Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Home & Garden -> Perennial Gardening

Perennial Gardening



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Annette Waterman, Librarian


photo of a perennial garden

Annuals vs. Perennials? 

Choose perennials if you don’t want to plant every year … perennials will come back year after year following even the coldest CNY winter.  But starting and maintaining a perennial garden can be a daunting proposition for the new gardener.  Unlike annuals, perennials need careful selection and maintenance. 


Hardiness Zone for CNY

It’s important to know what you can plant in Central NY.  The USDA publishes a plant hardiness zone map.


This guide will help you locate resources to start and maintain your blooms.


Please Choose from the Following:

Books, Videos, Computer Software
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources

 


Books, Videos, Computer Software


Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Flower Gardening
Flowers—Diseases and Pests
Garden Borders
Gardens—Design
Landscape Gardening
Perennials

Books


Getting Started:

Beginner's guide to Gardening - book cover imageBeginner’s Guide to Gardening (Reader’s Digest)
Includes sections on soil, plant selection, plants for special places, weeds, pests.

American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening
A giant book full of practical information about every aspect of gardening.

Reader’s Digest New Illustrated Guide to GardeningThe new flower garden - book cover image
Contains excellent sections to help identify perennials, rock plants, trees, etc., plus gardening basics.

The New Flower Gardener
by Pippa Greenwood
Everything you need to know about basic planting, propagation & care, plus an “A-list” of personal favorites of the author.



Identification & Selection:

taylor's guide to perennials - book cover image

Taylor’s 50 Best Perennials for Sun
Taylor’s Guide to Bulbs
Taylor’s Guide to Ground Covers
Taylor’s Guide to Ornamental Grasses
Taylor’s Guide to Perennials
Taylor’s Guide to Shade Gardening

 



About Pruning:   

the well tended perennial garden - book cover imageThe Well-Tended Perennial Garden: Planting & Pruning Techniques
by Tracey DiSabato-Aust
Features information plant by plant about what to prune, and how and when to prune it.

Gardening in the Northeast:

Native Plants of the Northeast: A Guide for Gardening and Conservation
by Donald J. Leopold
Syracuse resident and Distinguished Teaching Professor at SUNY/ESF Don Leopold identifies plants native to our region and suitable for your garden.


Videos & Computer Software

 

Rebecca’s Garden v. 1: Basic Gardening 
from the TV show

The Best of Ground Force 
British garden makeover series


Computer Software

Better Homes and Gardens Complete Guide to Gardening
Instructional videos, full-color photos, and a searchable plant database

Top of Page


Magazines


American Gardener
Better Homes and Gardens
Fine Gardening
Horticulture

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about perennials , see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN number.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

GardenWeb
Your best all-around source of gardening information on the web.  Includes the HortiPlex Database to look up specific plants, dictionary of botanical terms, Q&A, Events, and a forum to discuss gardening issues and exchange information.  No need to register if you are only reading the posts, but free to register if you want to post a question.  Also check out the FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions).

Of special interest is the forum specifically for Upstate New York gardeners. 

Cornell Cooperative Extension Service
Another great site! Get help with problems about soil & composting, pests, and weather.  It even includes a searchable database where you may enter the plant characteristics you desire, and they will tell you what to plant.

GardenBuddies.com
“Where friends meet to share their gardens”

Home Depot Garden Club
Garden basics, FAQs, plant care guides and a gardening calculator to determine how much mulch, etc. you’ll need. Free, but you must register.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Carol Bradford writes an excellent weekly garden column on Saturday in The Post Standard
E-mail Carol at features@syracuse.com and she will answer your gardening questions.  

Also, don’t miss the calendar in The Post Standard's Home & Garden section on Saturday that tells you what to do and when to do it around the home and garden.  Here you will also find gardening events, classes sponsored by local nurseries, trip to garden shows, etc.

OCRRA (Onondaga County Resource Recovery Agency) will take your grass clippings and other yard waste and turn them into mulch and compost for your garden. Also find information here about the annual Earth Day Cleanup program.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010