Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Education -> College 101

Preparing for College


College 101

Visit your local library for information on all aspects of the college search and admissions process.  Find these titles and many others at libraries in the Onondaga County Public Library System.

Choosing A College

Admissions Process

Paying for College

Especially for Students

Especially for Parents

Searching the OCPL Catalog

Online Databases

Links


College Guides - Choosing A College

 

Acceptance - book coverAcceptance: a legendary guidance counselor helps seven kids
find the right colleges and find themselves
.
Marcus, D.

 

America’s best colleges.
U.S. News & World Report

 

Barron's profiles of American colleges 2009. 

 

Best 368 colleges. Best Buys in College Education - book cover
Princeton Review Inc.

 

Best buys in college education.
Barron's. Solórzano, Lucia.

 

Big book of colleges 2009.
College Prowler

 

Bound-for-college guidebook :
a step-by-step guide to finding and applying to colleges
.
Burtnett, F.

 

Choosing the Right College - book coverChoosing the right college, 2010-11:
the whole truth about America's top schools
.

 

College blue book.

 

College Board book of majors 2009.

 

College Board college handbook 2010.

 

College Board international student handbook 2009.

 

College buzz book.

 

College Navigator coverCollege navigator:
find the school to match any interest from archery to zoology
.

 

College solution: a guide for everyone looking for the right school at the right price. O'Shaughnessy, Lynn,.

 

Colleges that change lives:
40 schools that will change the way you think about colleges

Pope, Loren.

 

Complete book of colleges.
Princeton Review.

Fiske Countdown to College - cover image

Fiske countdown to college:
41 to-do lists and a plan for every year of high school
.
Fiske, E.

 

Fiske guide to colleges 2010.
Fiske, Edward B.

 

Insider’s Guide to Colleges.

 

K & W guide to colleges for students with learning disabilities or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.
Kravets, M.

Peterson's 440 Great Colleges - book cover

Peterson's 440 great colleges for top students .

 

Peterson's college guide for performing arts majors 2009.
Everett, Carole J.

 

Peterson's four-year colleges 2010.

 

Princeton Review guide to college visits:
planning trips to popular campuses in the Northeast, Southeast, West, & Midwest
.

 

Rugg's recommendations on the colleges 2010.
Rugg, Frederick E.

Teen's guide to college & career planning - book cover

Student's guide to college music programs.

 

Teens' guide to college & career planning:
your high school roadmap for college & career success
.

 

Ultimate college guide 2010.

 

Untangling the Ivy League.  

Top of Page


The Admissions Process

 

75 Biggest Myths About College Admissions - book cover75 biggest myths about college admissions:
stand out from the pack, avoid mistakes and get into the college of your dreams
.
Israel, J.

 

Acing the college application:
how to maximize your chances for admission to the college of your choice
.
Hernandez, M.

Admission Matters - book cover

Admission matters:
what students & parents need to know about getting into college
.
Springer, S.

 

College admissions together:
it takes a family
.
Goodman, S.

 

College essays that make a difference.

 

Eight first choices:
an expert’s strategies for getting into college
.
Mitchell, J.

 

Essays that Will Get You Into College - book coverEssays that will get you into college

 

Get into college.

 

Get into any college:
secrets of Harvard students.

Tanabe, G.

 

Getting in without freaking out: How to Be Irresistible to Colleges - book cover
the official college admissions guide for overwhelmed parents
.
Matthews, A.

 

How to be irresistible to colleges:
the essential guide to being accepted
.
Dawson, E.

 

How to say it to get into the college of your choice:
application, essay, and interview strategies to get you the big envelope
.
Metcalf, L.

 

How to survive getting into college:
by hundreds of students who did
.

 

McGraw-Hill's writing an outstanding college application essay.
Rankin, E.

 

New Rules of college admissions - book coverNew rules of college admissions:
ten former admissions officers reveal what it takes to get into college today
.
Kramer, S.

 

Perfect phrases for college application essays:
hundreds of ready-to-use phrases to write a compelling essay
and catch the attention of an admissions committee
.
Bender, S.

 

Student athlete’s college recruitment guide.
Benjamin, A.

 

Student athlete's guide to getting recruited:
how to win scholarships, attract colleges and excel as an athlete
.
Brown, S.

 

Tackling college admissions : sanity + strategy = success:
just for parents
. Thinking Parents Guide to College Admissions - book cover
Paradis, C.

 

Thinking parent's guide to college admissions:
the step-by step program to get kids into the schools of their dreams
.
Ostrum, E.

 

Writing a successful college application essay.
Ehrenhaft, G.

 

You're accepted: lose the stress, discover yourself,
get into the college that's right for you
.
Malachuk, K. 

Top of Page


Paying For College

 

2010 Scholarship handbook.
College Board

 

College financing information for teens: tips for a successful financial life: including facts about planning, saving, and paying for post-secondary education, with information about college savings plans, scholarships, grants, loans, military service, and more.

 

Complete Idiot's Guide to Financial Aid for Collge - book cover

College student's guide to merit and other no-need funding, 2008-2010.
Schlachter, G./ Weber, R.

 

Complete idiot's guide to financial aid for college.
Rye, D.

 

Debt-free college education or a debtor's burden.
Green, C.

College Gold - book cover

Don't miss out : the ambitious student's guide to financial aid
Leider, A.

 

Fastweb college gold : the step-by-step guide to paying for college.
Kantrowitz, M.

 

Ferguson career resource guide to grants, scholarships, and other financial resources.

 

How to Pay for College - book coverHow to pay for college : a practical guide for families.
Tanabe, G.

 

How to write a winning scholarship essay.
Tanabe, G.

 

Loans & Grants from Uncle Sam: Am I Eligible and for How Much?
Leider, A.

 

Paying for college : answers to all your questions about financial aid, scholarships, tuition payment plans, and everything else you need to know.

 

Scholarships 101 : the real-world guide to getting cash for college.
Stezala, K. 

Top of Page


Especially for Students

7 secrets of savvy students: study smarter, not harder.

 

10 things employers want you to learn in college:
the know-how you need to succeed
.
Coplin, W.

 

50 best college majors for a secure future.
Shatkin, L.

Campus Dirt - book cover

Campus dirt : insiders come clean on how to succeed at college.
Landy, S.

 

College confidence with ADD: the ultimate success manual for add students, from applying to academics, preparation to social success, and everything else you need to know.
Sandler, M.

 

College Unzipped - book cover

College unzipped: an all-access, backstage pass into college life, from all-nighters and exam nail biters to tuition fees and getting your degree.

 

Everything you ever wanted to know about college:
a guide for minority students
. Watkins, B.

 

Gay and lesbian guide to college life: a comprehensive resource for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students and their allies.
Baez, J.

 

Getting ready for college.
Berent, P.

 

Getting the best out of college : a professor, a dean, and a student tell you how to maximize your experience.
Feaver, P.

Naked Roommate - book cover

How to survive your freshman year.

 

It's OK if you're clueless: and 23 more tips for the college bound.
McMillan, T.

 

The naked roommate : and 107 other issues you might run into at college.
Cohen, H.

 

Survival guide for college students with ADHD or LD.
Nadeau, K. 

Top of Page


Especially for Parents

 

25 ways to make college pay off - book cover

25 ways to make college pay off:
advice for anxious parents from a professor who's seen it all
.
Coplin, W.

 

College knowledge: what it really takes for students to succeed and what we can do to get them ready.
Conley, D.

 

Launching Years - book cover

The launching years: smart parenting during senior year to college life
Kastner, L.  

 

Less stress more success: a new approach to guiding your teen through college admissions and beyond.
Jones, M.

 

 

Preparing for college: practical advice for students and their families.
Rooney, J.
What to Expect When Your Child Leaves for College - book cover

Realizing the college dream with autism or Asperger syndrome:
a parent's guide to student success
.
Palmer, A.

 

What to expect when your child leaves for college:
a complete guide for parents only
.
Spohn, M. 

 

Top of Page


Library Catalog

computer  clip art

Search the library catalog using any of the following subject keywords to find more titles of interest:

College applications

College choice

College costs

College environment

College majors

College student orientation

College students

Higher education

Scholarships

Student aid

Student loans

Universities and colleges 

Top of Page


Online Databases
computer - clip art

Learning Express Library - High school students can find ACT and SAT preparation review and practice exams and college students can take advantage of the math, reasoning, writing and vocabulary skills improvement exercises. 

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - The College Planning and Financial Aid section includes a college planning timeline, information on choosing a college and a college major, and detailed information on applying for student loans. Each section also includes related web links. 

Gale General OneFile      NovelNY logo

Current magazine and newspaper articles about college rankings, the admissions process, tuition, affirmative action, scholarships and fellowships and distance learning. 

Top of Page


Links
computer clip art

See OCPL's librarian reviewed list of internet links on the topics of:


Education
College Guides
Financial Aid

[Click on Search Tools and then select category Education to find useful links for College Guides and Financial Aid information.]

 

 

Top of Page

 

Last updated October 31, 2011