OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Business ->Written Communication
Written Communication Resources
by Shanti Shoemaker, Librarian
This pathfinder is designed to aid patrons in their search for information about business and personal communication. Most of the resources listed here are reference-style texts and websites that can be used as guides and manuals. If you have questions about grammar, writing style, and forms of correspondence, these resources will give concrete answers and examples.
Please Choose from the Following:
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Books
Databases
Websites
Related Pathfinders
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
AMA Handbook of Business Writing
2010.
808.066 WIL
The AMA handbook of business documents : Guidelines and Sample Documents That Make Business writing Easy By Kevin Wilson and Jennifer Wauson, 2011
651.74 WIL
Encyclopedia of Business Letters, Fax Memos, and E-Mail
Revised edition by Robert W. Bly and Regina Anne Kelly, 2009.
651.BLY

The Little, Brown Handbook
11th ed.
by H. Ramsey Fowler, 2010
R808.042 FOW
Merriam-Webster’s Guide to Business Correspondence
1996.
R651.75 MER
The Oxford Essential Office Handbook2004.
651 OXF
How To Write It: A Complete Guide to Everything You’ll Ever Write
by Sandra E. Lamb, 2nd Edition, 2006.
Includes letter examples for social, business, and personal occasions.
651.7 LAM
The McGraw-Hill Handbook Business Letters
by Ann Poe, 2006.
Includes sample letters.
808.066 POE
Books
The OCPL Library Catalog will have many resources.
Here are some useful subject headings to search for materials:
Business communication or writing
Proposal writing
Report writing
Letter writing
Personal Communication
The Big Ten of Grammar : Identifying and Fixing the Ten Most Frequent Grammatical Errors
By
William B. Bradshaw, 2010
425 BRA
Everyday Letters For Busy People
by Debra Hart May, 1998.
Includes forms and samples.
808.6 MAY
Everyday Letters for All Occasions
by Jack Maguire, 1995.
Includes business and personal communication.
395.4 MAG
For the Love of Letters : A 21st-century Guide to the Art of Letter Writing by Samara O'Shea, 2007
808.6 OSH
How to Say It:
Choice Words, Phrases, Sentences & Paragraphs for Every Situation by Rosalie Maggio, 2009.
808.6 MAG
My Deepest Sympathies: Meaningful Sentiments for Condolence Notes and Conversations, Plus a Guide to Eulogies
by Florence Isaacs, 2000.
395.4 ISA
What to Say For Every Occasion
by David Belson, 2002.
808.51 BEL
Business Communication
Booher's Rules of Business Grammar: 101 Fast and Easy Ways to Correct the Most Common Errors
By
Dianna Booher 2009
How to Write Effective Business English : The Essential Toolkit For Composing Powerful Letters, E-mails and More, For Today's Business Needs
By
Fiona Talbot, 2009
808.066 TAL
Perfect Phrases for Letters of Recommendation
by Paul Bodine, 2010
651.75 BOD
Strategic Business Letters and E-mail
by Sheryl Lindsell-Roberts, 2004.
651.75 LIN
Style: Ten Lessons in Clarity and Grace
by Joseph M. Williams, 2000.
808.042 WIL
Databases
For an index to more articles on written communication, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN.
For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.
Websites
OWL Online Writing Lab: Purdue University
Demonstrates effective writing skills for business, personal and scholarly writing.
Guide to Grammar and Writing: Most Frequently Asked Questions.
[Capital Community College Foundation.]
Elements of Style
by William Strunk
The online version of the standard writing guide.
Oxford Dictionaries - Better Writing
Answers to questions about grammar, spelling, sentence structure, jargon, and improving your writing. Includes lists of tips for resume letters and general correspondence.
WritingHelp-Central.com
Sample letters, business plans, reports and more.
Related Collections
Last updated: August 8, 2011


