bald eagle photo

Bird Watching

falcon photo

by Liz Williams, Librarian

Bird watching, also known as birding, is an activity that can be enjoyed by people of all ages and abilities. This guide is to help you find information pertaining to birds and bird watching in general, and in Central New York in particular.

Atlases & Encyclopedias
Books & Audio Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Programs & Events
Local Resources
Associations
Related Pathfinders
robin sitting on a fence photo


Atlases & Encyclopedias red-tailed hawk photo

The Atlas of Breeding Birds in New York State
Ed. by Robert F. Andrle and Janet R. Carroll. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1988. (A species by species listing of the breeding territories of birds in NYS. Includes maps and breeding history of each species.)

Audubon Society Encyclopedia of North American Birds
by John K. Terres. New York: Wings Books: Distributed by Outlet Book Co., 1991. (Alphabetical arrangement of ornithological terms, definitions, biographies of birds, and great ornithologists, and articles about bird life and bird biology. Many illustrations and color photographs.)

Top of Page


Books & Audio Books

The OCPL Library Catalog will have many resources.

Here are some useful subject headings to search for materials:

BIRDS
BIRDS – NEW YORK (STATE)
GARDENING TO ATTRACT BIRDS
NATURE CONSERVATION
NEW YORK (STATE) GUIDEBOOKS
Cardinal photo

Dewey Decimal System Classification – 598

Birding in Central and Western New York by Norman E. Wolfe. Fishers, NY: Footprint Press, 2001.
Land and water trails to finding birds.

Birds of New York State by Robert E. Budliger and Gregory Kennedy. Auburn, WA: Lone Pine Publishing
International, 2005.
Detailed accounts of the 320 species of birds that can be expected to appear in NYS on an annual basis. These accounts include its identifying marks, size, status, habitat, nesting habits, feeding habits, voice, similar species, best sites for viewing, and range maps.

Bull’s Birds of New York State Ed. by Emanuel Levine. Ithaca, NY: Comstock Publishing Associates, 1998.
Describes various bird habitats and the ornithological history of the 451 species listed on the official New York State checklist.

City Cemeteries to Boreal Bogs: Where to Go Birding in Central New York by Dorothy W. Crumb and James Throckmorton. Syracuse, NY: Onondaga Audubon Society, 2002.

Enjoying Birds in Upstate New York by Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr. and Sally F. Hoyt. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University, 1968. An older, but still very useful little handbook on finding, attracting and identifying birds in areas north of Orange and Putnam Counties. Includes a section on Syracuse, and a calendar of when to expect the arrival of the various species in Central New York.

Identify Yourself: The 50 Most Common Birding Identification Challenges by Bill Thompson III. Boston:
Houghton Mifflin Co.
A guide to help beginning and intermediate level bird watchers navigate each identification challenge with step by step hints. Each confusing group contains clear descriptions and illustrations that show key field marks.

Music of the Birds (book w/CD) Colorful book with information on some common North American birds and helpful descriptions of their songs. The accompanying CD compliments the text well with the actual songs of the birds and pointers on how to remember the songs.

Sibley’s Birding Basics by David Sibley. NY: Alfred A. Knopf, 2002.
A comprehensive guide for beginning birdwatchers, with sections on equipment, finding birds, identifying birds and more.

Where to Find Birds in New York State: The Top 500 Sites by Susan Roney Drennan. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1981. 
Information on, and directions to more than 500 birding sites throughout New York State.

FIELD GUIDES (Portable, illustrated books to identify birds in the field):

Birds of North America: A Guide to Field Identification by Chandler S. Robbins, et al. NY: St. Martin’s Press, 2001. (Golden Field Guide series)

Field Guide to the Birds of Eastern and Central North America by Roger Tory Peterson. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 5th ed., 2002. (Peterson Field Guide Series)

Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Eastern North America by David Allen Sibley. NY: Alfred A. Knopf, 2003.

Stokes Field Guide to Birds: Eastern Region by Donald & Lillian Stokes. Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1996 (Stokes, Donald W. Stokes Field Guides)

AUDIO BOOKS

Bird Song Ear Training Guide (1 cd) by John Feith. Madison, WI: John Feith, 2003. Songs of 189 species of birds found in the Midwest and Northeast States. Each song is followed by a short description with a common mnemonic used to remember it.

Birding by Ear (3 cassettes, 1 booklet) by Richard K. Walton and Robert W. Lawson. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 1989. Bird songs and calls grouped by acoustic similarity, with tips on exactly what to listen for to tell one bird from another.

A Field Guide to Bird Songs of Eastern and Central North America (2 cassettes, 1 booklet) Peterson Field Guide Series (sound recording) Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1990. This set complements the Peterson Field Guide of the same area of the country. It contains the songs and calls used in field identification of 250 species of birds.

Stokes Field Guide to Bird Songs: Eastern Region (3 cds, 1 booklet) by Lang Elliott. NY: Time Warner AudioBooks, 1997. Companion to Stokes Field Guide of the same region. Contains songs and calls of 372 species of birds of the Eastern Region.

Top of Page


Magazines
heron photo

Audubon – official magazine of the National Audubon Society
Birder’s World – exploring birds in the field and backyard
Birds and Blooms – colorful publication with tips on attracting birds and creating beautiful gardens

Top of Page


Databases

For an index to more articles on birdwatching, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

MasterFile Select
Search with terms related to birds and bird watching to find many full-text periodical articles;

or choose:

EbscoHost General Science Collection to limit the search to popular science periodicals.

Top of Page


Websites
heron photo 2
seagull photo

Cornell University’s Lab of Ornithology is a world-renowned authority on all things relating to birds. The “All About Birds” page is the “ultimate resource for birds and birding on the Web.”

Birdsource is a partnership between citizens and scientists. This is an interactive website designed and managed by the National Audubon Society and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology to promote conservation and environmental learning. Participants contribute bird watching data to scientific studies and thus “bird with a purpose” while birding for enjoyment.

The American Birding Association provides leadership to birders by increasing their knowledge, skills, and enjoyment of birding. They are the only organization in North America that specifically caters to recreational birders. This website provides many links to birding programs, tours, information resources, and equipment to make your bird-watching experience even more enjoyable.

Onondaga Audubon Society is Central New York’s largest chapter of the National Audubon Society. On this site find the latest information on bird activity in the area, a Central NY birding checklist, and information on free programs and field trips open to the public.

“Bird Links to the World” is an excellent part of the “Bird Studies Canada” website. Here you can find an interactive map of the world that you can click on to find further information about birds and birding in any part of the world. This site has global links to: the best bird websites (the top 10 visited links); checklists; bird names and taxonomy; worldwide organizations and information; and many, many links to other bird websites.

Top of Page


Programs & Events

National Audubon Society
Annual Events: Great Backyard Bird Count in February; Christmas Bird Count in December (check website for dates)

Onondaga Audubon Society
Monthly program/meeting meets every second Wednesday of the month (except July, August); Field trips - free and open to the public (check website)

Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Monday night seminar series - free and open to the public (check website)

Top of Page


duck photoLocal Resources
pigeon photo

Kestrel
Newsletter of the Onondaga Audubon Society.

Rare Bird Alert
Check the website of the Onondaga Audubon Society for recent bird sightings.

Checklist
Checklist of the Birds Regularly Seen in Central New York.
Find a printable version that you can take with you in the field, on the Onondaga Audubon website.

Top of Page


Associations


National Audubon Society
Their mission is to “conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds…” Its national network of community-based nature centers and chapters engage millions of people of all ages and backgrounds in positive conservation experiences.


American Ornithologists’ Union
The oldest and largest organization in the New World devoted to the scientific study of birds.


New York State Ornithological Association
Brings together bird clubs and individuals to help document the ornithology of New York State, by pooling their efforts, skills and influence to carry out large statewide projects such as a state bird book and a state breeding bird atlas.

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

Other pathfinders on the World Wide Web related to birds include:

Birds and Insects in Flight (Edmonton Public Library, Alberta, Canada)
Birds (Edmonton Public Library, Alberta, Canada)

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us