Bipolar or Manic-Depression

A Pathfinder

by Stephanie Patterson, Librarian

Bipolar or Manic Depression is a serious but treatable mental illness and mood disorder.  There are many excellent information resources available from your public library, local and national agencies, and your home computer. This pathfinder lists just some of the helpful information sources available through Onondaga County Public Libraries, or your home computer.

Directories
Books & Videos
Databases
Support Organizations / Local Resources


Directories

The Complete Mental Health Directory:  A Comprehensive Source Book for Individuals And Professionals,  4th ed. 2004

Top of Page


Books & Videos

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Bipolar disorder
Manic depression
Affective disorder(s)
Depression mental

To browse in the library: go to the non-fiction shelves and look for books with the following call numbers: 
616.852
616.89
618.928

Top of Page


Books

Torrey, E. Fuller (Edwin Fuller). Surviving Manic Depression. 2005
Excellent guide covering symptoms, treatments and advocacy.  Chapters that address special problems such as medication noncompliance are especially helpful.

Fristad, Mary A. Raising a Moody Child. 2004
A guide for parents with clear, practical strategies on how to help your child deal with mood disorders.

Fast, Julie A.  Loving Someone with Bipolar Disorder. 2004
This book provides tips on how a couple can work together to create a treatment plan that helps the couple live with this illness, and still maintain a loving relationship.  Family members and friends can also use these techniques.

Oliwenstein, Lori. Taming Bipolar Disorder. 2004
Provides information, guidance and support information including inspiring stories of courage and triumph.

Castle, Lana R. Bipolar Disorder Demystified: Mastering The Tightrope Of Manic Depression. 2003

Papolos, Demitri F.  The Bipolar Child: The Definitive And Reassuring Guide To Childhood's Most Misunderstood Disorder. 2002
This is a very helpful and informative book for people who need help parenting a bipolar child.

Woolis, Rebecca. When Someone You Love Has A Mental Illness. 1992
An insightful guide to a more successful interpersonal relationship between family and patient, providing practical advise on how to interact with a loved one having mental problems or disorders.

Demetriades, Helen A. Bipolar Disorder, Depression and Other Mood Disorders. 2002

Miklowitz, David Jay. The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and  Your Family Need To Know. 2002
The emphasis is on issues of interest to the patient, such as learning to coming to terms with the illness, whom to confide in, and how to recognize one's own mood swings.

Videos

Day For Night: Recognizing Teenage Depression. 1999
VHS 26 min. This film offers an in-depth look at the illness, and includes interviews with teens suffering with mood disorders. Very insightful, helpful film for teens and their families, teachers and other professionals.

Four Lives. 1987
VHS 60 min. This is an excellent video showing four people going through various phases of Manic-Depression, or Bipolar disorder.  It is an inspiring, hopeful film to patients and their families and provides the viewer with the reality of what it is like having Manic-Depression.

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about bipolar disorder or manic depression, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card. Databases are not the same as Internet websites.  They are based on well-respected references and contain full-text articles from magazines, newspapers; information you cannot get free on the Internet.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

For mental health topics, some of the most useful databases are:

EBSCOHost: Master File Select
EBSCOHost General Science Collection
Gale Health Reference Center Academic
Gale Health & Wellness Resource Center

Type in keywords, such as bipolar, disorder, manic depression, affective disorder(s),  depression mental

You may also find helpful and informative articles on bipolar disorders through a search engine such as Google or Yahoo, but there is no monitoring on the Internet regarding the safety or reliablitiy of these articles.

Top of Page


Support Organizations / Local Resources

Mental Health Association of Onondaga County
Information on local therapists, and mental health programs and services.
This excellent, comprehensive site also has links to many other mental health organizations, locally and nationally.

Health Information Center of Upstate Medical University
You may submit questions online, by clicking “ask a question” link at the top of the homepage. You may also telephone in your question. The telephone number is also listed at the “ask a question” link. 

Health Information Center of Upstate Medical University - Video collection
Online videos are offered by the Health Information Center of Upstate Medical University.
See list of health topics.  Some have accompanying videos which can be viewed on your library, or home computer.

Top of Page

 


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us