Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Consumer Information -> Auto Repair

Dare to Do it Yourself:
Automobiles Maintenance and Repair
 



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

By Paschal Ugoji, Librarian 

In these hard economic times, maintaining or repairing your own vehicle brings lots of rewards, fixing a car - clip artbesides saving you money. Whether you choose to do the auto repair or maintenance yourself or to have a repair shop do it for you, it is always a good idea to learn how to deal with any auto repair issues.  

The Onondaga County Public Library system can provide you with useful information that can help you diagnose and understand common automotive problems so you can decide the best repair approach. 

This select bibliography excludes feature films, dramas, video cassettes, and musical recordings that are considered fiction. 

Please Choose from the Following:

Books

    Bodywork

    Handbooks & Manuals for the Amateur

    Handbooks & Manuals for the Skillful

    Of Interest to Children

Databases

Local Resources

Magazines

Websites


Books 
interior of a car engine - clip art

Below are some helpful Subject Headings to search for materials: 

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair--Amateurs' manuals

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair--Equipment and supplies

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair--Handbooks, manuals

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair--Periodicals

Automobiles--Maintenance and repair--Popular works

Automobiles--Motors--Maintenance and repair

Automobiles--Motors--Maintenance and repair--Handbooks, manuals, etc 

If you are in the library, you may want to browse within these call numbers for materials: 

629.260

629.28

629.287 

Top of Page


Bodywork 

Parks, Dennis W.
The complete guide to auto body repair
.
Motorbooks, c2008. 

Paul, Eddie.
Eddie Paul's custom bodywork handbook
.
KP, c2005. 

Paul, Eddie.
Eddie Paul's paint & bodywork handbook
.
Krause, c2006.  

Top of Page


Handbooks and Manuals for the Amateur

These contain comprehensive, simply written directions and guidelines for maintaining and repairing automobiles.  

Brand, Paul.
How to repair your car
.
Motorbooks, 2006.  

Joseph, Matt.
Collector car restoration bible: practical techniques for professional results.
KP Books, c2005. 

Lynn, Vyvyan, with Molla, Tony.
The complete idiot's guide to auto repair
.
Penguin Group, c2007.  
(Provides important information about car basics, tools, establishing a regular maintenance routine, identifying and troubleshooting your car's systems, bodywork and interior repair, etc) 

Sclar, Deanna.
Auto repair for dummies
.
John Wiley, c2008.  

Sussman, Julie & Glakas-Tenet, Stephanie.
Dare to repair your car: a do-it-herself guide to maintenance, safety, minor fix-its, and talking shop.
HarperCollins Publishers, c2005.  

Top of Page


Handbooks and Manuals for the Skillful

This category contains “how-to-do-it” information designed to refresh memory.
The library also has manuals, such as, Chilton and Motor that cover specific makes and models of older vehicles dating back to the 1940’s. 

Braswell, E. J.
The Pep Boys auto guide to car care and maintenance
.
Ballantine Books, c2005.

Chase, Kate J.
The savvy guide to car maintenance and repair
.
Indy-Tech Publishing, c2006. 

Chilton Asian mechanical service.
Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2007.  
(OCPL system has volumes 1 and 3; Volume 1 covers 2002-2006 models for Acura, Honda, Hyundai, Isuzu, and Kia, while Volume 3 covers Lexus, Scion, Subaru, Suzuki, and Toyota). 

Chilton European mechanical service.
Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2007.  
(The manual covers 2001-2006 models of the following Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover, Mercedes-Benz, Mini, Saab, Volkswagen, and Volvo). 

Chilton General Motors diagnostic service.
Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2006.  
(This manual is designed for professional technicians, and covers 1995-2005 models). 

Chilton General Motors mechanical service.
Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2006.  
(This is designed for professional technicians). 
 

Chilton's truck & van service manual.
Professional Technician's ed. W.G. Nichols, (Annual), c1995-99--  
(Some of the Chilton series focus also on gasoline and diesel engines). 

Chilton's wiring diagrams manual.
Domestic cars. Chilton Book Co., (Irregular frequency), c1987- 

Electrical service & repair. Domestic cars, light trucks & vans.
Mitchell, (Annual Supplement), c1996- 
(Issued in 3 parts that focus on Chrysler Corporation, Jeep, Ford Motor Company, and General Motors).  
 

Electrical service & repair. Domestic vehicles.
Mitchell Repair Information Company, (Annual Supplement). c1997- 
(Focuses on products by Chrysler Corporation, Ford Motor Company, General Motors, and Jeep). 

Fix, Lauren Jonas.
Lauren Fix's guide to loving your car: everything you need to know to take charge of your car and get on with your life.
St. Martin's Griffin, c2008.  
(Gives information about insurance, warranties, and roadside assistance, how to handle emergencies, how to talk with your car technician, do-it-yourself tips, etc). 

Freudenberger, Bob.
Popular mechanics car owner's companion: 101 things you need to know.
Hearst Books, c2006. 

Gray, Michael E. & Gray, Linda E.
Auto upkeep: basic car care, maintenance, and repair.
Rolling Hills Pub., c2007. 

Hamilton, Joe L. & Haynes, John H.
Toyota Highlander & Lexus RX 300/330 automotive repair manual.
Haynes North America, c2006.  
(Models covered include Toyota Highlander - 2001 through 2006; Lexus RX 300/330 models - 1999 through 2006. It does not include information specific to hybrid models).  

Hansen, Courtney.
The garage girl's guide to everything you need to know about your car.
Cumberland House, c2006. 

Henderson, John.
Teach yourself car buying & maintenance.
McGraw-Hill, c2007.  
(Shows how and where to buy a car; gives tips for basic maintenance; insurance and warranties). 

Maddox, Robert & Hamilton, Joe L.
Chilton's BMW 3-series, Z4 1999-05 repair manual
.
Haynes North America, 2006.  
(Covers U.S. and Canadian models. Also includes wiring diagrams).   
 

Motor auto repair manual 2008: Chrysler LLC, Ford Motor Company, General Motors Corporation.
Motor Information Systems, c2007. 

Motor imported car repair manual 2001/2005.
Motor, c2005.  
(Includes light trucks, SUV's and vans). 
 

Motor light truck & van repair manual.
Motor, c1984-c1985. 
(Each issue covers multiple years). 

Motor truck & diesel repair manual.
Motor, (Annual), c1974- 

Motor truck repair manual.
Motor, c1943- 
(Merged with: Motor truck and diesel repair manual, to become: Motor light truck & van repair manual). 

Popular mechanics complete car care manual.
Hearst Books, c2005. 

Sheeky, Christine L. & Stubblefield, Mike.
Chilton's General Motors Buick, Oldsmobile, Pontiac FWD 1985-05 repair manual
.
Haynes, c2006.  
(This first step in repair manual covers U.S. and Canadian models of Buick LeSabre, Electra and Park Avenue- 1985 through 2005; Pontiac Bonneville, 1985 through 2005; Oldsmobile 88, Delta 88, Royale 1998, LLS and Regency- 1985 through 2002; Front Wheel Drive. Also provides wiring diagrams, but does not cover diesel engine and related information, supercharger information, rear-wheel drive models or V8 models).  

Top of Page


Of Interest to Children 

Thompson, Lisa.
Pop the hood: have you got what it takes to be an auto technician?

Compass Point Books, c2008.  
(Provides important information to deal with critical situations such as when in the garage, a sick car, becoming an auto technician, changes in industry, how a car works, car care, cars with speed, working on race cars, job opportunities, and more). 

Top of Page


Databases 

Using your OCPL library card, you can search 24/7 for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers as well as reference manuals about Automobiles Maintenance and Repair on OCPL’s Online Databases. You can also print full text of selected articles. 
 
Chilton's Online (Requires use of library card) 
This database provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks. Covers the period from 1929 through 2007. 
 

Gale General Reference Center Gold 
This is a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources (newspapers, reference books, Car Craft Magazine, full text Motor Age, periodicals); many with full text and images. Covers 1980-present. Contains over 4000 articles on automotive repair, and 3000 plus articles on automotive maintenance that focus especially on Mustang and vintage cars. 

McGraw-Hill AccessScience 
This is a continuously updated, fully-searchable database with media-rich content, terms, images and videos from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. You can find materials such as image galleries, podcasts, videos, and weekly questions and answers, including general descriptions with illustrations of automobiles and their design parts. 

Top of Page


Local Resources  

OCM BOCES
4500 Crown Rd.
Liverpool, NY 13090 
315-453-4455
1-800-444-4406 

BOCES runs courses designed to teach the skills you need to maintain and repair today's vehicles. These include lecture and hands-on instruction in basic engine tune-ups, cooling systems, batteries, basic brakes, tire care, lubrication, shocks and struts, etc. It also offers driver Education, and safety and accident prevention workshop. 

Top of Page


Magazines 

Popular Mechanics.
Popular Mechanics Co.
cAugust 1959- 
(Maintains regular monthly columns dedicated to automotive maintenance and repair). 

Top of Page


Websites 

Looking for auto repair shops and mechanics in the Syracuse Area? Then visit: 

American Automobile Association (AAA), Inc. (Usually read Triple-A).

The AAA approved auto repair network of over 7,700 shops all over North America provides automotive repair services to AAA members, and also gives reasonable guarantees on their work. To optimize full benefits, you need to be a member of AAA. 

Edmunds.com

Edmunds.com offers a national directory of auto repair shops to help people locate a trustworthy mechanic in their area. You can search the listings of auto repair shops in Syracuse, New York and compare prices and services to find the best deal. 

Motorist Assurance Program (MAP)

MAP is a comprehensive effort to improve service to auto repair customers and has been designed to assure customers consistent and excellent service. 
 

RepairPal

Lists top rated auto repair shops and mechanics in the Syracuse Area. 
 

Syracuse, NY Auto Body Shop Equipment & Supplies

Provides a list of auto body shop equipment and supplies in Syracuse, New York. 

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010