Klezmer Music & Its Cultural Background

A Pathfinder

by Linda D'Imperio, Librarian

“A wedding without klezmer is like a funeral without tears.”

This Yiddish saying, mentioned in The Book of Klezmer by Yale Strom, illustrates how deep feelings were about this Eastern European Jewish ceremonial music.

The word “klezmer” is derived from the Hebrew words “calai” meaning tools and “zemer” which means song. Since its inception centuries ago it has fused with various musical styles and its popularity has spread to many parts of the world. This pathfinder lists major sources of information on the history and characteristics of the genre. Product information, associations, and programs are also included.


Encyclopedias
Directories
Books & Music
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Programs & Events
Local Resources

Associations
Related Pathfinders


Encyclopedias

Broughton, Simon. “Rhythm and Jews.” World Music: The Rough Guide Vol. 2, edited by Simon Broughton
Rough Guides Ltd, 2000, p. 581-592. Note: This book is available only at the Central library, in-library use.
General overview of klezmer music.

Nidel, Richard O. "Klezmer." World Music: The Basics
Routledge, 2005, p. 299-303.
Highlights recent developments, and lists key klezmer recordings.

Top of Page


Directories


Ari Davidow's Klezmershack
The most often cited klezmer music website. Comprehensive information on today’s klezmer world.

 

Relation of Yiddish to Klezmer

Yiddish is the culture and language of Klezmer music. Thus, materials about Klezmer music can be found under the subject heading
“Songs -- Yiddish.”
However, not all of the works under this heading are Klezmer.

Top of Page


Books & Music

To find books on klezmer music, you can “browse” the OCPL catalog for titles. Select the search option BROWSE, then choose SUBJECT and type Klezmer Music .

Browse the pages of subject headings for those that most closely match your interest. Click on headings to see titles of individual items, the branch where they are located, and their availability. “See Also” indicates headings for related and more specific topics, such as Adoptees and Special Needs Adoption.

Here are some useful Subject Headings to try:

Related subject headings are “Judaica” and “Judism.”

You can also browse individual performers of klezmer music. Select the search option BROWSE, then choose AUTHOR.

Call Numbers
Books: 781.629
Recordings: Q YIDD
Klezmer music originated in the Middle Ages.

The first klezmer was intended to imitate the Hebrew melodies of the synagogue.


Books

The Essential Klezmer: A Music Lovers Guide to Jewish Roots and Soul Music, from the Old World to the Jazz Age to the Downtown Avant-Garde, by Seth Rogovoy
Algonguin Books of Chappell Hill, 2000
Highly readable overview. Discography.

The Book of Klezmer: The History, the Music, the Folklore from the 14th century to the 21st, by Yale Strom
A Cappella Books, 2002
Many personal accounts from Eastern Europe, from pre-WW I to the present.

“A Musician’s Death” in The I.L. Peretz Reader, by Issac Leib Peretz
Pantheon Books, 1990
Portrays the lifestyle of an old world klezmer musician.

The Old Country: The Lost World of the Eastern European Jews by Abraham Schulman
Scribner, 1974
Essay and photographs illustrate the daily life of Eastern European Jews, 1850-1900.



Audio Book

“A Musician’s Death” in The I.L. Peretz Reader, by Issac Leib Peretz
Jewish Contemporary Classics, 2001, tape 1b, selection number 3.



Musical Recordings

OLD WORLD EUROPE PERIOD -- before 1920

Jewish Klezmer Music
by Zev Feldman and Andy Statman
Compact disc
Shanachie, 2000
Although the original recording was in 1979, it has an old world sound.
Old world klezmer bands were small groups who played on homemade stringed instruments. In the late 1800’s horns became the predominate instruments.

Immigrants
to the U.S. added elements of their new homeland’s Sousa marches, Dixieland, and swing.

The 1970’s and ‘80’s revival included touches of jazz, rock, and Yiddish theater vocals.

The Klezmer Renaissance created a new type of Klezmer, assimilating jazz, classical, and contemporary trends.


UNITED STATES IMMIGRANT PERIOD -- 1920-1945

East Side Wedding
by the Klezmorim
Record
Arhoolie Records, 1977

Klezmer!
by various artists
Compact disc
Yazoo, 2000
The violin and the clarinet have been the two predominant klezmer instruments because they are able to most closely imitate the sound of human weeping and human laughter.


REVIVAL Period -- 1970’s and 1980’s

The Magic of the Klezmer
by Giora Feidman
Compact disc
Delos, 1985

A Touch of Klez
by the Klezmer Conservatory Band
Cassette
Vanguard, 1985

You Should Be So Lucky
by the Maxwell Street Klezmer Band
Compact disc
Shanachie, 1996
In the late 19th century the lead instrument changed from violin to clarinet, a development from the Jewish experience of playing horns in the czar’s army. Also, as Jewish weddings began to be held in banquet halls rather than private homes, louder instruments were needed.


RENAISSANCE PERIOD-- mid-1990s --

In the Fiddler’s House
by Itzhak Perlman
Compact disc
Angel, 1995

Jews with Horns
by the Klezmatics
Compact disc
Xenophile Records, 1994

Krakauer Live in Krakow
by David Krakauer
Compact disc
Label Bleu, 2003

The Well
by the Klezmatics and Chava Alberstein
Compact disc
Xenophile, 1998

Top of Page


Magazines

Loeffler, James. "Klezmania.” New Republic, April 6, 1998, Vol. 218 Issue 4, p. 42.

Netsky, Hankus. “An Overview of Klezmer Music and Its Development in the U.S.” Judaism: a Quarterly Journal of Jewish Life and Thought, Winter 1998, Vol. 47, p.5 (8 p).

Denison, Paul. “Mad Scientist of Klezmer Music.” The Register-Guard (Eugene, Oregon), February 11, 2005, p.T3.
This article discusses the work of David Krakauer, considered one of the greatest living clarinetists. This world renowned chamber musician has become one of today’s foremost klezmer artists.

Top of Page


Online Databases

For an index to articles on klezmer music, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see librarian.

EBSCOHost Masterfile Select

Use Basic Search – Subjects -- klezmer music.
Select articles available in full text.
jewish music and cultural festival logo

Gale Academic ASAP

Use Subject Guide -- klezmer music
Limit to full text.
If you do not find what you want, expand to a keyword search, and remove full text limit.

Infotrac Custom Newspapers

Use keyword -- klezmer music.

Top of Page


Websites

Klezmer Music Theory and Information Links. What makes klezmer klezmer?
Brief description of some distinctive elements of klezmer music theory.

Allmusic.com Detailed information on recordings and performers. Music samples. Song search. See “Site Guide” first. Note: “klezmer” is under genre “world.”

Top of Page


Programs & Events

Jewish Music and Cultural Festival
Held annually on a Sunday in June in Clinton Square, Syracuse, New York.

Westcott Street Cultural Fair
Held annually on a Sunday in mid-September in the Westcott Street business district, Syracuse, New York.

Check the Jewish Observer of Central New York newspaper for listings of local klezmer performances. Published bi-weekly, it is available at most local libraries.

KlezKamp
Held the last week in December in downstate New York. A Yiddish folk arts program for adults and children.

Klezkanada
Held annually in August in the Montreal vicinity. A festival of Yiddish/Jewish culture and arts in North America for adults and children.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Musical Ensembles

Jonathan Dinkin & Klezmercuse
Phone: 315-637-4751
E-mail: Jonathan Dinkin & Klezmercuse

Keyna Hora Klezmer Band
Phone: 315-682-8489 (Sid Lipton)
E-mail: Keyna Hora Klezmer Band ( Mimi Weiner )

Wandering Klezmorim
Phone: 315-443-1894 (Ken Frieden)
E-mail: Wandering Klezmorim ( Ken Frieden)
image of a musical staff and notes



Other Organizations

Educational Institutions and Affiliates
Central New York institutions, including the Judaic Studies Department at Syracuse University, which teach Jewish related courses.

Hickey's Music Center Ithaca, New York.
Sheet music source. Visit in person or online.

Syracuse Jewish Federation
Provides support for Jewish service organizations and cultural programs. Publishes a monthly calendar of local Jewish related events.

Syracuse University Press
See “Jewish Studies” section. Note: Books not owned by the Onondaga County Public library are available through interlibrary loan.

Top of Page


Associations

Living Traditions
Dedicated to the preservation of Yiddish culture. Among its projects are KlezKamp and the Yiddish Radio Project.

Yivo Institute for Jewish Research
Pre-eminent resource for Eastern European Jewish studies.

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

Librarians’ Internet Index: Klezmer & Jewish

Internet Public Library: Jewish Culture Pathfinder

Top of Page

“Klezmer music is a music that dances, sings, expressing the joy and the mourning of life."
-The German Klezmer Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us