Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil Sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

OCPL Home -> Search Tools -> Librarian Picks -> Travel & Tourism -> Travel Abroad...

Travel Abroad for the Independent Traveler



*** This Guide is No Longer Being Actively Maintained ***

 

by Olivia Opello, Librarian

 

Please Choose from the Following:

Travel Guides
General Information
Before You Travel
Getting There
Getting Around

 


Travel Guides

Geography and travel materials are found in the 910 section at the library. Several publishers produce a wide range of guides, maps and phrase books for cities, regions, countries, and continents around the world including:

New ZealandDK Eyewitness Travel Guides. Printed on quality paper, filled with fabulous color photographs, moderate in length when describing features of a country or a city. Fodor's Exploring China - book coverGood travel companions because of their smaller size. 
(Publisher site: http://www.dk.com)

Fodor's. Includes detailed maps, very short on photographs, very long in length of text coverage. Provides a wide range of information in great detail.  Good to study before traveling. 
(Publisher site: http://www.fodors.com)

 

 

Let's Go! Europe - book cover imageLet's Go. Aimed at the independent,adventurous traveler on a modest budget.  Provides a time line of what to do and when to do it before travel begins. The Let's Go Web site also lists several ways to go abroad other than as a tourist that involve volunteering/working temporarily for a non-profit organization. 
(Publisher site: http://www.letsgo.com)Michelin Guide to Italy - book cover image


Michelin Travel Guides. Short on graphics, short on text, short in length, long on listing major sites, minor sites and sites even the locals don't know about. Perfect size for carrying around.  In addition to travel guides, Michelin is an outstanding source for maps. 
(Publisher site: http://www.michelintravel.com)

Some other major travel guide series include:
Lonely Planet
Rough Guide
Frommer's
Time Out

All travel guides overlap in covering basic information including brief history, main sites to visit, restaurants, hotels, maps, shopping, entertainment, and side trips. Some publishers of travel books mount extensive on-line sites that provide a wealth of travel-related information. 

See:
Fodor's Travel Guides
Let's Go Travel Guides
Time Out
Rough Guides
Lonely Planet

Top of Page


Other Sources of General Information


Street vendors, who operate close to tourist attractions in major cities, frequently sell city guides in English at reasonable prices that contain many professional-level photographs of tourist attractions with accompanying text.

Search Google for any kind of travel information.

Top of Page


Before You Travel


Passports

Passports are obtained from the U.S. Department of State.
Site includes information on documentation required, acceptable photographs, and answers to many general questions. Also links to a finding tool to determine the closest passport office to your location.

Traveling in 2 weeks or less? 
Call 1-877-487-2778

Travel Requirements


Traveling to the Caribbean, Bermuda, Panama, Mexico or Canada

Includes the latest information about travel requirements.

Visa (and other travel) requirements
Contains a list of countries and their entry requirements, as well as contact information for each nation's Embassy or Consulate in the United States. Citizens of the United States do not need a visa to enter many countries. If this web site says that a visa is required, call the country's embassy or consulate to confirm.

 

Immunizations

Center for Disease Control
1-877-394-8747

Bear in mind that, to be effective, some immunizations require more than one administration over a period of months.

 

Airport Security

The Transportation Security Administration is responsible for airport security.

 

Currency Exchange Rates

Currency Exchange Rates
Please remember that these are commercial rates which banks use for major transactions – you will not get quite as good an exchange rate and will probably pay service charges as well.

 

Pets

Taking a Pet Overseas
from the U.S. State Department
Contains contact information for countries of the world. You should contact a nation's Embassy or Consulate to determine requirements for bringing an animal into a given country. Be aware that not following through on all proper clearances may subject your pet to prolonged separation or repatriation AT BEST!

Airlines have differing policies and should be contacted directly for transportation requirements for animals.

 

Weather

Yahoo Weather
Features five day forecasts for almost anywhere in the world 

 

Insurance

insuremytrip.com
Includes information on insurance for medical, death, trip cancellation, luggage and so forth

Google.com
Search for +”travel insurance” +abroad.

 

Embassies and Consulates

Country Specific Information
from the U.S. Department of State
Includes the location of the U.S. embassy or consulate in the subject country.

Consulates in New York City

Embassies in Washington, D.C.

 

Customs

Know Before You Go from U.S. Customs and Border Protection features general information covering a broad range of travel questions including:


International Travel Information

The State Department’s Office of American Citizens Services and Crisis Management (ACS) administers the Consular Information Program, which informs the public of conditions abroad that may affect their safety and security" as well as offering detailed official information about a country. Select individual countries for information regarding:


In a Crisis

Be aware of what emergency services are available to you, courtesy of the U.S. government, before you leave the United States.

The U.S. Department of State's Office of American Services and Crisis Management
supports overseas embassies and consulates in providing assistance to Americans traveling or residing abroad. Services include help in non-emergency matters including, but not limited to identity, passport, citizenship, registration, and judicial assistance. ACS also assists in providing emergency services in cases of arrest, death, crime victimization, repatriation, medical evacuation, temporary financial assistance and welfare-and-whereabouts cases. 

Top of Page


Getting There By Air


In addition to the big three:

Expedia
Travelocity
Orbitz

Check out:

Smarter Travel
Travelzoo
Cheapflights.com
airfarewatchdog.com

Airline statistics regarding complaints can be found in the Air Travel Consumer Report.

Top of Page


Getting Around While you Are There


Europe by Eurail - book cover imageEurope by Eurail 2008 (914.045 FER)
Provides coverage of countries in Western and Central Europe as well as Scandinavia including a map of Eurail lines, ferry crossings and information about Eurail passes and BritRail passes.  Eurail passes must be purchased in the United States before your departure.

For the latest information about passes and fares, see railpass.com and Europe for Visitors.


Top of Page

 

Last updated: June 26, 2010