Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Education -> Life After High School

Life After High School / Vocational Training


Life After High School / Vocational Training


Books

Databases

Vocational Directories

Local Vocational Training

Websites


Top 100 - book cover

Books

But what if I don't want to go to college? : a guide to success through alternative education
Harlow G. Unger.  

Top 100 careers without a four-year degree : your complete guidebook to major jobs in many fields
Michael Farr. 

200 best jobs through apprenticeships
Michael Farr and Laurence Shatkin. 

Progressive Careers
JIST Works

Work your way around the world
Susan Griffith.

Top of Page


Databases

Information in the library's online databases is useful for exploring careers and occupations. Access to the databases from home is also available with your OCPL library card and PIN

Visit Databases Now

Top of Page


Vocational Directories

College Blue Book, Occupation Education Volume

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Peterson’s Vocational and Technical Schools East

Top of Page


school clip art

Local Vocational Training

Bryant & Stratton
953 James St, Syracuse, NY 13203
315-472-6603
8687 Carling Rd, Liverpool, NY 13090
315-652-6500

OCM BOCES
6820 Thomson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13211
315-433-8300

Syracuse Central Tech Vocational Center 
573 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13202 
315-435-4150

ITT Technical Institute
235 Greenfield Pkwy, Liverpool, NY 13088
315-461-8000

Morrisville Community College
P.O. Box 901, 80 Eaton St, Morrisville, NY 13408
800-258-0111

NYS Dept of Labor Apprenticeship Program
450 S Salina St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-479-3228

Northside Urban Partnership
315-299-8228

Onondaga Community College
4585 W Seneca Tpk, Syracuse, NY 13215
315-498-2622

Onondaga School of Therapeutic Massage
719 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
315-424-1159

Phillips Hairstyling Institute
709 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
315-422-9656 x13

Simmons Funeral Institute
1828 South Ave, Syracuse, NY 13207
315-475-5142

Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center
100 New St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-472-0130

Top of Page


computer clip art

Websites

RWM Vocational Schools Database

A database of Private Postsecondary Vocational Schools in all 50 states. It is organized first State and then by Training Occupation

Career Onestop

Identify your interests, explore careers, get work experience, find education options

YouthBuildUSA

In YouthBuild programs, low-income young people ages 16-24 work toward their GEDs or high school diplomas, learn job skills and serve their communities by building affordable housing

Americorps

Federal program working with impoverished communities located in the U.S. and abroad

Backdoor Jobs

Short term job adventures offering opportunities to Work, Travel, Play, Live, Learn, Help, Create, Experience and Grow in the U.S. and abroad 

Top of Page

 

Last updated August 25, 2011