Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Consumer Information -> Medical Tourism

Medical Tourism: Americans Seeking Health Care Abroad 


*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

By Nicole Hershberger, Library Intern 

With the cost of health care in the United States rising, some Americans have begun turning to medical facilities abroad for access to affordable dental, medical, and surgical care. This phenomenon is referred to variously as medical tourism, medical travel, or health tourism.  

The following resources provide a starting place for both prospective medical tourists and those curious about the trend.  


Please Choose from the Following:
Books
Databases
Magazines
Organizations & Websites
Related Pathfinders

 


Books 


Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials: 

Medical tourism
Dental tourism
International health care
Health care system 

 

Medical Tourism Travel Guide - book coverThe Medical Tourism Travel Guide: Your Complete Reference to Top-Quality, Low-Cost Dental, Cosmetic, Medical Care & Surgery Overseas
by Gahlinger, Paul M.
North Branch, MN : Sunrise River Press, 2008.

This guidebook addresses many of the practical issues associated with seeking care abroad, as well as country-specific information and lists of health care facilities. 
State of the Heart - book cover

State of the Heart: A Medical Tourist's True Story of Lifesaving Surgery in India
by Grace, Maggie Ann.
Oakland, CA : New Harbinger Publications, 2007.

A self-employed contractor finds that he cannot afford the heart surgery he needs in the United States, and seeks surgery in New Delhi, India. Also includes a list of resources for those seeking health care abroad, and tips for evaluating doctors and hospitals. 

Patients Beyond BordersPatients Beyond Borders: Everybody’s Guide to Affordable, World-Class Medical Tourism
by Woodman, Josef.
Chapel Hill, NC : Healthy Travel Media, 2007.

This book provides detailed information on funding and planning medical care overseas, as well information on quality and accreditation of health facilities abroad. 

 

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about medical tourism, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

 

EBSCOhost MasterFILE Select 

Comarow, Avery.
"Under the Knife in Bangalore. (cover story)."
U.S. News & World Report
12 May 2008: 42-50.
Provides an overview of medical tourism, including important safety precautions and a comparison of costs. 

Cooperman, Stephanie.
"Patient Travelers."
Forbes
30 Oct. 2007: 95-98.
Covers the experiences of several medical tourism patients, as well as a brief history of medical tourism. 

Dunn, Philip.
“Medical Tourism Takes Flight.”
Hospitals & Health Networks 
Nov 2007: 40-44. 
This article examines the business side of medical tourism. 

Horowitz, Michael D., and Jeffrey A. Rosenweig.
"Medical Tourism -- Health Care in the Global Economy."
Physician Executive 
Nov. 2007: 24-30.
Although aimed primarily at doctors and administrators, this article includes information on trends in medical tourism that may be useful to patients. 

Wolff, Jennifer, Jane Bianchi, and Mary Kearl.
"Passport to Cheaper Health Care?"
Good Housekeeping
Oct. 2007: 190-281.
Is medical tourism a practical option? This article provides a list of the steps to take when accessing quality care overseas. 


Gale Health Reference Center Academic 


Burkhart, Lorene, and Lorna Gentry. 
"Medical tourism: what you should know."
 Saturday Evening Post 
Jan-Feb. 2008: 52-57. 
Examines the reasons for the medical tourism boom, the comparative safety of health care abroad, and the potential effects of medical tourism on the U.S. health care system. 


Gale New York State Newspapers 


Mulder, James.
"Why CNY residents travel far for medical treatments."
Syracuse Post-Standard
19 Feb. 2008: A1+.
An article on Central New York residents seeking dental and medical care abroad, including information on companies that arrange medical travel for clients. 

Top of Page


Magazines 


Medical Tourism Magazine 

Published by the Medical Tourism Association, this periodical is aimed at physicians, health care administrators, and patients seeking medical care abroad. Issues are available free online, or via free print subscription by signing up at the website.

Why Americans are Going Abroad for Health Care

This article, written for the electronic magazine Fast Company, explores the financial reasons for seeking health care abroad, and the future effects of medical tourism on the U.S. health care industry.

Top of Page


Organizations and Websites 


The Globalization of Health Care: Can Medical Tourism Reduce Health Care Costs?
This government hearing includes testimony from a patient advocate, as well as representatives of doctors and health benefits managers. A video of the proceedings is also available.

Joint Commission International
Non-profit organization that works to improve the quality of international health care through accreditation.

The site includes a list of facilities worldwide that have met the Joint Commissions standards for safety and quality of care.

Medical Nomad
Features travel information, a search for providers by country or procedure, an advice column, and an online discussion forum.

Medical Tourism Association
An industry group of physicians, hospitals, insurance carriers, and other organizations focused on providing quality care via medical tourism.

Treatment Abroad
This UK-based site includes information on travel arrangements, costs, and reviews of facilities from site users.

United States Department of State – Country Specific Information
Information on traveling to any country in the world, including visa, safety, health, and related information.  

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

For more international travel resources, see the Pathfinder Travel Abroad for the Independent Traveler.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010