Ancient Greece

A Pathfinder for Students

by Jeanne Keller, Librarian

Ancient Greece thrived nearly 4,000 years ago. Their culture still impacts our lives today in so many aspects; arts, politics, science, math, literature, mythology and philosophy. The Ancient Greeks’ contributions to western civilization are important to study and appreciate.

This pathfinder will get you off to a very good start as you begin your journey back in time to discover the many similarities and differences we share with the Ancient Greeks.

Have fun!

Encyclopedias
Books & Audiobooks
Magazines
Databases
Websites


Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia article provides an overview of topics.  Listed below are links to our Encyclopedia online as well as our print sets available at your library.

World Book Online Reference Center – To access this database you will need your library barcode number and a PIN number.

World Book Encyclopedia, c2005  (print)
Description:  22 v.: ill. (Some col.), col. maps; 26 cm.
Summary:  An encyclopedia designed especially to meet the needs of elementary, junior high, and senior high school students.

Top of Page


Books & Audiobooks

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Greece
Greece Civilization
Greece – Social Life - Customs
Science- Greece - History
Mythology - Greece

When visiting the library, browse these call numbers for materials:

Greek Mythology
J 292.211

Science in Ancient Greece
J 509.38

Art in Ancient Greece
J 709.38

Ancient Greece
J 938

Top of Page


Books

Some books for students are listed below.

Ancient Greece book cover image Ancient Greece, by Anne Pearson
c2000, A Dorling Kindersley book.
Describes the land, history, and civilization of ancient Greece.

Ancient Greeks book cover image Ancient Greeks, by John Malam
c1998, An illustrated survey of the society, culture, and history of ancient Greece.

Book cover image for You wouldn't want to be a slave in ancient greece You Wouldn’t Want to be a Slave in Ancient Greece!, by Fiona MacDonald
c2001, Describes life as a slave in Ancient Greece.

Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Greece (Gods and Goddesses Series) Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Greece, by Leon Ashworth
c2003, Learn the different gods and goddesses worshipped by the Ancient Greeks.

 

Top of Page


Audiobooks

The D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths.  c2000
4 sound discs (4 hr.): digital; 4 3/4 in.

Here are the gods, goddesses, and legendary heroes of Ancient Greece: mighty Zeus, vengeful Hera, wise Athena, powerful Hercules, and many others.

Top of Page


Magazines

Check out the October 2004 issue of Calliope and read some great articles on Ancient Greece.

The Light Dims. (The demise of the Golden Age) C. Kruger. 
Calliope
Oct ’04 p40-41

The Shining Light. (The Golden Age – The Cultural and Intellectual Growth of Athens) C. Kruger.
Calliope
Oct. ’04 p36-38

Top of Page


Databases

An online database is a collection of information that can be searched easily and quickly on a computer. The public library provides several databases that contain articles from magazines, reference books, and other sources of information helpful to students.

You will need a library card and PIN number to search these wonderful resources.

These databases are available 24 hours a day with your OCPL library card.

Click the following to see a description of our online databases:
Online Databases for Students


For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

The following web sites are excellent sites for information pertaining to all aspects of Ancient Greece; there are many more.  The library’s website [www.onlib.org] is a great starting place to begin searching the Internet.

Greek History for Kids! – Very comprehensive site includes crafts, projects, as well as a teacher’s guide.

Ancient Greece - Follow the story of the war between Athens and Sparta in 430 B.C. as seen by two families, one in each city-state.

Cybersleuth Kids Ancient Civilizations – Cybersleuth Kids is an online search engine designed to help kids search the Internet.

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us