Fire Safety

A Pathfinder

by Susan Bond, Librarian


According to the Statistical Abstract of the United States 2004-2005, there were over 1.6 million fires reported in the U.S. in 2002, causing 3380 deaths and destroying over $15 billio n in property. Many of these fires were preventable. This pathfinder attempts to give people the information they need to reduce their risk of being victims of fire.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Directories
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Associations


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

World Book Encyclopedia  - Fire Protection

Fire prevention. World Book Online Reference Center. 2005. World Book, Inc. 1 July 2005.

Top of Page


Directories

U.S. Fire Administration Fire Dept. Census

NY State Office of Fire Prevention and Control

Top of Page


Books & Videos

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Fire
Fire Alarms
Fire Escapes
Fire Extinction
Fire Fighters
Fire Prevention
Fires
Life Saving at Fires

Top of Page


Books, Videos & Music CDs for Kids


Books

Fire Safety by Lucia Raatma

Fire Station by Lola Schaefer

Firefighter by Kathleen Ermitage

Safety Around Fire by Lucia Raatma

Stop, Drop and Roll by Lucia Raatma

A Kid’s Guide to Staying Safe Around Fire by Maribeth Boelts

Una Visita a La Estacion De Bomberos de Sesame Street (in Spanish) by Dan Elliott

What’s Inside a Firehouse? By Sharon Gordon

Smoke Alarms by Lucia Raatma

Home Fire Drills by Lucia Raatma

Fire by Nigel Ritchie

Scholastic’s The Magic School Bus Gets All Fired Up

With Fire by Kyle Carter


Videos


Be Cool, Play It Safe

Be Cool About Fire Safety

Firehouse

Firefighter

Adventures in Fire Safety


Music CDs


Sparky and the Firehouse Five

Top of Page


Books & Videos for Adults


Books

Fire Code of New York State

Fire Protection Handbook

National Fire Codes

National Electrical Code Handbook

Fire Prevention by Lawrence Whitman

Opportunities in Fire Protection Services Careers by Ronny Coleman

Complete Book of Electronic Security by Bill Phillips

Security/Fire Alarm Systems: Design, Installation, Maintenance by John Traister

Firesetting Children: Risk Assessment and Treatment by George Sakheim

Fundamental Principle of Mathematics Applied to the Fire Service by Everett Hudiburg

Firefighting Principles and Practices by William Clark

Everything You Need to Score High on Firefighter

Fire Service Orientation & Terminology by Michael Wieder

Instructor’s Manual: Firefighting—Basic Skills and Techniques by Mike Ertel

Principles of Fire Protection Chemistry by Raymond Friedman

Blaze: The Forensics of Fire by Nicolas Faith

Home Mechanix Guide to Security: Protecting Your Home, Car & Family By Bill Phillips

Knowing About Fire by Hendrik De Leeuw

Fire! 38 Lifesaving Tips For You And Your Family by Jim Gibbons

Dr. Frank Field's Get Out Alive: Save Your Family’s Life With Fire Survival Techniques by Frank Field

Videos

Fire, Two Ways Out

Blazing Infernos

Home Emergencies

Fire Safety for the Family

Top of Page


Magazines

“How Do I Put Out A Small Kitchen Fire?”, Vegetarian Times, July-August 2005, p96

“What Your Kids Must Know About Fire Safety”, Jennifer Woodhouse, Redbook, June 2004, p143

“Alert: Kids Sleep Through Fire Alarms”, Lori Nudo, Prevention, August 2004, Vol.56, Issue 8, p54

“Juvenile Firesetting Interventions: What Works for Children and Families?”, Brown University Child & Adolescent Behavior Letter, June 2005, Vol. 21, Issue p1

Firesetting Facts for Parents, Brown University Child & Adolescent Behavior Letter, June 2005, Vol.21 Issue 6, p8

“Back to School: Is Your Dorm Fire-Safe?”, Consumer Reports, September 2004, Vol.69, Issue 9, p7

“Fire Safety”, Body Bulletin, December 2004, Vol. 5, Issue 12, p3

“Wired For Trouble?”, Prevention, June 2005, Vol. 57, Issue 6, p171

“Blow Out the Candles”, Don Diclerico, This Old House, December 2003, Vol. 8, Issue 10 p16

Fire Safety/Fire Protection in the Workplace, Facts on File Health Reference Center

“Fighting Fire: Know About the Common Causes of Outboard Fires and You’ll be Better"

Prepared to Prevent One From Occurring On Your Boat”, Motorboating, October 2003, Vol. 192, Issue 4 p26

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about Fire Safety, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Check the following databases for articles on many aspects of fire safety.

Gale General Reference Center Gold    
EbscoHost Masterfile Select
Gale Health and Wellness Resource Center
Facts on File Health Reference Center
Reference USA: Provides access to addresses, phone numbers, addresses, and URLs of fire departments and companies dealing in fire safety equipment.

Top of Page


Websites

Kids

New York State Office of Fire Prevention and Control Kid’s Room Contains puzzles, quizzes, pictures to color, photos, and info on arson dogs.

U.S. Fire Administration for Kids Features interactive learning, coloring pages, puzzles and games.

Sparky the Fire Dog: Includes projects, games, coloring pages, safety tips and interactive Q&A.

Adults

All You Ever Wanted to Know About Fire Extinguishers Discusses the different types of fire extinguishers and how to use them.

FireSafety.gov Provides statistics, fact sheets, brochures, news releases, forms and grant info. Has information in Spanish.

U.S. Fire Administration Lists product recalls, statistics, has downloadable articles and reports and a fire census.

National Fire Protection Association Provides safety tips, fact sheets, statistics, fire legislation news, online copies of NFPA Journal, and catalog of the NFPA Library.

New York City Fire Department Discusses what steps to take after a fire including insurance, salvage, and money replacement.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Onondaga County Fire Coordinator
Onondaga County Department of Emergency Communications
Syracuse Fire Department
Clay Fire Department

Top of Page


Associations

National Fire Protection Association
1 Batterymarch Park
P.O. Box 9101
Quincy, MA 02269
Ph (617) 984-7424
FX (617) 984-7056
e-mail: ifma@nfpa.org



Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us