Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Local Resources Finger Lakes Wine Country

Finger Lakes Wine Country



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Amanda Cawley, Librarian


Located in the heart of the larger Finger Lakes geographical region, the actual viticultural area is centered around four main lakes with American Indian names:  Canandaigua (meaning the Chosen Place), Keuka (Crooked Lake), Seneca, and Cayuga.  Wineries around Keuka, Seneca and Cayuga have organized “wine trails” with their own brochures, special events, and other activities to conveniently welcome visitors.  Some of the leading varieties are Chardonnay, Riesling, pinot noir, cabernet franc as well as several French-American and native varietals.  This guide will help you plan and enjoy your next trip to Finger Lakes Wine Country.


Please Choose from the Following:

Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites

 


Books & Videos


book cover image - The Finger Lakes BookThe Finger Lakes Book: A Complete Guide
by Katherine Delavan Dyson

Acclaimed travel writer and Finger Lakes native Katharine Delavan Dyson brings the best of this popular destination to readers, with guidance for where to find the best places to eat and stay ... from B&Bs to resort hotels, canal and lake cruises, wine trails, day-tripping ideas, historic homes, farms, museums, cultural events, and the most intriguing and diverse places to shop, in addition to a wealth of outdoor adventure activities like sailing, swimming, fishing, waterskiing, snowmobiling, skiing, climbing, hiking, biking, ice skating, and more.


Finger Lakes Wineries:
A Complete Touring Guide to Central New York’s Acclaimed Wine Country

by Susan Wiener

This popular Central New York wine trail guide provides wine tourists and enthusiasts with useful information about the vines, the wines, and the ambiance at all the region’s wineries. 


book cover image - Greetings from the Finger LakesGreetings from the Finger Lakes: A Food and Wine Lover’s Companion
by Michael Turback

Local restaurateur Michael Turback profiles the best wineries, restaurants, farms, and markets surrounding the five largest lakes, and includes interviews with the proprietors, tasting notes, and even a few treasured local recipes. Featuring contact information for each location as well as photographs of the region’s picturesque book cover image - Wineries of the Finger Lakes Regionlandscapes.

 

Wineries of the Finger Lakes Region: The Heart of New York State by Emerson Klees

Information on over 60 wineries is provided in this well written history and guidebook.

 

book cover image - Wine Tour of the Finger LakesWine Tour of the Finger Lakes: Where to Stop, What to Taste, and What to Buy in New York State’s Premier Wine Region by Grady Wells

This book combines a guide to noteworthy vinifera wineries with information on Upstate viticulture, wine making, and wine appreciation. 


Videos


New York State’s Finger Lakes: Parts 1 & 2
(Cruising America’s Waterways series)

Journeys through New York State's Finger Lakes Region. Lakes, gorges, sweeping valleys, and waterfalls carved by Ice Age glaciers provide spectacular views.

Top of Page


Magazines

Life in the Finger Lakes, published quarterly. OCPL keeps two years.

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about the Finger Lakes, or wine country, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

Uncork New York  
A comprehensive site of all the wine countries in New York. 

Finger Lakes Wine Country
This site has comprehensive information about visiting this region of New York, including winery listings and links, lodging, shopping, dining, packages and events.

Finger Lakes Wineries
This is the official site of the region.  Includes events, attractions, restaurants, accommodations and wineries.

Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010