by Kathryn M. Wickham, Librarian
This pathfinder is meant to bring awareness of child abuse. It is also meant to help parents and caregivers find materials to help them protect children from potential child abuse, or help them cope with abuse, if abuse has already taken place.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Associations
Related Pathfinders
World Book Encyclopedia
"…generally refers to mistreatment of a child by a parent or another adult. There is no standard definition of child abuse, however. A narrow definition is limited to life threatening physical violence, including severe beatings, burns, and strangulation. A broader definition includes any treatment other than the most favorable care."
World Book Student Dictionary
Definition of abuse : to make bad or wrong use of; to treat cruelly or badly; mistreat; cruel or harsh treatment; rude or insulting language.
Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:
Child abuse
Child molesting
Family violence
Child welfare
Abused children
Child sexual abuse
Children and strangers
Psychological child abuse
Books
You Can Say "No": A Book About Protecting Yourself , by Betty Virginia Doyle Boegehold, 1985
Depicts children in various situations involving adults who attempt to molest them and discusses ways of preventing or dealing with such behavior.
Damaged Angels, by Bonnie Buxton, 2005
An adoptive mother discovers the tragic toll of alcohol in pregnancy.
Coping With Sexual Abuse, Judith Cooney, 1987
Discusses the myths and effects of sexual abuse, treatment for victims, and ways to prevent such abuse.
No More Secrets For Me, Oralee Wachter, 1983
In four separate stories on the theme of sexual abuse of children, young victims are able to articulate their feelings and defend themselves, often with the help of another person whom they trust.
My Body is Private, Linda Walvoord Girard, 1984
A mother-child conversation introduces the topic of sexual abuse and ways to keep one's body private.
Child Abuse: An American Epidemic , Elaine Landau, 1989
Discusses the problem of child abuse, its causes and what can be done to prevent it.
Feeling Safe, Feeling Strong, Susan Neiburg Terkel, 1984
Fictional vignettes depict acts of child sexual abuse; and information on handling such situations is offered.
It's O.K. to Say No!, Robin Lenett, 1985
A manual for parents and children, which explores the causes of the ways to prevent child molesting.
Sometimes It's O.K. to Tell Secrets, Robin Lenett, 1985
Be Aware of Danger, Bill Gutman, 1996
Discusses how to deal safely with strangers and dangerous situations in school and on the streets.
A Child is Being Beaten: Violence Against Children, An American Tragedy , Naomi Feigelson Chase, 1975
Violence against children in America.
A Nation’s Shame, Advisory Board on Child Abuse & Neglect, 1995
Fatal child abuse and neglect in the United States.
Child Abuse, Bryan J. Grapes (editor), 2001
Contemporary issues, prevention, adults as child abuse victims.
Hidden Victims: The Sexual Abuse of Children , Robert L. Geiser, 1979
Discusses the possible causes and aftermath of the sexual misuse of children.
Child Abuse and Neglect, Cynthia Crosson Tower, 1985
A teacher's handbook for detection, reporting, and classroom management.
Ritual Abuse, Margaret Smith, 1993
What it is, why it happens, and how to help.
Nobody’s Children: Abuse and Neglect, Elizabeth Bartholet, 1999
Abuse and neglect, foster drift, and the adoption alternative.
Child Abuse Opposing Viewpoints, 2004
Presents opposing viewpoints concerning issues related to child abuse, including what causes this form of abuse, and how to justly prosecute it in the courts.
A Child Called It, David Pelzer, 1995
Biography of a man who was badly abused by his mother and how he escaped.
Videos
Taking Children Seriously, 1986
Through interviews with children, adults find out that children feel they run the risk of ridicule, anger, and even punishment when they say how they really feel about their problems and fears.
Child Abuse and Neglect, 2001
A prevention and reporting guide for caregivers.
The Boys of St. Vincent, 2003
A story of sexual abuse at an orphanage, reopened after years of concealment. The abuser is now married and has two children, and has to face the charges.
Strong Kids, Safe Kids: A Family Guide, 1984
A program about taking care of kids, and kids taking care of themselves. Put together because of the dangers of child sexual molestation and abduction. Addresses the need for better education.
But Names Can Hurt Forever, Not Dated
Psychological child abuse.
Rachel and Marla, 1990
What Tadoo with Secrets, 1990
A professor and frogs, What and Tadoo, tell seven-year-old Juliette the difference between good and bad secrets. Juliette tells her mother she is being abused by her uncle.
Better Safe Than Sorry, Not Dated (Spanish & English)
Deals with prevention of child sexual molestation, which is perpetrated by people known to the child. Four different dramatizations illustrate possible molestation situations.
StrangerSmart, 1995
Teaches you and your child how to avoid kidnap traps, how to say "no" to strangers, what to do if they are approached or touched by strangers, & other safety tips.
Into Your Heart, 1991
Child abuse and domestic violence are often carried over from one generation to the next. Shows how counseling can stop abusive behavior and break the chain of violence.
When Should You Tell, 1995
Dealing with abuse.
Child Abuse and Maltreatment, 1997
NYS Dept. of Social Services & SUNY Early Childhood Education & Training Program Daycare Provider Videoconference.
Mind That Child, 1991
Shows you how to recognize symptoms and find healing for a child who has been sexually mistreated and frightened into silence. How to prevent child sexual abuse.
For articles about child abuse, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.
For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.
The following is a section of articles about child abuse.
Brunk, Doug. “Patterns and Location of Bruises Can Suggest Physical Abuse.” Family Practice News 1 Apr. 2005: v35 i7 p37(1).
“Child Abuse and Neglect Recurs with Children at Home After Intervention.” Community Action 23 May 2005: v20 i9 p1(2).
Coghlan, Andy. “Justice for the Innocents.” New Scientist 30 Jul. 2005: v. 187 i2510 p6(3).
Fraser, Sylvia. “Thirteen Years In Hell: In the Rural Community of …” Toronto Life Jul. 2005: v39 i6 p74(8).
Kellogg, Nancy. “Evaluation of Sexual Abuse in Children.” Pediatrics Aug. 2005: v. 116 i2 p506(7).
May, Joanne C. “Family Attachment Narrative Therapy: Healing the Experience …” The Journal of Marital and Family Therapy Jul. 2005: v31 i3 p221(17).
“Mothers Addicted to Meth Face Losing Their Children; Crisis Looms in Child Welfare System.” Alcoholism & Drug Abuse Weekly 18 Jul. 2005: v17 i27 p1.
“Patterns of Injury That Should Raise Suspicion For Child Abuse.” Pediatric Emergency Medicine Reports 1 Jun. 2005: pN/A.
Ricci, Lawrence R. “Emotional Abuse: The Effects on Children.” Clinical Reference Systems 1 Jan. 2004: p1151.
Ricci, Lawrence R. “Protecting Children from Sexual Assault.” Clinical Reference Systems 1 Jan. 2004: p2524.
Ricci, Lawrence R. “Shaken Baby Syndrome.” Clinical Reference Systems 1 Jan. 2004: p2770.
Savell, Shelia. “Child Sexual Abuse: Are Healthcare Providers Looking the Other Way?” Journal of Forensic Nursing Summer 2005: v1 i2 p78(5).
Scheingold, Lee. “Childhood Sexual Abuse: It's Impact on Adult Life.” Clinical Reference Systems 1 Jan. 2004: p647.
Schmitt, B.D. “Spanking.” Clinical Reference Systems 1 Jan. 2004: p2884.
“Visits by Nurses Do Not Reduce Recurrent Child Abuse and Neglect.” Nursing Standard 27 Jul. 2005: v19 i46 p19 (1).
“Was the Family Doing God’s Work – Or Unspeakable Harm?” People Weekly 18 Jul. 2005: v64 i3 p87.
Prevent Child Abuse America
Tennyson Center for Children at Colorado Christian Home
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Medline Plus : U.S. National Library of Medicine
Child Abuse Prevention Network
Child Help USA : Treatment and Prevention of Child Abuse
Keep Kids Healthy
International Child Abuse Network
International Society for Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect
National Council on Child Abuse and Family Violence
Oprah Winfrey's Website -- Child Abuse information
Child Abuse Prevention Services
eHOW -- How to talk to your kids about sexual abuse.
Onondaga County Department of Social Services, Child Welfare
John H. Mulroy Civic Center
421 Montgomery St.
Syracuse, NY 13202
315-435-2884
McMahon/Ryan Child Advocacy Site
509 West Onondaga St.
Syracuse, NY 13204
315-701-2985
mcmahonryan@mcmahonryan.org
Prevent Child Abuse America
Leads the way in building awareness, providing education and inspiring hope to everyone involved in the effort to prevent the abuse and neglect of our nation's children.
312-663-3520 Chicago, I.L.
Tennyson Center for Children
Works to put an end to child abuse. Colorado.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
"Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services."
Child Abuse Prevention Network
Keep in touch with new developments on the Child Abuse Prevention Network.
ChildHelp: Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse
Exists to meet the physical, emotional, educational, and spiritual needs of abused and neglected children. Efforts in the areas of treatment, prevention, and research.
ChildHelp National Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-4-A-CHILD
International Child Abuse Network
Working world-wide to break the cycle of child abuse. Canoga Park, C.A.
888-224-4226
International Society for Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect
Brings committed professionals to work towards the prevention and treatment of child abuse, neglect and exploitation globally. West Chicago, I.L.
630-876-6913
National Council on Child Abuse and Family Violence
The American Campaign against prevention of child abuse and family violence. Washington, D.C.
202-429-6695
Child Molesting, Broward Community College Library
Children, Youth, and Families (with an emphasis on Social Workers) – Harris Library, Case Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences
Child Abuse, Williamsburg Regional Library
Childhood Sexual Abuse, Valencia West Campus Library