Ten Reasons to Visit Your Library This Election Season

The historical mission of the public library is to enable the free exchange of ideas and information. In this way, an individual’s lifelong self-education benefits not only the individual, but also America’s democratic process. In a very real way, libraries are a cornerstone of democracy – and a citizen’s doorway to information about voting and elections.

Call numbers to browse
Subject headings to search

This list of reasons to go to your library during election season is borrowed from Your Vote Matters, a Web site cosponsored by Working Assets long-distance company with the American Library Association. The resources included with each reason are ones available through the Onondaga County Public Library.

Register to vote
Find absentee ballot information
Find your precinct and polling information
Get informed about candidates and issues
Learn about the electoral process
Find out where candidates, from presidential to local, stand on issues
Learn about local ballot referenda and initiatives
Find out your elected officials' voting records and how to contact them
Attend a community forum on current issues
Connect with local and national civic organizations and get involved


1. Register to vote.

Most libraries carry voter registration forms provided by the county Board of Elections. OCPL branches and members also give patrons access to Web sites offering online registration. These sites often provide information about candidates and issues as well, and may allow you to locate state and county candidates and other local election information. Please note, however, that while voter registration can start online, eventually the form must be printed so that you can sign it and mail it. Here are some sites offering registration and voter information.

Agency-Based Voter Registration
The National Voter Registration Act of 1993 made registering to vote easier by providing “motor voter” registration at motor vehicles departments, mail-in registration, and agency-based registration, which requires offices of public-assistance and state-funded agencies to offer voter registration forms and help. This Web page lists these agencies.

Black Entertainment Television (BET)
Scroll to the bottom of the page to “Register.”

Congress.org

League of Women Voters

Onondaga County Board of Elections
The county’s voter registration page links to the state form and lists eligibility requirements, registration deadlines and ways to register.

Project Vote Smart
PVS has official voter registration pages in English and Spanish.

A number of organizations target young people and first-time voters. Here are some:

Citizen Change
Started by rapper Sean “P. Diddy” Combs.

Declare Yourself
Nonpartisan, nonprofit project to reach first-time-eligible voters.

MTV’s Choose or Lose

Rock the Vote

World Wrestling Entertainment’s Smackdown Your Vote

Top of Page


2. Find absentee ballot information.

Federal Election Commission
The National Mail Voter Registration form allows voters to register from anywhere in the United States. This is especially useful for registering college students.

Federal Voting Assistance Program
Provides registration information to U.S. citizens overseas and in the military.

Onondaga County Board of Elections

Project Vote Smart
Get information about who can vote with an absentee ballot and how.

New York State Board of Elections [PDF]
Absentee Ballot Application from the New York State Board of Elections [PDF].

Top of Page


3. Find your precinct and polling information.

After you have registered to vote, you will receive a post card notice before each election in which you are eligible to vote telling you the election date, and your polling place and hours. Hang on to this! If you lose the post card or for any other reason, you may call the Onondaga County Board of Elections directly, 435-8683, or go to its Web site below:

Onondaga County Board of Elections
The county’s voter registration page links to information about candidate names, polling addresses, and maps showing election districts for federal, state, county and city representatives. You may need to call the board to find out your specific polling place.

Top of Page


4. Get informed about candidates and issues.

Fact Check
The Annenberg Political Fact Check service researches what’s fact and what’s fiction in statements made by candidates and public officials.

Federal Voting Assistance Program
Provides information to U.S. citizens covered by the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act. Also links to the Voting Information News, with information about upcoming elections to help ensure out-of-country citizens can vote.

League of Women Voters
LWV backs up its voter-information pages with an extensive database, called Vote411.org, on candidates, issues, and elections at federal and, to a limited degree, state levels. It also links to county and city Web sites, where contact information for officials can be found. The higher the position, the more information is available; little information is available on local candidates.

National Coalition on Black Civic Participation (NCBCP)
"NCBCP Unity ’08 Black Campaign is a non-partisan civic engagement initiative designed to inoculate (promote & protect), motivate, and mobilize Black voters across the country to participate in the 2008 Presidential Election Cycle."

National Conference of State Legislatures—State and Federal Issues
For each broad topic, an overview page highlights study groups, conferences, papers, briefs, etc. Click on narrower topics for articles from State Legislature magazine, executive summaries of books, enactment summaries.

Project Vote Smart
PVS provides tools for learning about candidates and issues, tracking legislation, and comparing voting records and campaign finance sources. It also has links to government and political resources and educational materials for classrooms. It is a longtime OCPL partner in providing election-year information in multiple formats: electronic, print (The Voter’s Self-Defense Manual, 2004 edition), and by phone (Voter’s Research Hotline, 1-888-VOTE SMART).

Public Agenda
Nonpartisan opinion research organization for understanding critical issues. Provides results of many polls, along with analyses of trends in public opinion, discussion guides on issues, and research study reports.

Especially for the younger demographic (18 to 30 years old):

Declare Yourself
Nonpartisan, nonprofit project to reach first-time-eligible voters.

MTV’s Choose or Lose
Links to Public Agenda’s issue papers and Project Vote Smart’s candidate information.

Rock the Vote
“Everything you need to know to piss off a politician by voting.” Despite the slogan, it’s an unbiased resource, with links to information on how and where to vote, candidates, issues, events.

Smackdown Your Vote
World Wrestling Entertainment created The 18-30 VIP online issues paper, with responses from the presidential candidates and others. Also links to the Project Vote Smart and League of Women VotersVote411.org databases.

To learn who’s getting campaign financing and who’s giving it, try these sites:

Federal Election Commission
Campaign finance reports and data for candidates, parties, PACs, committees and individuals.

FEC Guide to Researching Public Records

Follow the Money
Searchable databases and research from the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

OpenSecrets.org
The Center for Responsive Politics’ guide to federal money flow in U.S. elections.

Follow the news and interact with others through blogs (Web logs). Two to check out are:

Noteworthy Events in the U.S.: U.S. News Blogs
One of many blogs on a host site that aims to “provoke an unmuffled, ungagged, and unsilenced generation of world citizens into speaking up.”

WatchBlog: 2008 U.S. Election News & Opinion
Multiple editors manage three separate blogs joined in one Web space: Democrats & Liberals; Third Parties & Independents; and Republicans and Conservatives. Something for everyone.

Top of Page


5. Learn about the electoral process.

You can browse the OCPL collection of books and videos in the catalog as well as in person. If you like to browse the shelves, concentrate on these call numbers, in the adult, children’s, and media collections:

320  Political systems and philosophy, governments

320.473 American government, democracy, political process

324 Political issues, process and history

324.63-.65 Electoral college, electoral process

324.78  Campaign financing

324.973  Elections, voting, campaigning



Some subject headings to try include:

Campaign funds

Elections – United States

Electoral college – United States

Lobbying – United States

Political campaigns – United States

Political participation – United States

Political parties – United States Voting – United States



Federal Election Commission
The FEC is an excellent resource for anything related to elections. It explains the American federal election system, electoral college, and voting systems; provides dates of elections and caucuses; publishes voter statistics; and offers access to public records relating to campaigns.

New York Public Interest Research Group
NYPIRG explains the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) of 2002, which requires states to improve election and voting procedures, and what it means for New York citizens.

U.S. Department of State
The State Department publishes an online publication, U.S. Elections 2004, for people unfamiliar with American government. It’s available in multiple languages, with a glossary.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a free, online encyclopedia. You may enter search terms from any page. Try terms such as American government, voting, democracy, elections or political campaigning. Each entry leads to hundreds of links, so you can follow the information trail whichever direction you want.

At the state level, the Web sites of the New York Senate and Assembly are a wealth of information, not only about officeholders, but also for locating and tracking bills and laws, finding out who serves on what committee, reading legislative reports, watching live feeds of the houses in session and obtaining educational materials for children.

New York State Senate

New York State Assembly

Top of Page


6. Find out where candidates, from presidential to local, stand on issues.

For presidential candidates, most of the voter information sites listed under Reason 4 will provide information in a variety of forms. An additional online resource is:

How Stuff Works

A special section, Election Issues Explained, provides a balanced explanation of various issues and the presidential candidates’ stands and voting records on each.

Voter information sites also provide information on U.S. senators and representatives and at least names and contact information for state senators and assembly members. Additional resources for state legislators are the Web sites for each house, which also link to legislators’ personal Web pages:

New York State Senate

New York State Assembly

For county and city representatives and districts:

Congress.org
Provides links to contact information for Onondaga County, Syracuse, and the townships of Camillus, Cicero, Clay, DeWitt, Geddes, Lysander, Manlius, Onondaga, Salina and Van Buren. You can search local officials by entering your zip code.

Onondaga County Legislature

Syracuse Common Council

For local officials’ and candidates’ stands on issues and voting records, you’ll probably need to call their office or find information through local newspapers. Try these news resources:

NewsBank
The repository of Syracuse Post-Standard articles, dating from 1986 to the present, is licensed for in-library use from any branch or suburban library in the system. When the databases are opened, choose Newspapers, then Syracuse Post-Standard. Use simple Boolean search strings (and, or) to find articles about representatives or house actions. For newspaper information before 1986, the Central Library (447 S. Salina St., 435-1900) maintains a comprehensive microfilm collection of the Syracuse Newspapers from 1850 to the present.

Syracuse.com
This site houses local news and information, much of it from the Syracuse Post-Standard. Under the News+Biz heading, look for Politics & Elections. This leads to a page with links to local and national news stories, news alert signup, chat forums, and more.

Top of Page


7. Learn about local ballot referenda and initiatives.

National Conference of State Legislatures—Ballot Measure Database
Look up upcoming state and federal referenda and initiatives. You can also look up ballot measures back to 1990. For county or city ballot measures, your best bet is to call the Onondaga County Board of Elections or the Syracuse City Clerk's Office. According to the Syracuse deputy city clerk, each city clerk advises the county of referenda. For city measures, ordinances and laws, the city clerk can provide information only on those that have passed. While they are still under discussion, call your councilor for information. Find contact information in your phone book or online at: Congress.org. You can search local officials by entering your zip code.

Top of Page


8. Find out your elected officials’ voting records and how to contact them.

Congress.org
Sign up for MegaVote, a weekly e-mail summary and alert of your congressional representatives’ votes.

League of Women Voters
Click on Candidates to reach the Congress.org database.

Project Vote Smart
Locate your representatives, track their votes and campaign funding, find out how different interest groups evaluate them; some have results from the National Political Awareness Test showing where they stand on issues. Voting records currently exist only for congressional representatives.

Top of Page


9. Attend a community forum on current issues.

Watch the Syracuse Post-Standard for calendars and news briefs announcing events.

Onondaga County Public Library
Click Events Calendar to check current month’s listing of events at all 30 OCPL libraries. Also, check bulletin boards in each library for community event fliers.

Syracuse University
Find out about the day’s calendar, search for planned speakers and forums, subscribe to Campus Hot News to get daily e-mail alerts of campus events.

Top of Page


10. Connect with local and national civic organizations and get involved.

Green Party
The Syracuse office is located at 2617 S. Salina St., Syracuse, NY 13202; telephone/fax: 474-7055.

League of Women Voters
The Syracuse chapter office is located 930 James St., Syracuse, NY 13203; call 422-9797.

MoveOn.org
MoveOn is a catalyst for progressive grassroots involvement. When there is a gap between broad public opinion and legislative action, MoveOn builds electronic advocacy groups. Once a group is assembled, MoveOn provides information and tools to help individuals act effectively.

Onondaga County Legislature
407 Court House, Syracuse, NY 13202 Phone: 435-2070  Fax: 435-8434
The Legislature meets on the first Monday of each month (other than holidays) during regular session. Additional special sessions may be called when pressing matters cannot wait for the next scheduled monthly meeting. Meetings are open to the public.

Onondaga County Democratic Committee
246 E. Water St., Syracuse, NY 13202 Telephone: 422-0345

Republican Committee
375 W. Onondaga St., Syracuse, NY 13202 Telephone: 471-2020

Syracuse Common Council
314 City Hall, Syracuse, NY 13202 Phone: 448-8466 Fax: 448-8423
The Common Council meets approximately two Mondays a month at 1 p.m. Study sessions meet at noon on the Wednesday before a council meeting. Both are open to the public. A calendar is published online. Agendas for upcoming council meetings are published online a day before each study session and are updated with decisions the day after a council meeting.

Townhall.com
Conservative news and information in an online community.

Top of Page

Last updated April 15, 2008


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us