Coping with Grief:

A Pathfinder of Comfort

by Lynn A. Berman, Librarian

What is grief? Grief is the body’s physical and psychological response to any type of loss. Grief varies in symptoms, severity and duration depending on factors such as: mourner’s age, gender, personality, culture, religion and object of loss. There are no right or wrong ways to mourn.  The best way to deal with grief is to recognize it and to grieve. This pathfinder offers resources to adults mourning the loss of a parent, spouse/partner or sibling. Professionals, clergy and caretakers may also find this pathfinder helpful. 

Encyclopedias
Books & Videos
Magazines & Magazine Articles
Databases
Websites
Local Resources


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Death and Dying, edited by Glennys Howard and Oliver Leaman
Routledge (London and New York) 2001
Reference 306.903 ENC

Ten entries on grief related topics defining concepts and terminology including tasks of the mourning process, complicated grief and grief therapy. Articles geared to academic and professional practitioners. Includes current research in the field. This reference book is available at Central Library.

Top of Page


Books & Videos

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials.

Bereavement
Bereavement – Psychological Aspects
Bereavement – Religious Aspects, Christianity and Judaism
Consolation
Grief
Grief – Personal Narratives
Grief – Religious Aspects
Grief Therapy
Loss (Psychology)

Browse for books on grief under the Dewey Decimal number 155.937

Top of Page


Books

The following list of books are available in the OCPL system. Additional items may be found in the OCPL Catalog using the subject headings listed above.

Consolation: The Spiritual Journey Beyond Grief by Maurice Lamm
The Jewish Publication Society, 2004 
297.6 LAM

Author Rabbi Lamm’s book covers grief coping skills including listening techniques and personal narratives. Anecdotes, parables and homilies are slanted toward Judaic mourning beliefs and rituals.

Conversations at Midnight: Coming to Terms with Dying and Death
by Herbert and Kay Kramer
William Morrow & Company, 1993
155.937 KRA

This book includes dialogues between author Herbert Kramer, a cancer victim, and his wife Kay, a counselor and grief therapist. Topics include guided imagery, meditations and topic driven stories on sadness, coping and healing.

Don’t Let Death Ruin Your Life: A Practical Guide For Turning the Death of a Loved One Into a Growth Experience by Jill Brooke
A Dutton Book, 2001
306.9 BRO

A unique and motivational book by a leading grief counselor that focuses on solutions to illustrate that mourning shouldn’t become a disability but a healing experience. Practical advice and personal experiences further illustrate the author’s views.

Finding Peace: Exercises to Help Heal the Pain of Loss by Brooke Noel
Champion Press Limited, 2005
155.93 NOE

The author is the founder of Griefsteps.com, a website devoted to coping with loss. This book outlines work steps, tools and exercises for dealing with grief. Much of this information can be found on the website.  An extensive listing of online support classes and other resources are included in the book’s appendix.

Grief Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Program for Moving Beyond Loss
by John W. James and Frank Cherry
Harper & Row, 1988
152.4 JAM

The authors are cofounders of the Grief Recovery Institute. This practical handbook offers a sixteen-step/five-stage recovery plan for dealing with all aspects of grief including case histories and personal narratives. Excellent resource for caretakers and professionals.

Grief Dreams: How They Help Heal Us After The Death of a Loved One
by T.J.Wray with Ann Back Price  Jossey/Bass, 2005
154.632 WRA

The author, Assistant Professor of Faith and Grief at Salve Regina University, talks about the value of four types of grief dreams. These dreams are based on real life experiences.

Handbook for Those Who Grieve: What You Should Know and What You Can Do During Times of Loss by Marin M. Auz and Maureen Lyons Andrews
Loyola Press, 2002
155.937 AUZ

A resource for family, friends, caregivers and clergy on how to help mourners with the grieving process. This book offers listings of support groups as well as sample letters to send to those in mourning.

The Heart of Grief: Death and the Search for Lasting Love by Thomas Attig
Oxford University Press, 2000
155.937 ATT

Healing guidance, wisdom and mediations on the meaning of grief which is defined as the transition of redirected love are the focus of this book. The author is a former professor of philosophy and past president of the Association for Death Education and Counseling.

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss by Elisabeth Kubler- Ross and David Kessler
Scribner, 2005
155.937 KUB

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross is considered the foremost authority on the subject of dignity in dying. This collaboration is her last book published before her death. It includes an introduction to her five-stages of grieving and then weaves her theories with Kessler’s experiences on dreams, coping, isolation and healing.

Unattended Sorrow: Recovering From Loss and Reviving the Heart by Stephen Levine
Rodale, 2005
155.93 LEV

Unattended sorrow is defined as grief that leads to self-destructive behavior accumulated over a lifetime. The author, a grief counselor, offers keys to unlocking this problem including journaling, dream work and his three stages of working through mental and physical sorrow.

When Men Grieve: Why Men Grieve Differently and How You Can Help by Elizabeth Levang Ph.D.
Fairview Press, 1998
155.937 LEV

Essays from eleven men, fathers, spouses, brothers, who talk of personal tragedies and coping mechanisms. The author offers her responses, many challenging typical stereotypes of the grieving male.

A Woman’s Guide to Living Alone: 10 Ways to Survive Grief and Be Happy by Pamela Stone
Taylor Trade Publications, 2001
646.7 STO

Practical advice and personal narratives to help women learn a new lifestyle after the loss of a loved one, marriage termination or the end of a relationship.


Videos


Beyond Death’s Door
Paraclete Video Productions, 1999
DVD 155.937 BEY

Two clergy, a rabbi and reverend, and other professionals offer understanding of the grief process including practical steps and stages of grieving. Included are touching testimonials by those who have lost loved ones.

The Courage to Grieve, the Courage To Grow: Recovering and Growing Through Grief with Judy Tatelbaum
45 min., 1994
VC 155.937 COU

A comforting video where Ms.Tatelbaum  recognizes the stages of grief and offers techniques for healing. Excellent tool to help adults in mourning.

Journey Through The Shadows: Hope For Healing After Someone You Love Has Committed Suicide
35 min., 2000
VC 362.283 JOU

This video offers ways to cope with this life changing experience.

You’re Not Alone: Coping With The Death Of A Spouse
Gravity Video Productions, 40 min., 1995.
VC 155.937 YOU

From the survivors’ perspective, five people share their most private emotions while two experienced grief counselors give comfort and explanations.

Top of Page


Magazines

The following periodicals are entirely devoted to grief issues but are unavailable through the Onondaga County Public Library System. Try their websites or EBSCOHOST for further information.

Living with Loss Magazine
5125 North Union Boulevard, Suite #4, Colorado Springs, CO 80918

Grief Digest (published quarterly)
Editor: Andrea Gambill, Pub: Centering Corporation

Presents best writers and speakers in the field, many who have had personal experiences with grief and family loss. Magazine produced by Centering Family, a non-profit organization from Omaha, Nebraska founded in 1977.

Grief Matters: The Australian Journal of Grief and Bereavement ( 3 issues per year)
Pub: Sherry Williams Enterprises

From Australia, published by The Centre of Grief Education since 1998, each journal has a central grief theme and would be helpful to support groups and clergy. Although intended for residents of Australia, the academically geared articles offer insight.


Articles


The following articles can be found in various libraries in the Onondaga County Public Library or in the EbscoHost database.

“Is Grief a Disease? Sometimes” by Richard M. Glass, JAMA – Journal of the American Medical Association, June 1, 2005, Vol. 293, issue 21, p. 2658-2660

“Love, Loss and What I Ate” by Gloria McVeigh,  Prevention, June 2004, Vol.56, i6, p. 97-102

“New Treatment for Extreme Grief,” Science News, June 18, 2005, Vol. 167, I25, p. 397

“Yoga to Ease Grief” by Judith Hanson Lasater, Natural Health, July 2001, Vol. 31, I 5, p. 47

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about grief, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Check the following databases for articles on many aspects of grief, use keyword search “grief or grief counseling.”

EBSCOHost Master Select
GALE Academic ASAP
Health Reference Center- Academic

Top of Page


Websites

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Offers links and extended resources for widowed and bereaved adults. Publications may be ordered online.

American Hospice Foundation- Hospice & Palliative Care Associates
Lists articles, publications, courses, workshops and related links such as GriefZone, an educational resource on death and loss.

Caring Connections (National Hospice & Palliative Care Organization)
Provides free resources on end of life topics including caregiving, finances, grief and loss.

The End of Life: Experiencing Death in America
A National Public Radio (NPR) 1997-1998 series that explores aspects of death and dying including grief and bereavement. Included are readings and a bibliography.

GriefNet
A website dedicated to people coping with death, grief and major loss. This site, directed by a Michigan based grief psychologist, has over 60 e-mail support groups. Included is the support group KIDSAID for children dealing with grief.

Griefworks
One of the oldest grief sites founded by grief counselor Cendra Lynn. It focuses on books, bereavement supplies, e-mail discussions, ways to cope and information on different types of grief.

Growth House: Improving Care for the Dying
An extensive search engine listing topics and links relating to dying, grief, support groups, music, books, blogs and much more.

GROWW (Grief Recovery Online)
Message boards, resource listings and chat room for those grieving.

Journey of Hearts
Started in 1997, this organization offers books-on-line and links to help those grieving. Combines medicine, psychiatry,and prose images to comfort. A Healing Place offers images combined with thoughts in poetry or lyric format.

Shiva Foundation
A non-profit organization in Santa Fe, Mexico that deals with healing. Includes grief FAQs, and links to related resources.

Widow Net
A support and information site for those who have lost a spouse or life partner. Included are links to grief, recovery, senior sites, a chat room and spiritual resources.

Top of Page


Local Resources

The following community organizations deal with issues of death, dying and grief.

Hope for the Bereaved

4500 Onondaga Boulevard
Syracuse, New York 13219
315-475-4673

Founded in 1978, this organization offers support groups, phone hotlines, counseling, newsletters, and training seminars for those coping with the death of a loved one. They hold a yearly event on Memorial Day in their Butterfly Garden of Hope by Onondaga Lake Parkway.
E-mail: Hope@dreamscape.com                                                                                                          

Hospice and Palliative Care Associates
990 Seventh North Street
Liverpool, New York 13088
315-634-1100

Local chapter of a national organization that offers palliative care for terminally ill patients that meet certain requirements. Emotional support by trained professionals and volunteers offered to both patient and family members. Grief counseling and support groups prior to and after patient’s death offered to family members. Their Center for Living with Loss offers counseling and psychotherapy. Hospice offers free brochures, classes and support groups. They publish a bi-monthly newsletter, Pathways.

Syracuse Jewish Family Service
4101 East Genesee Street,
Syracuse, New York 13214
315-445-0820
e-mail: syrifs@dreamscape.com

This non-profit organization provides individual and family therapy to help people deal with crisis situations including issues of loss. These services are available to all members of the community. There is a sliding fee.


“If you suppress grief too much, it can well redouble.”
-Moliere

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us