Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks ->Health -> Eating Disorders

Eating Disorders



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Joanne Trask

Anorexia, bulimia and compulsive overeating belong to a category of illnesses known as eating disorders.  Whether it’s starving oneself, overeating or binging and purging, one thing they all have in common is the devastating effect these illnesses have on the individual and his/her family members and friends.

This pathfinder is a guide to finding books, articles and other resources available from the Onondaga County Public Library and the Internet to become acquainted with these illnesses.  Included are true accounts of those suffering as well as factual resources to aid one in writing a report.  You will also find a list of local organizations that assist in the treatment of various eating disorders.


Please Choose from the Following:

Books
Databases
Websites
Local Resources



Books

You may search the OCPL catalog under the following subject headings:


Anorexia

Anorexia Nervosa

Bulimia

Bulimia Nervosa

Bulimia – Patients

Compulsive Eating

Eating Disorders

Eating Disorders - Fiction
 

Non-Fiction 

book cover image - DistortedDistorted: How a Mother and Daughter Unraveled the Truth, the Lies, and the Realities of an Eating Disorder
by Lorri Antosz Benson and Tara Leigh Benson

The story of a sixteen year old caught in the grip of anorexia and bulimia and her struggle to break free.  Told from the point of view of mother and daughter, this account describes the deep emotions and destructive behavior patterns experienced by all family members affected by this illness. 

 

Overcoming the Legacy of Overeating: How to Change Your Negative Eating Patterns
by Nan Kathryn Fuchs

A look at overeating from a variety of different perspectives that suggests an integrated approach to therapy including both psychological and nutritional aspects.


book cover image - Skinny Boy

Skinny Boy: A Young Man's Battle and Triumph Over Anorexia
by Gary A. Grahl

This honest first-person account of a young man’s battle with anorexia sheds light on the thinking patterns that often accompany eating disorders as well as the author’s ultimate triumph over the disease.

 

 

Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia
by Marya Hornbacher  

In this wrenching memoir, the author recounts her years of difficulty with the dual disorders of anorexia and bulimia, beginning at the age of 5.


book cover image - The Truth About Eating Disorders

The Truth About Eating Disorders
by Mark J. Kittleson, Ph.D.

Alphabetically arranged, this helpful resource covers facts about eating disorders, case studies, signs and symptoms, healthy vs. unhealthy eating patterns, recognizing a problem with food, body image and many other topics related to eating disorders.

 

 

Boys Get Anorexia Too: Coping With Male Eating Disorders in the Family
by Jenny Langley

A lesser known topic in the eating disorders realm is that of boys and anorexia.  This resource helps the reader identify signs of this disorder in boys, discusses the effects on the family, and various treatment options coupled with a compelling case study of a teenage boy named Joe.


book cover image - The Anorexia DiariesThe Anorexia Diaries: A Mother and Daughter's Triumph Over Teenage Eating Disorders
by Linda M. Rio and Tara M. Rio

Told in alternating diary accounts, this mother-daughter team share the details of their lives coping with the daughter’s anorexia.

 

 


book cover image - Andrea's VoiceAndrea's Voice: Silenced by Bulimia: Her Story and Her Mother's Journey Through Grief Toward Understanding
by Doris Smeltzer, with Andrea Lynn Smeltzer

This tragic memoir of a family shattered by bulimia is told through a daughter’s poetry and journal entries and a mother’s reflections.

 

 

 

Abstinence: Members of Overeaters Anonymous Share Their Experience, Strength and Hope

Essays written by those helped by Overeaters Anonymous.


The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous

Describes and explains the basic principles upon which Overeaters Anonymous is based.


Anorexia
by Stephanie Watson

Part of the Danger Zone series for young adults, this book describes the medical condition of anorexia, signs and symptoms, causes of the disorder, media influences and how to become healthy again.

 

Fiction 

book cover image - Wintergirls

Wintergirls
by Laurie Halse Anderson

Eighteen-year-old Lia comes to terms with her best friend's death from anorexia as she struggles with the same disorder.


Perfect
by Natasha Friend

When death strikes, everyone affected copes in his or her own way.  For Isabelle it is through bulimia.  After her sister catches her vomiting and reveals this to their mother, Isabelle is forced to attend “group” where she is surprised to find the most popular girl in school also attending.


book cover image - Looks Looks
by Madeleine George

Meghan and Aimee, two high school girls who appear on the outside to be as different as night and day, form a friendship around a common issue.  One girl is anorexic, the other obese.  Both suffer from fears and insecurities which they try to cope with through their dependence on disordered eating. 

 


Skin
by Adrienne Vrettos

Donnie, the main character of this story, tries to “cure” his sister’s eating disorder and fix his parents’ marital issues rather than dealing with his own problems.

 

For Children

 

book cover image - Full Mouse, Empty Mouse

Full Mouse, Empty Mouse: A Tale of Food and Feelings
by Dina Zeckhausen

Told in rhyming verse, this story describes two mice with different symptoms—overeating and starving—that stem from their inability to communicate their inner feelings.  They receive good advice from a trusted relative and are able to tame their symptoms.  The book concludes with helpful advice to parents, discussion questions related to the story and a list of resources.


Top of Page


Databases

For articles about eating disorders, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card. Databases are not the same as Internet websites.  They are based on well-respected references and contain full-text articles from magazines, newspapers; information you cannot get free on the Internet.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

For topics related to eating disorders, some of the most useful databases are:


Facts on File Health Reference Center
Gale Health & Wellness Resource Center


Type in keywords, such as anorexia, bulimia, compulsive eating, eating disorder(s)

You may also find helpful and informative articles on eating disorders through a search engine such as Google or Yahoo, but there is no monitoring on the Internet regarding the safety or reliability of these articles.

 

Top of Page


Websites

 

Bulima Nervosa Resource Guide

Eating Disorder Referral and Information Center

Gurze Books

Mayo Clinic
You may go to this website and search for anorexia, bulimia or eating disorders and locate useful information. 

Medline Plus

National Association for Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Eating Disorders, Inc.

National Eating Disorders Association, Inc.

National Institute of Mental Health

 

Top of Page


Local Resources

 

Eating disorders support and treatment options in Central NY: 


Anorexia Bulimia Support

3049 E. Genesee Street

Syracuse, NY 13224

(315) 445-1975 


Centre Syracuse:  The Experts in Eating Disorders 

3300 James Street

Syracuse, NY 13206

(315) 671-2202

 

Overeaters Anonymous

1804 Teall Ave.

Syracuse, NY 13206

(315) 437-0088 
 

 

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010