Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Hobbies -> Model Railroading

Model Railroading for the New Enthusiast



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Pam Crane, Librarian


A hobby for young and old, families and individuals. Small space or an entire basement. Engines as small as z scale or large enough for an adult to ride. Electric or live steam. One operator or several. Indoor or outdoor. Paper, plastic or metal. Decorated or plain. Fully assembled or in kit form. The world of model railroading awaits you.

 

Please Choose from the Following:

Directories
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Museums
Forums
Additional Resources

 


Directories

Empire State Railway Museum’s … Annual Guide to Tourist Railroads and Museums. Kalmbach Books.

Top of Page


Books & Videos

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Railroad Museums---United States---Periodicals
Railroads---Models
Railroads---Models---Biography
Railroads---Models---Catalogs
Railroads---Models---Electric Equipment

Top of Page


The library’s online catalog is your source for books, magazines, movies and software about model railroading. If the items are not on hand at your library, you may place them on Hold. As soon as the materials are available, they will be sent to your library for you.

Books

48 Top Notch Track Plans
Kalmbach Publishing, 1993.

6 HO Railroads You Can Build
Kalmbach Publishing, 1993.

Realistic Model Railroad Operation: How to Run Your Trains Like the Real Thing
Koester, Tony.
Kalmbach Publishing, 2003.

Getting Started with Lionel Trains: Your Introduction to Model Railroading Fun
Miller, Allan.
Krause Publications, 2001.

Building City Scenery for Your Model Railroad
Pryke, John.
Kalmbach Publishing, 2000.

Basic Scenery for Model Railroaders: The Complete Photo Guide
Sassi, Lou.
Kalmbach Publishing, 2002.

Basic Wiring for Model Railroaders: The Complete Photo Guide
Selby, Rick.
Kalmbach Publishing, 2001.

Model Railroading with John Allen
Westcott, Linn Hanson.
Kalmbach Books, 1996.

Videos

Basics of Model Railroading Wiring
Model Railroader, (VHS)

Building Your First Model Railroad
Kalmbach Publishing, 2003.
VHS Format
DVD Format

Traintown Deluxe
Sierra On-Line, c2000. CD-ROM for Windows 2000 and 95/98.
This is a software program for children who wish to design and operate train layouts for 10 faraway settings, such as the North Pole and outer space.

Top of Page


Magazines

Magazines are a great way to keep current with the latest trends and products in model railroading. Each issue announces upcoming shows and competitions and features a new technique. There are magazines with general appeal and ones to satisfy your specific interest in say, Garden Railways or N Scale model trains.

The library subscribes to the following three:

Railroad Model Craftsman

Model Railroader
Model Railroader also has an excellent website with articles from past issues featuring topics, such as, getting started in the hobby.


Trains Magazine

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about model railroading, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and Personal Identification Number (PIN).

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Two selected databases, Ebsco and Gale, offer full text articles with graphics to hundreds of magazines.

Using the keywords < model railroad? >, articles describing new technology, how-to projects, profiles of model railroaders including their research and modeling tips, plus detailed descriptions of specific years so you can use your layout as a time machine, can be found.

The following sample of articles came from the Gale General Reference Center Gold database:

"Tom Kutzley, Scale Model Railroader". Ikenberry, Donna.
Grit, Sept 2004 v122 i9 p20(2)

"Whirlwind Research Trips (railroad modelmaking)." McGuirk, Marty.
Model Railroader, Feb 2000 v67 i2 p50

"1966: A Year You Can Model: Railroads Faced the Future ... And Said Farewell to the Past." Swanson, Carl.
Model Railroader, March 2004 v71 i03 p92

"A Year You Can Model: 1942 Railroads Go to War: Modeling U. S. Railroading in the First Year after Pearl Harbor." Sperandeo, Andy. Model Railroader, Jan 2003 v70 i1 p72

"Fenced In: A Barbed-Wire Fence Keeps Your Animals Corralled Till the Cows Come Home." Schleicher, Robert.
Boys' Life, April 2003 v93 i4 p47(1)

"Smart Chips, Software Take Model Railroads to a New Level." (The Dallas Morning News) Marvel, Bill .
Knight Ridder/Tribune News Service, May 21, 2002 pK1909

These articles are found in EbscoHost Primary Search. This database is geared toward the interests of school age children.

"Railroads Are My Hobby." Boudreau, Robert. Boys' Quest, Feb/Mar2001, Vol. 6 Issue 5, p18, 3p, 1bw

"Working on the Miniature Railroad." Kaminski, Lori Widmer. Child Life, Dec95, Vol. 74 Issue 8, p32, 3p, 5c

"Laying Railroad Track." Schleicher, R. Boys' Life, Apr92, Vol. 82 Issue 4, p80, 1p, 6bw

"Small Train Big Problems: How to Keep Your N-Scale Model Railroad on Track." Schleicher, R. Boys Life, Feb2003, Vol. 93 Issue 2, p52, p2c

"Magic Meadows." Schleicher, R. Boys Life; Aug2001, Vol. 91 Issue 8, p64, 1p, 4c

Top of Page


Websites

Historical Society

Central New York Chapter of the National Railway Historical Society, Inc.
CNY NRHS Seal
Sponsors of the Annual Train Fair that is held at the New York State Fairgrounds during the first weekend of November. There are over 50 operating model layouts and nearly 100 manufacturers and vendors with model train and associated items for sale.

Local Clubs

Central New York Division of the National Model Railroad Association

The monthly meetings are held at the homes of members. This gives you an excellent opportunity to view different layouts in various stages of completion.

The Central New York Model Railroad Club

This up-to-date website is an excellent source for links to other local clubs, historical societies, resources and hobby shops. It is well worth checking out.

Central New York Modelers of Distinction

The Syracuse Model Railroad Club

 

Resources for Equipment, Supplies and Links to other websites


Central Hobby Supply
102 Walter Drive
Syracuse, NY

J  R Junction Train and Hobby
652 Old Liverpool Road
Liverpool, NY

Perceptions: The Paper Train Factory

Walthers – specializing in HO
1-800-4-TRAINS

The Railfan Network

Offers a number of forums, valuable links to vendors, magazines, model railroading, layouts as well as European and International sites. A special feature of this site is the 700,000 images submitted by railfans.

Top of Page


Museums

Homeville Museum
49 Clinton St. Route 41
Homer, NY
Three rooms and five gauges of model trains, including some operating layouts, plus railroad memorabilia from the Lackawanna, Lehigh Valley, NYC, D&H, New York, Susquehanna & Western Railway Corp.

Medina Railroad Museum of Medina, New York is located in one of the last surviving wooden freight depots in the United States. It has a 14 foot by 204 foot HO layout and diorama under construction.


Top of Page


Forums

Several active forums relating to a variety of skill levels and interests in Model Railroading, can be found at the following websites.

The Railfan Network

Railserve.com

Trains.com

Top of Page


Additional Resources

Model Railroad Life Size Scale Calculator

Model Railroad Scale Converter
Use this scale in order to create a more accurate layout.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010