332.042 GRE

Going Green:  A Comprehensive Guide (DVD).
The Living Series Ltd., 2008.



book cover image - The Little Green HandbookThe Middle Path: Avoiding Environmental Catastrophes
Eric F. Lambin, 2007.
304.28 LAM

The Little Green Handbook: Seven Trends Shaping the Future of Our Planet
Ron Nielsen, 2006.
363.7 NIE



The Limits to Growth: The 30-Year Update
Donella H. Meadows, 2004.
330.9 MEA

Global Survival: The Challenge and Its Implications for Thinking and Acting
2006.
338.927 GLO

Worldchanging: A User's Guide for the 21st Century
2006.
333.7 WOR

Stability with Growth: Macroeconomics, Liberalization and Development
2006.
339.5 STA

book cover image - Getting A GripGetting a Grip: Clarity, Creativity, and Courage in a World Gone Mad
Frances Moore Lappe, 2007.
361.2 LAP

Capitalism as if the World Matters
(revised and updated edition). Jonathon Porritt, 2007.
330.122 POR


Sustainability Management
Steven A. Cohen , 2011.
338.927 COH

The Sustainability Revolution: Portrait of a Paradigm Shift
Andres R. Edwards, 2005.
338.927 EDW

 

Sustainable World Sourcebook:  Critical Issues, Viable Solutions, Resources for Action
compiled by the Sustainable World Coalition, 2010.
333.72 SUS



Upsizing: The Road to Zero Emissions—More Jobs, More Income and No Pollution
Gunter A. Pauli, 1998.
363.7 PAU

Top of Page


The Sustainable Design


Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things
William McDonough, 2002.
745.2 McD

The Designer's Atlas of Sustainability
Ann Thorpe, 2007.
745.2098 THO

book cover image - Design and Landscape for PeopleDesign and Landscape for People: New Approaches to Renewal
Clare Cumberlidge, 2007.
711.4 CUM

Design ep2s: The Economies of Being Environmentally Conscious
PBS, 2006.
DVD 363.7 DES



A Safe and Sustainable World: The Promise of Ecological Design
Nancy Jack Todd, 2006.
628 TOD

Nature's Operating Instructions: The True Biotechnologies
2004.
333.95 NAT

The Nature of Design: Ecology, Culture, and Human Intention
David W. Orr, 2002.
304.2 ORR

In the Bubble: Designing in a Complex World
John Thackara, 2005.
620.004 THA

Affordable Housing: Designing an American Asset
Adrienne Schmitz et al, 2005.
363.55 AFF

Making Smart Growth Work
Douglas R. Porter, 2002.
307.14 POR

book cover image - Building Inside Nature's EnevelopeBuilding Inside Nature's Envelope: How New Construction and Land Preservation Can Work Together
Andy Wasowski with Sally Wasowski, 2002
720.47 WAS

Building for Life: Designing and Understanding the Human-Nature Connection
Stephen R. Kellert, 2005
155.91 KEL

Ten Principles for Smart Growth on the Suburban Fringe
Mary Beth Corrigan et al, 2004.
711.58 TEN

Green Living by Design:  The Practical Guide for Eco-Friendly Remodeling and Decorating
Jean Nayar,  Filipacchi, 2009.
747 NAY

The  Smart Growth Manual
Andres Duany, McGraw-Hill, 2010.
307.121 DUA

Creating Great Town Centers and Urban Villages
 Urban Land Institute, 2008.
711.4 CRE

Land Use Planning and Regulations: A Survey of New York State Municipalities
NYS Legislative Commission on Rural Resources, 2008.
R 333.79 LAN

Creating Value:  Smart Development and Green Design
Vernon D. Swaback, Urban Land Institute, 2007.
307.141 SWA

Creating Walkable Places:  Compact Mixed-Use Solutions
Adrienne Schmit,. ULI, 2006.
307.121 SCH

Urban Green: Architecture For The Future
Neil B. Chambers, 2011.
NEW 720.47 CHA

Top of Page


The Sustainable Society


book cover image - Blessed UnrestBlessed Unrest: How the Largest Movement in the World Came Into Being,
and Why No One Saw It Coming

Paul Hawken, 2007.
333.72 HAW

Fostering Sustainable Behavior: An Introduction to Community-Based Social Marketing
Doug McKenzie-Mohr, 1999.
304.2 McK

Global Profit and Global Justice: Using Your Money to Change the World
Deb Abbey, 2004.
332.6 ABB

One with Nineveh: Politics, Consumption, and the Human Future
Paul R. Ehrlich, 2004.
338.927 EHR

Slow Food Nation: Why Our Food Should Be Good, Clean, and Fair
Carlo Petrini, 2007.
641.013 PET

Manifestos on the Future of Food & Seed
2007.
338.19 MAN

book coverFeeding People is Easy
Colin Tudge, 2007.
338.1 TUD

The Future of Food
2004.
DVD 363.192 FUT

Localist Movements in a Global Economy:  Sustainability, Justice, and Urban Development in the United States
David J. Hess, MIT Press, 2009.
338.973 HES

Alice Waters & Chez Panisse: The Romantic, Impractical, Often Eccentric, Ultimately Brilliant Making of a Food Revolution
Thomas McNamee, 2007.
BIO WATERS

Native to Nowhere: Sustaining Home and Community in a Global Age
Timothy Beatley, 2004.
307 BEA

The Challenge to Power: Money, Investing, and Democracy
John C. Harrington, 2005.
332.632 HAR

Ending Global Poverty: A Guide to What Works
Stephen C. Smith, 2005.
339.46 SMI

Fair Trade for All: How Trade Can Promote Development
Joseph E. Stiglitz and Andrew Charlton, 2005.
382.3 STI

book cover image - Power to the PeoplePower to the People: How the Coming Energy Revolution Will Transform an Industry, Change Our Lives, and Maybe Even Save the Planet
Vijay V. Vaitheeswaran, 2003.
333.79 VAI

You Call This a Democracy? Who Benefits, Who Pays and Who Really Decides?
Paul Kivel, 2004.
305.52 KIV

Greed and Good: Understanding and Overcoming the Inequality That Limits Our Lives
Sam Pizzigati, 2005.
339.22 PIZ

The Handbook of Sustainable Literacy:  Skills for a Changing World, edited by Arran Stibbe
Green Books, 2009.
577 HAN

Why the Poor Pay More: How to Stop Predatory Lending
edited by Gregory D. Squires, 2004.
332.743 WHY

Top of Page


The Sustainable City


Planetizen Contemporary Debates in Urban Planning
2007.
307.121 PLA

Restoring Prosperity: The State Role in Revitalizing America's Older Industrial Cities
Jennifer S. Vey, 2007.
307.341 VEY

The Working Landscape: Founding, Preservation and the Politics of Place
2007.
333.73 CAN

The Death and Life of Great American Cities
Jane Jacobs, 1961.
711 JAC

Building Suburbia—Green Fields and Urban Growth, 1820-2000
Dolores Hayden, 2003.
307.76 HAY

This is Smart Growth
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2006.
[PDF format]

book cover image - A Field Guide to SprawlA Field Guide to Sprawl
Dolores Hayden, 2004.
307.76 HAY

Sprawl Costs: Economic Impacts of Unchecked Development
Robert W. Burchell et al, 2005.
307.76 SPR



Urban Sprawl and Public Health: Designing, Planning,
and Building for Healthy Communities

Howard Frumkin, 2004.
307.76 FRU

The Fractured Metropolis: Improving the New City, Restoring the Old City,
Reshaping the Region

Jonathan Barnett, 1995.
307.76 BAR

Comeback Cities: A Blueprint for Urban Neighborhood Revival
Paul S. Grogan and Tony Proscio, 2000.
307.341 GRO

Green Urbanism: Learning from European Cities
Timothy Beatley, 2000.
307.121 BEA

book cover image - The Key to Sustainable CitiesKey to Sustainable Cities: Meeting Human Needs, Transforming Community Systems
Gwendolyn Hallsmith, 2003.
307.121 HAL

Charter of the New Urbanism
Congress for the New Urbanism, 2000.
307.76 CHA

Cities and the Creative Class
Richard L. Florida, 2005.
307.76 FLO

Who's Your City? How the Creative Economy Is Making Where to Live the Most Important Decision of Your Life
Richard L. Florida, 2008.
304.2 FLO

City Life: Urban Expectations in a New World
Witold Rybczynski, 1995.
711.409 RYB

Downtown America: A History of the Place and the People Who Made It
Alison Isenberg, 2003.
307.76 ISE

The New Civic Art: Elements of Town Planning
Andres Duany et al, 2003.
711.442 DUA

Developing Successful Infill Housing
Diane R. Suchman, 2002.
711.58 SUC

Business Improvement Districts (2nd edition)
Lawrence O. Houstoun, Jr. and contributors from the Urban Land Institute, 2003.
307.342 HOU

Creating a Vibrant City Center: Urban Design and Regeneration Principles
Cyril B. Paumier, 2004.
307.76 PAU

Mixed-Use Development Handbook (2nd edition)
Dean Schwanke et al, 2003.
307.76 SCH

book cover image - Remaking the Urban WaterfrontRemaking the Urban Waterfront
Bonnie Fisher et al, 2004.
711.76 REM

Guidebook: Opportunities Waiting to Happen: Redeveloping Abandoned Buildings and Sites to Revitalize Communities
NYS Department of State, Division of Coastal Resources, 2004.
307.12 GUI

Guidebook: Making the Most of Your Waterfront: Enhancing Waterfronts to Revitalize Communities
NYS Department of State, Division of Coastal Resources, 2004.
307.12 GUI

Higher-Density Development: Myth and Fact
Richard M. Haughey, 2005.
307.12 HAU

book cover image - Intown LivingIntown Living: A Different American Dream
Ann Breen, 2004.
307.76 BRE

Halfway to Everywhere: A Portrait of America's First-Tier Suburbs
William H. Hudnut III, 2003.
307.121 HUD



Emerald Cities:  Urban Sustainability and Economic Development
Joan Fitzgerald, Oxford University Press, 2010.
307.166 FIT

Climate Resilient Cities: A Primer on Reducing Vulnerabilities to Disasters
World Bank, 2009.
363.349 CLI

Changing Metropolitan America: Planning For a Sustainable Future
William H. Hudnut, Urban Land Institute (ULI), 2008.
307.121 HUD

Urban Design and the Bottom Line: Optimizing the Return on Perception
Dennis Jerke,  ULI, 2008.
307.121 JER

MetroGreen: Connecting Open Space in North American Cities
Donna L. Erickson, Island Press, 2006.
307.121 ERI

Cities in the Wilderness:  A New Vision of Land Use in America
Bruce E. Babbitt, Island Press, 2005.
333.731 BAB

Managing Wet Weather with Green Infrastructure Municipal Handbook
EPA, 2009: (online resources)

Top of Page


The Sustainable Neighborhood


Developing Sustainable Planned Communities
Urban Land Institute, 2007.
307.768 DEV

Sustainable Residential Development: Planning and Design for Green Neighborhoods
Avi Friedman, 2007.
307 FRI

book cover image - Toward Sustainable CommunitiesToward Sustainable Communities: Resources for Citizens and Their Governments
Mark Roseland, 2005.
307.121 ROS

Root Shock: How Tearing Up City Neighborhoods Hurts America, and What We Can Do About It
Mindy Thompson Fullilove, M.D., 2004.
307.76 FUL

HOME and Neighborhoods: A Guide to Comprehensive Revitalization Techniques
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 2004.
363.58 HOM

Ten Principles for Smart Growth on the Suburban Fringe
Urban Land Institute, 2004.
711.58 TEN

Building Sustainable Communities: Tools and Concepts for Self-Reliant Economic Change
(revised 2nd edition)
C. George Benello, Robert Swann, Shann Turnbull, contributors. (TOES - The Other Economic Summit), 1997.
338.9 BER

Residential Streets (3rd edition)
Walter M. Kulash, with National Association of Home Builders, American Society of Civil Engineers, Institute of Transportation Engineers and the Urban Land Institute, 2001.
625.7 KUL

The Architecture of Parking
Simon Henley, 2007.
725.38 HEN

book cover image - GroundswellGroundswell: Stories of Saving Places, Finding Community
Alix W. Hopkins, 2005.
307.1 HOP

Creating Walkable Places: Compact Mixed-Use Solutions
Adrienne Schmitz and Jason Scully, 2006.
307.121 SCH



Street Reclaiming: Creating Livable Streets and Vibrant Communties
David Engwicht, 1999.
307.75 ENG

The Cohousing Handbook: Building a Place for Community (revised edition)
Chris Scotthanson and Kelly Scotthanson, 2005.
334.1 SCO

EcoVillage at Ithaca: Pioneering a Sustainable Culture
Liz Walker, 2005.
307.77 WAL

Superbia: 31 Ways to Create Sustainable Neighborhoods
Dan Chiras and Dave Wann, 2003.
307.76 CHI

The End of the Street: Sustainable Growth Within Natural Limits
David Dobereiner, 2006.
307.121 DOB

Top of Page


The Sustainable Environment


Sustainable Environments
Yenna Chan, 2007.
720.47 CHA

This Moment on Earth: Today's New Environmentalists and Their Vision for the Future
John Kerry, 2007.
332.72 KER

The Trust for Public Land's Conservation Finance Handbook: How Communities are Paying for Parks and Land Conservation
Kim Hopper and Ernest Cook, 2004.
333.731 HOP

book cover image - The New Economy of Nature The New Economy of Nature: The Quest to Make Conservation Profitable
Gretchen C. Daily and Katherine Ellison, 2002.
333.72 DAI

Markets and the Environment
Nathaniel O. Keohane, 2007.
333 KEO



Re-Thinking Green: Alternatives to Environmental Bureaucracy
edited by Robert Higgs and Carl P. Close, 2005.
333.72 RET

Hands-On Environmentalism
Brent M. Haglund and Thomas W. Still, 2005.
333.72 HAG

Power Down: Options and Actions for a Post-Carbon World
Richard Heinberg, 2004.
333.79 HEI

Design for Human Ecosystems: Landscape, Land Use, and Natural Resources
John Tillman Lyle, 1999.
333.731 LYL

Going Solar: Understanding and Using the Warmth in Sunlight
Tomm Stanley, 2004.
693.1 STA

The Quest for Environmental Justice: Human Rights and the Politics of Pollution
edited by Robert D. Bullard, 2004.
363.7 QUE

The New Atlas of Planet Management
edited by Norman Myers and Jennifer Kent, 2005.
333.7 NEW

Over a Barrel: A Simple Guide to the Oil Shortage
Tom Mast, 2004.
333.823 MAS

Climate Change 2001: Mitigation (Contribution of Working Group III to the Third Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)
edited by Bert Metz, et al, 2001.
363.738 CHI

When the Rivers Run Dry: Water, the Defining Crisis of the Twenty-First Century
Fred Pearce, 2006.
333.91 PEA

book cover image - Conserving Our Fresh WaterConserving Our Fresh Water
Carol Inskipp, 2007.
333.9116 INS

 


 

Top of Page


The Sustainable Enterprise

Careers

Green Jobs for a New Economy:  The Career Guide to  Emerging Opportunities
Petersons, 2009.
650.14 GRE

Building Green Places:  Careers in Planning, Designing and Building
Ruth Owen, Crabtree Publishers, 2010.
720.47 OWE

Green Careers:  Choosing Work for a Sustainable Future
Jim Cassio,  New Society Publishers, 2009.
363.7 CAS

Green Collar Job book coverGreen Collar Jobs:  Environmental Careers for the 21st Century
Scott M. Deitche,  Praeger,  2010.
333.72 DEI

Climb the Green Ladder:  Make Your Company and Career More Sustainable
Amy Fetzer and Shari Aaron,  John Wiley,  2010.
658.408 FET

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Green Careers
Barbara Parks and Jodi Helmer,  Alpha, 2009.
333.72 PAR

The ECO Guide to Careers that Make a Difference
Island Press,  2004.
628 ECO

Business

Build a Green Small Business:  Profitable Ways to Become an Ecopreneur
Scott Cooney,  McGraw-Hill, 2009.
658.15 CON

Be a Successful Green Land Developer
R. Dodge Woodson, McGraw-Hill, 2009.
333.330 WOO

Strategies for the Green Economy: Opportunities and Challenges in the New World of Business

Joel Makower, McGraw-Hill, 2009.
658.408 MAK

book coverStart Your Own Green Business: Your Step-by-Step Guide to Success
Entrepreneur Press and Richard Mintzer, Entrepreneur Press, 2009.
658.408 MIN

Starting Green: An Ecopreneur’s Toolkit for  Starting a Green Business from Business  Plans to Profits
Glenn Croston, Entrepreneur’s Press, 2009.
658.11 CRO

Companies on a Mission:  Entrepreneurial Strategies for Growing  Sustainably, Profitably, and Responsibly.
Michael V. Russo,  Stanford Business Books, 2010.
658.408 RUS

Green Business Basics:  24 Lessons for Meeting the Challenges of Global Warming.
Nick Dalla, McGraw-Hill, 2009.
363.738 DAL

Strategy for Sustainability: A Business Manifesto
Adam Werbach, Harvard Business Press, 2009.
658.401 WER

The Green Business Guide: A One-Stop Resource for Businesses of All Shapes and Sizes to Implement Eco-Friendly Policies, Programs, and Practices.
Glenn Bachman, Career Press, 2009.

book coverGreen Tech: How To Plan and Implement Sustainable IT Solutions
Larry Webber, American Management Association, 2009.
658.05 WEB

Greening Your Small Business: How to Improve Your Bottom Line, Grow Your Brand, Satisfy Your Customers—and Save the Planet
Jennifer Kaplan, Prentice-Hall, 2009.
658.408 KAP

Revolution in a Bottle:  How TerraCycle is Redefining Green Business
Matthew Kiernan, AMACOM, 2009.
338.7 SZA

The NEXT Sustainability Wave: Building Boardroom Buy-in
Bob Willard, 2005.
658.408 WIL

The Company We Keep: Reinventing Small Business for People, Community and Place
John Abrams, 2005.
338.769 ABR

book cover image - Dancing with the TigerDancing with the Tiger: Learning Sustainability Step by Natural Step
Brian F. Nattrass, 2002.
658.408 NAT

The Sustainable Company: How to Create Lasting Value Through
Social and Environmental Performance

Chris Laszlo, 2005.
658.408 LAS

What Matters Most: How a Small Group of Pioneers is Teaching Social Responsibility to Big Business, and Why Big Business is Listening
Jeffrey Hollender, 2004.
658.408 HOL

True Green @ Work: 100 Ways You Can Make the Environment Your Business
Kim McKay, 2008.
333.72 McK

Green to Gold: How Smart Companies Use Environmental Strategy to Innovate, Create Value and Build Competitive Advantage
Daniel C. Esty, 2006.
658.4083 ESTY

book cover image - The Clean Tech RevolutionThe Clean Tech Revolution: The Next Big Growth and Investment Opportunity
Ron Pernick, 2007.
332.6 PER

The Sustainability Advantage: Seven Business Case Benefits of a Triple Bottom Line
Bob Willard, 2002.
658.408 WIL

Greed to Green: The Transformation of an Industry and a Life
David Gottfried, 2004.
720.47 GOT

Cannibals with Forks: The Triple Bottom Line of 21st Century Business
John Elkington, 1998.
658.4 ELK

The Ecology of Commerce: A Declaration of Sustainability
Paul Hawken, 1993.
658.408 HAW

Sustainable Excellence:  The Future of Business in a Fast-Changing World
Aaron Cramer. 
Rodale,  2010.
658.4083 Cramer

 

Top of Page


The Sustainable Individual - In Action


book cover image - Teaching Green: The Elementary YearsTeaching Green: The Elementary Years (Hands-on Learning in Grades K-5)
edited by Tim Grant and Gail Littlejohn, 2005.
372.357 TEA

Grassroots Journalism: A Practical Manual for Doing the Kind of Newswriting That Doesn’t Just Get People Angry, But Active - Tha t Doesn’t Just Inform But Inspires
Eesha Williams, 2000.
808.066 WIL

How To Change the World: Social Entrepreneurs and the Power of New Ideas
David Bornstein, 2004.
361.2 BOR

Ecological Literacy: Educating Our Children for a Sustainable World
edited by Michael K. Stone and Zenobia Barlow, 2005.
333.72 ECO

The New Citizenship: Unconventional Politics, Activism, and Service (3rd edition)
Craig A. Rimmerman, 2005.
332.042 RIM

Roots to Power:  A Manual for Grassroots Organizing (2nd edition)
Lee Staples, 2004.
361.809 STA

Making a Difference:  The Changing the World Handbook
Ali Cronin, Crabtree Publishing Co., 2009.
J333.72 CRO

The Better World Handbook:  From Good Intentions to Everyday Actions
Ellis Jones et al., 2001.
361.7 JON

Green Volunteers: The World Guide to Voluntary Work in Nature Conservation (5th edition)
edited by Fabio Ausenda and Erin McCloskey, 2005.
333.72 GRE

Moral Ground:  Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril
edited by Kathleen Dean Moore and Michael P. Nelson. 
Trinity University Press, 2010.



book cover image - Saving Planet EarthSaving Planet Earth: What is Destroying the Earth and What You Can Do To Help
Tony Juniper, 2007.
333.72 JUN

 

 

 

Top of Page


Sustainable Energy 

Renewable Energy:  Sources and Methods
Anne Maczula, Facts on File, 2010.
621.042 MAC

Green Energy:  Crucial Gains or Economic Strains
Matt Doeden,  Twenty-first Century Books, 2010.
333.794 DOE

Energy Independance book coverEnergy Independence:  Your Everyday Guide to Reducing Fuel Consumption
Christine Woodside, Lyons Press, 2009.
333.79 WOO

Alternative Energy for Dummies
Rik DeGunther, Wiley, 2009.
333.794 DEG


The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Renewable Energy for Your Home
Harvey J. Bryan, Alpha, 2009.
333.794 BRY

Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook
Zachary A. Smith, ABC-CLIO, 2008.
R 333.794 SMI

Renewable Energy Made Easy:  Free Energy from Solar, Wind, Hydropower, and other Alternative Energy Sources
David Craddock, Atlantic Pub Group, 2008.
621.042

Living Off-Grid with Renewable Energy
(DVD).
Aztext Press, 2006.
DVD 621.042 LIV

Leading by Example with Smart Energy Management.   U.S. Dept. of Energy, 2009.

Do-It-Yourself Home Energy Audits: 140 Simple Solutions to Lower Energy Costs, Increase Your Home’s Efficiency, and Save the Environment
David Findley, McGraw-Hill, 2010.
696 FIN


Sustainable Living



Investing in a Sustainable World:  Why GREEN is the New Color of Money on Wall Street
Matthew Kiernan, AMACOM, 2009.


332.16 KIE

Big Green Cookbook:  Hundreds of Planet-Pleasing Recipes & Tips for a Luscious, Low-Carbon Lifestyle
Jackie Newgent, John Wiley & Sons, 2009.


641.597 NEW

Green Living Handbook:  A 6 Step Program to Create an Environmentally Sustainable Lifestyle, 3rd ed.
David Gershon, Empowerment Institute, 2008.
363.7052 GER

Lucid Food:  Cooking for an Eco-conscious Life
Louise Shafia, Ten Speed Press, 2009.
641.563 SHA

Locavore:  Local Diet-Healthy Planet (DVD)
Living Farm, 2009.
DVD 641.31 LOC

Cooking Green:  Reducing Your Carbon Footprint in the Kitchen:  The New Green Basics Way
Kate Heyhoe, Da Capo Press, 2009.
643.3 HEY

When Changing a Light Bulb Just Isn’t Enough
Emily Anderson, Hearst Books, 2009.


644 AND

Simple Steps to a Greener Home(DVD)
Gaiam Americas, 2008.


304.2 GRE

The Green Guide: The Complete Reference for Consuming Wisely
National Geographic, 2008.

NorthWest Earth Institute Discussion Guides:

  • Global Warming:  Changing Co2urse
  • Voluntary Simplicity
  • Healthy Children-Healthy Planet
  • Choices for Sustainable Living
  • Discovering a Sense of Place
  • Exploring Deep Ecology
  • Menu for the Future
  • Sustainable Systems at Work

  • Simply in Season: A World Community Cookbook
    Mary Beth Lind and Cathleen Hockman-Wert, 2005.
    641.5 LIN

    Green Housekeeping: In Which the Nontoxic Avenger Shows You How to Improve Your Health and That of Your Family While You Save Time, Money, and, Perhaps, Your Sanity
    Ellen Sandbeck, 2008.
    648.5 SAN

    Seven Wonders: Everyday Things for a Healthier Planet
    John C. Ryan, 1999.
    628 RYA

    Green Clean: The Environmentally Sound Guide to Cleaning Your Home
    Linda Mason Hunter and Mikki Halpin, 2005.
    648.5 HUN

    The Home Energy Diet: How to Save Money by Making Your Home Energy Smart
    Paul Scheckel, 2005.
    644 SCH

    Natural Home Heating: The Complete Guide to Renewable Energy Options
    Greg Pahl, 2003.
    697 PAH

    book cover imgae - Grub: Ideas for an Urban Organic KitchenGrub: Ideas for an Urban Organic Kitchen
    Anna Lappe, 2006.
    641.302 LAP

    Easy Green Living: The Ultimate Guide to Simple, Eco-Friendly Choices
    for You and Your Home

    Renee Loux, 2008.
    640 LOU


    True Green: 100 Everyday Ways You Can Contribute to a Healthier Planet
    Kim McKay, 2006.
    333.72 McK

    Living Like Ed
    Ed Begley, 2008.
    333.72 BEG

    The Everything Green Living Book: Easy Ways to Conserve Energy, Protect Your Family's Health, and Help Save the Environment
    Diane Gow McDilda, 2007.
    640 McD

    Living Green: A Practical Guide to Simple Sustainability
    Greg Horn, 2006.
    640.22 HOR

    It's Easy Being Green: A Handbook for Earth-Friendly Living
    Crissy Trask, 2006.
    333.72 TRA

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
    Barbara Kingsolver, 2007.
    641.097 KIN

    Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
    Doug Fine, 2008.
    333.720 FIN

    book cover image - Cool Green StuffCool Green Stuff: A Guide to Finding Great Recycled, Sustainable, Renewable Objects You Will Love
    Dave Evans, 2007.
    745.5 EVA

    Good Green Kitchens: The Ultimate Resource for Creating a Beautiful, Healthy, Eco-Friendly Kitchen
    Jennifer Roberts, 2007.
    643.3 ROB

    The Sustainable Kitchen: Passionate Cooking Inspired by Farms, Forests, and Oceans
    Stu Stein, 2004.
    641.563 STE

    Sustainable Cuisine White Papers
    1999.
    641.302 SUS

    Simple Steps to a Greener Home
    2006.
    DVD 640 SIM

    Top of Page


    Sustainable Building


    book cover image - Building for LifeBuilding for Life: Designing and Understanding the Human-Nature Connection
    Stephen R. Kellert, 2005.
    155.91 KEL

    Green Roof: A Case Study
    Christian Werthmann, 2007.
    635.967 WER

    Green Building Fundamentals: A Practical Guide to Understanding and Applying
    Fundamental Sustainable Construction Practices and the LEED Green Building Rating
    System

    Michael Montoy, Prentice Hall, 2010.
    720.47 MON

    Green Building through Integrated Design
    Jerry Yudelson, Lyons Press, 2009
    721.045 YUD

    The Benefits of Building Green (DVD)
    Showmehow Videos, 2009.
    DVD 690 BEN

    Better Buildings, Brighter Future (Electronic Resource)
    U. S. Dept. of Energy, 2009.

    Smart Building in a Changing Climate
    Andy van den  Dobbelsteen, et al, editors, Techne Press, 2009.
    720.47 SMA

    Understanding Green Building Guidelines: for Students and Young Professionals
    Traci RoseRider, W. W. Norton & Co., 2009.
    720.47 RID

    Sustainable Landscaping for Dummies
    Owen E. Dell, Wiley, 2009.
    712 DEL

    Building Today’s Green Home: Practical, Cost-effective and Eco-responsible homebuilding
    Art Smith,  Betterway Home, 2009.
    690.8047 SMI

    Prefabulous + Sustainable: Building and Customizing an Affordable, Energy-efficient Home
    Sheri Koones, Abrams, 2010.
    728.047 KOO

    Building Green:  A Complete How-to Guide to Alternate Building Methods:  Earth Plaster, Straw Bale, Cordwood, Cob, Living Roofs, 2nd ed.
    Clarke Snell, Lark Books, 2009.
    690.837 SNE

    Eco House Book
    Terence Conran, Conran Octopus, 2009.
    643.7 CON

    Building Green (DVD).
    WGBH Boston Video, 2008.

    Green Home Improvement:  65 Projects that Will Cut Utility
    Bills, Protect Your Health, Help the Environment

    Daniel D. Chiras,  R. S. Means, 2008.
    720 CHIRAS

    Green Building Products: the GreenSpec Guide to Residential Building Materials, 3rd ed.
    New Society Publishers, 2008.
    691 GRE

    Green Building in North America.  Commission for Environmental Cooperation, 2008.  (Electronic Resources)  Secretariat Report and  Background Papers on:

  • Green Building Energy Scenarios for 2030
  • Toward Sustainable Financing and Strong Markets for Green Building:
  • Institutional Efforts for Green Building in Canada and the United States
  • Green Residential Building in North America
  •         
                   

    Green Roof Plants: A Resource and Planting Guide
    Edmund C. Snodgrass, 2006.
    635.967 SNO

    Planting Green Roofs and Living Walls
    Nigel Dunnett, 2004.
    635.967 DUN

    Sustainable Architecture White Papers (3rd ed.)
    2004.
    720.47 SUS

    Zero Energy Buildings: A Critical Look at the Definition (preprint)
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory, 2006.
    [PDF format]

    Green Building Products: The GreenSpec Guide to Residential Building Materials
    edited by Alex Wilson and Mark Piepkorn, 2008.
    691 GRE

    GreenSpec Directory: Product Listings and Guideline Specifications from
    Building Green
    (5th ed.)
    edited by Alex Wilson, Nadav Malin & Mark Piepkorn, 2005.
    691 GRE

    Building Green: A Complete How-To Guide to Alternative Building Methods
    Clarke Snell & Tim Callahan, 2004.
    690.837 SNE

    book cover image - Gaiam Real Goods Solar Living SourcebookGaiam Real Goods Solar Living Sourcebook: Your Complete Guide to Renewable Energy Technologies and Sustainable Living
    John Schaeffer, 2008.
    697.78 GAI

    The Sun-Inspired House: House Designs Warmed and Brightened by the Sun
    Debra Rucker Coleman, 2005.
    690.837 COL

    The Passive Solar House: The Complete Guide to Heating and Cooling Your House
    James Kachadorian, 2006.
    697.78 KAC

    Green Homes
    Sergi Costa Duran, 2007.
    728.047 DUR

    Little House on a Small Planet: Simple Homes, Cozy Retreats, and Energy Efficient Possibilities
    Shay Solomon, 2006.
    728.37 SAL

    Your Green Home: A Guide to Planning a Healthy, Environmentally Friendly New Home
    Alex Wilson, 2006.
    690.804 WIL

    book cover image - Designing your Natural HomeDesigning Your Natural Home: A Practical Guide
    David Pearson, 2005.
    690.804 PEA

    Building Green Without Going in the Red: A Household Guide to Healthy, Affordable Building Materials
    Kathleen Curtis, 2004.
    690.837 CUR


    Green Remodeling - Changing the World One Room at a Time
    David Johnston and Kim Master, 2004.
    643.7 JOH

    The Hand-Sculpted House: A Practical and Philosophical Guide to Building a Cob Cottage
    Ianto Evans, Michael G. Smith and Linda Smiley, 2002.
    693.22 EVA

    Building Type Basics for Housing
    Stephen A. Kliment, Series Founder and Editor, 2005.
    728.097 BUI

    Building a Straw Bale House: The Red Feather Construction Handbook
    Nathaniel Corum, 2005.
    693.997 COR

    The Rammed Earth House (revised ed.).
    David Easton, 2007.
    693.2 EAS

    The New Ecological Home: The Complete Guide to Green Building Options
    Daniel Chiras, 2004.
    690.8 CHI

    HOME Program Rehabilitation Tune-up Kit
    2004.
    307.341 HOM

    Top of Page


    Sustainable Syracuse


    Students in the Urban Design Studio of the Department of Landscape Architecture, SUNY-ESF, have produced a series of reports, each a component of the City of Syracuse Comprehensive Plan. These reports present an analysis of neighborhoods or city functions and suggestions for improvements that, if effected, would contribute to the overall sustainability of Syracuse. The plans reflect both the assets and the deficits of each area and the presentations are not only interesting but inspiring. The reports issued so far are:

    The Hawley-Green Neighborhood Component, 2007.
    LN48 Sy8haw

    The Commercial Areas Component, 2006.
    LN48 Sy8 C7cac

    The Housing Component, 2005.
    LN48 Sy8 H8hou

    The Downtown Master Plan, 2004.
    LN48 Sy8 C1dm

    The Preservation Component, 2003.
    LN48 Sy8sypc

    Eastwood Neighborhood Study, 2000.
    LN48 Sy8ea4

    Far Westside Neighborhoods, 2002.
    LN48 Sy8sypc

    Northside Neighborhoods, 2001. LN48 Sy8nn

    All of the above are available in the Local History/Genealogy Department of Central Library. The Eastwood Study is available also at Paine Branch Library.

     

    Top of Page

     

    Last updated: August 8, 2011