Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Family & Kids -> Homeschooling

Homeschooling



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***


by Linda Fiske, Librarian

Every year more parents decide to educate their children at home.  There are as many reasons as there are families.  There is help for this challenging undertaking, available on the Internet and at your local library.


Please Choose from the Following:

Encyclopedias
Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Program & Events
Local Resources



Encyclopedias


World Book

The Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedias are also available on OCPL's Online Databases.

Top of Page


Books

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Home schooling
Home schooling -- Curricula -- United States
Home schooling -- Curricula -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Home schooling -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

You may also use the keywords homeschooling, home schooling or education-parent participation to search the OCPL Online Catalog, as well as searching specific subject areas for help teaching topics such as math.

To browse in the library for books on homeschooling try Dewey Decimal numbers:
371.04 (education and family)
649.6 (parenting)

Top of Page


Books


You can find many books on homeschooling by searching the catalog.  If the book you want isn’t available at the library you usually visit you can always have it sent there for you.  You can do this either online or at the library.

Making the Grade: Everything Your 6th Grader Needs to Know 
There is a series of books that is very helpful in lesson planning
They are available for different grades


book cover image - Home Learning Year by YearHome Learning Year by Year: How to Design a Homeschool Curriculum from Preschool Through High School
by Rebecca Rupp

Homeschooling Handbook: From Preschool to High School, A Parent’s Guide
by Mary Griffith

Homeschooling: Take a Deep Breath
by Terrie Lynn Bittner


Mary Pride’s Complete Guide to Getting Started in Homeschooling
by Mary Pride

 

Videos & Audiobooks


Books on cassette and CD are available for both younger children and teens.  These include non-fiction, classics and “just for fun” reading.  Videorecordings in both VHS and DVD formats are also available.  Many, such as the Bill Nye The Science Guy series would be a great addition to lesson plans.  Always feel free to ask a librarian for help if you do not find what you need.

Top of Page


Magazines

Home Education Magazine
also available on the Internet


Homefires: The Journal of Homeschooling


Practical Homeschooling Magazine
.

Top of Page


Databases

Online databases are not the same as Internet web sites. They are based on respected reference works, journals and magazines.  This is information that you cannot get free on the Internet. 

For articles about homeschooling, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card number and PIN number. You will find Magazines and Journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, information on health, auto repair, ancestry and even a special section just for students.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

Web sites can change and disappear without notice, but here are a few to get you started.

American Homeschool Association

Homeschool.com: Your Virtual Homeschool

Home Educator

Homeschool Legal Defense Association

LEAH New York

Syracuse LEAH

Top of Page


Programs & Events

Libraries in the OCPL system often have events that are specifically for homeschoolers or can be used as part of a lesson plan.  You can find out what events are taking place at the different libraries by going to the OCPL Web Page and clicking on the Events Calendar button.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Syracuse Loving Education at Home (LEAH)
e-mail info@syracuseleah.org (faith based)

Parents Instruction Challenged Children
e-mail picc@twcny.rr.com (faith based)

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010