OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Travel & Tourism -> Hiking in NYS...
Hiking in New York State’s Adirondack Mountains
by Renate Dunsmore, Librarian
"The lands now or hereafter constituting the Forest Preserve shall be forever kept as wild forest lands. They shall not be sold, nor shall they be leased or taken by any person or corporation, public or private."
-- New York State Legislature, May 15, 1885
New York State’s Adirondack Park was created in 1892 when 6 million acres of New York State’s Forest Preserve and private lands were constitutionally set
aside to remain “forever wild.” Adirondack Park, the largest park in the continental United States, offers breathtaking views, abundant wildlife, and a wealth of outdoor recreational opportunities. Whether you’re an experienced hiker wanting to learn more about the early history of the area, or a novice looking for an easy climb with optimal views, your local library has books, maps, trail guides, magazines, and media resources available to make your hiking experience memorable.
Please Choose from the Following:
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Books & Videos
Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:
Hiking - New York State - Guidebooks
Hiking - New York State - Adirondack Mountains
Hiking - New York State - Adirondack Mountains - Guidebooks
Books about Hiking in the Adirondacks
For the ”just do it” crowd

An Adirondack Sampler II: Backpacking Trips for All Seasons
by Bruce Wadsworth
Discover the Adirondacks Series
by Barbara McMartin
Fifty Hikes in the Adirondacks:
Short Walks, Day Trips, and Backpacks Throughout the Park
by Barbara McMartin
Kids on the Trail!: Hiking with Children in the Adirondacks
by Rose Rivezzi & David Trithart
Paths Less Traveled: The Adirondack Experience for Walkers, Hikers and Climbers of All Ages
by Dennis Aprill
Peak Experiences: Hiking the Highest Summits in New York, County by County
by Gary Fallesen
Views From on High: Fire Tower Trails in the
Adirondacks and Catskills
by John P. Freeman with Wesley H. Haynes
Books about Adirondack History
For those who like a little background with their adventures


The Adirondacks: 1830-1930
by Donald R.Williams
The Adirondacks:1931-1990
by Donald R. Williams
The Adirondack Atlas: A Geographic Portrait of the Adirondack Park
by Jerry Jenkins
Perspectives on the Adirondacks: A Thirty-Year Struggle by
People Protecting Their Treasure
by Barbara McMartin
Exploring the 46 Adirondack High Peaks: With 282 Photos, Maps & Mountain Profiles,
Excerpts from the Author’s Journal, & Historical Insights
by James R. Burnside
A History of the Adirondacks
by Alfred L. Donaldson
Videos
Adirondack Blue: Aerial View of the Adirondacks
Take a breathtaking sweep over the High Peaks, above the sparkling waters of Lake Champlain and around scenic villages to get a bird's-eye view of the Adirondacks.
Wilderness 911
Teaches a variety of ways to protect yourself from harm or treat injuries while in the wilderness.
Magazines
Adirondack Life
Details the human and natural history, art, architecture, crafts, lifestyles, politics, environmental issues, current events and recreational possibilities found in the Adirondack Park.
Also available online.
The Backpacker
This magazine of wilderness travel offers both practical advice and equipment reviews. Filled with places to visit, gear information, and how-to’s for all kinds of hiking and camping trips. Also provides many fold-out maps and photographs.
Also available online.
New York State Conservationist
This is an award winning, advertisement-free magazine focusing on New York State’s great outdoors. It features stunning photography, informative articles, and around-the-state coverage.
Databases
For articles about hiking, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.
For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.
Websites
A 3 0,000-member nonprofit organization dedicated to the protection and responsible recreational use of the New York State Forest Preserve, parks, wild lands, and waters.
ADK-46R
A volunteer organization whose membership consists of hikers who have climbed to the summits of the 46 high peaks and have reported their climbs to the Adirondack Forty-Sixers Historian.
Natural History Museum of the Adirondacks
Seeks to inspire a broad public understanding of the natural systems that shape and sustain life in the Adirondacks.
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Provides information about conservation, wildlife protection, hiking safety and preservation initiatives. It operates 52 campgrounds in the Catskill Park and Adirondack Forest Preserve area.
New York State Outdoor Guides Association
The primary source for finding and contacting licensed guides for fly-fishing, hunting, canoeing, boating, camping and hiking.
Views from the Top
A moderated newsgroup and discussion forum focusing on northeast hiking. It includes trail conditions, trip reports, weather reports and Q & A.
To find additional hiking books at your local library, try browsing is these related areas:
Backpacking (796.51)
Camping (796.54)
Mountaineering (796.522)
Natural History (508)
Nature Trails (508 & 796.51)
New York State - Adirondack Region (974.753)
New York State Description & Travel (917.47)
Orienteering (796.58)
Outdoor Life (796.5)
Outdoor Recreation (796)
Wilderness Survival (613.6)
Last updated: June 24, 2010

