Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks ->History -> Learning About Ukraine

Learning About Ukraine



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Hania Hrycyk, Librarian


Ukraine, a former Soviet republic, had an exciting year in 2005, and its elections called the “Orange Revolution” were a main topic on the daily news.  Located in eastern Europe, Ukraine is one of the world’s newest independent nations.  It is a country with a rich, colorful culture and a history thousands of years old.  This pathfinder is a simple introduction to sources of information you can find in the OCPL library system or on the Internet.


Please Choose from the Following:

Encyclopedias
Books & Media
Databases
Websites

 


Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia will give you quick, concise information about your topic.  Often it is a good starting point for your research. You may use an encyclopedia in your library or try this link to an online encyclopedia article.

Bilocerkowycz, Jaroslaw.
"Ukraine."
World Book Online Reference Center
. 2005. World Book, Inc. 16 Sept. 2005.

Top of Page


Books & Media

Books


Listed below are a few books to get you started. To find more books on Ukraine and Ukrainians, search the online catalog using Ukraine or Ukrainians as keywords. This search will show you what is available in the entire Onondaga County Public Library System.

While in the library, you may also go directly to the non-fiction shelves and browse
Dewey Decimal number J 947.7.

Ukraine - book cover imageUkraine
by Catherine W. Cooper
(Modern World Nations series)
Chelsea House, 2003

Ukraine in Pictures
by Jeffrey Zuehlke
(Visual Geography series)
Lerner Publications, 2006

Ukraine
by Pavel Zemliansky
(Countries of the World series)
G. Stevens, 2005

UkraineEastern Europe
by Chris McNab
(Cultures and Costumes series)
Mason Crest, 2003.

Ukraine
by Patricia Kummer
(Enchantment of the World series)
Children’s Press, 2001.

Ukrainian Egg Decoration: A Holiday Tradition
by Ann Stalcup
(Crafts of the World series)
Rosen Publishing Group, 1999.

 

Media


My Ukraine, Ukrainian Dances and Songs (videorecording)

Pysanka, the Ukrainian Easter Egg (videorecording)

Learn Conversational Ukrainian (sound recording)

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about Ukraine, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN number.


Many magazine articles can be found in the database called EBSCOhost Primary Search, so be sure to check there.  InfoTrac Junior Edition is good too.  Just type in your keywords in the search boxes and you will get a list of articles.  Another good one for students is CountryWatch, but have your library card number ready for this one.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

The following web sites will be very helpful as you continue to do your search about Ukraine:

Ukrainian Youth Association
The best site to see what young Ukrainians all over the world are up to. Here you can even download the Ukrainian (Cyrillic) alphabet and have fun with the games.

Ukrainian Congress Committee of America
Offers much current news about Ukrainians in America and Ukraine.

Ukrainian Book Store
Carries a variety of supplies for making dance costumes and Easter eggs. It is also a source for ceramics, greeting cards, books, magazines and newspapers.

Yevshan.com
The largest Ukrainian on-line catalog and features the best in Ukrainian music, videos, embroideries, icons and gift items.

BRAMA: Gateway Ukraine
Offers a shopping guide to Ukrainian items, a calendar of Ukrainian events all over the world, information on Ukrainian holidays, addresses of government officials and much other useful information.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010