The United States Constitution

A Pathfinder for Students

After the Revolutionary War, the American colonies needed to form a national government. Representatives from the different colonies met in Philadelphia in 1787 to write a set of rules for the new country. The result was the United States Constitution. It established three branches of government: the Legislative, the Executive, and the Judicial. It also defined the rights of states and of individuals.

This pathfinder will help you find information in the Onondaga County Public Library and on the Internet about the Constitution.

Encyclopedia
Books
Magazines
Websites


Encyclopedia

An encyclopedia article will provide an overview of the topic. Here is a link to an online encyclopedia article on the U.S. Constitution. You may also use an encyclopedia in your library.

Murphy, Bruce Allen. "Constitution of the United States." World Book Online Reference Center. 2005. World Book, Inc. 1 Sept. 2005.

Top of Page


Books

Keywords and Phrases
Use these keywords and phrases to search for more information in the library’s online catalog, online databases, and on the Internet:

Dewey Decimal Numbers
Browse the library shelves under these Dewey Decimal numbers for books on the U.S. Constitution.

Top of Page


Books
Some books for students about the U.S. Constitution are listed here. To find more books on this topic, search the online catalog using the suggested Keywords and Phrases or browse the shelves in the library under the suggested Dewey Decimal Numbers.

We the Kids: The Preamble to the Constitution of the United States by David Catrow
Dial, 2002. Grades 1-4
Humorous illustrations depict the meaning of the Preamble to the Constitution.

We the People: the Constitution of the United States of America by Peter Spier
Doubleday, 1987. Grades 2-5
This is an artistic tribute to the diversity of America and the ideals of the Constitution. An introduction tells the story of the Constitution, and the full text of the document appears at the end of the book.

book cover book cover book cover

The Constitution by Suzanne LeVert
Benchmark, 2003. Grades 2-5
Part of a series, this title presents simple information about the writing of the Constitution, the three branches of the federal government, the Bill of Rights, and the way the Constitution can be amended.

Shhh! We're Writing the Constitution by Jean Fritz; illustrated by Tomie dePaola
Putnam, 1987. Grades 3-6
Words and pictures bring the Constitutional Convention to life as the reader learns about the different personalities that helped write the document.

A More Perfect Union: The Story of Our Constitution by Betsy Maestro; illustrated by Guilio Maestro
Lothrop, Lee & Shepard, 1987. Grades 3-6
The writing and ratification of the Constitution are described.

Creating the Constitution, 1787 by Christopher Collier and James Lincoln Collier
Benchmark, 1999. Grades 5-12
This entry in “The Drama of American History” series describes in detail the drafting of the U.S. Constitution.

“A Convention of Delegates” : The Creation of the Constitution by Denis J. Hauptly
Atheneum, 1987. Grades 6-12
The various personalities present at the Constitutional Convention struggle to agree on the terms of the document.

book coverbook cover

A Kids’ Guide to America’s Bill of Rights: Curfews, Censorship, and the 100-Pound Giant by Kathleen Krull; illustrated by Anna DeVito
Avon, 1999. Grades 5-12
Lighthearted illustrations accompany this examination of the meaning of the first ten amendments to the Constitution and how they apply to young people in particular.

In Defense of Liberty: The Story of America’s Bill of Rights by Russell Freedman
Holiday House, 2003. Grades 6-12
Freedman describes the origins of the Bill of Rights and discusses challenges to them.

The Bill of Rights: How We Got It and What It Means by Milton Meltzer
Thomas Crowell, 1990. Grades 6-12
The first section of the book explores the history of the Bill of Rights; the second section explains the meaning of each one; and the third section relates some of the cases that have challenged them.

Top of Page


Magazines

Click on the links below for some useful magazine articles. Use the suggested “Keywords and Phrases” to search for more resources on the library’s online databases for students.

“A Republic, If You Can Keep It” by Malcolm C. Jensen. Cobblestone, Jan. 2003; v24.
This article discusses how the Framers of the Constitution struggled with the issue of power and how to balance it.

"A Product of Argument and Compromise" by Barbara Brooks Simons. Cobblestone, Jan. 2003; v24.
This article explores the three branches of government set up by the U.S. Constitution.

Top of Page


Websites

The following web sites pertain to the United States Constitution. Use the suggested “Keywords and Phrases” to search the Internet for further information.

Ben’s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Basic information about the branches of the federal government, the documents of American history, and citizenship is presented in grade-level ranges.

The Constitution of the United States
This web site of the National Archives includes a transcript of the Constitution and information about the delegates to the Constitutional Convention. It also covers the Bill of Rights and the additional amendments to the Constitution.

Interactive Constitution
Select a specific section or phrase of the Constitution and receive an explanation of its meaning.

Centuries of Citizenship: A Constitutional Timeline
This interactive timeline highlights some of the key dates and events that mark more than 200 years of constitutional history.

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us