Knitting has been undergoing a new popularity in the last few years. The variety of beautiful yarn available and the enjoyment to be had by creating all sorts of things (from traditional garments, to trendy fashions) is being discovered by many people and there are many more sources of information and inspiration available than ever before.
While not being exhaustive, this guide is intended to be representative of some of the best resources available on all aspects of knitting, both for those who already know the joys of knitting and those who have just discovered it.
Knitting’s "soaring popularity can be directly attributed
to a need for stress reduction and calm, especially among younger women. The
percentage of women under 45 who knit has doubled in the past six years." (Body
and Soul, Oct. 2004)
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Directories
Books & Video
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Programs & Events
Local Resources
Associations
Related Pathfinders
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
A Treasury
of Knitting Patterns by Barbara
G. Walker (1968)
For those who want to design their own patterns, Walker’s
books are indispensable. This is the first one, with stitches logically grouped
and black and white, clear photos.
Vogue
Dictionary of Knitting Stitches by Anne Matthews (1985)
Patterns for
every type of knitted stitch from basic, traditional and modern including
ribs, textures, cables, Aran, openwork and lace, Fair Isle, borders, motifs
and more, with full color illustrations.
Many of the books listed below also have stitch guides included.
Directories
Many of the books listed include directories of yarn and equipment sources, local
yarn stores, books and websites.
| Browse for books on knitting in the Dewey Decimal numbers
745 and 746 or try searching the OCPL
catalog for the following subject
headings: Knitting or subdivisions such as: Knitting - Handbooks, manuals Knitting - Patterns Knitting - Scandinavia - Patterns Sweaters |
![]() |
General Instruction and Technique
The
Big Book of Knitting by Katharina Buss (1999)
A lavishly illustrated
reference for basic and more advanced aspects of knitting, illustrating various
techniques and stitch patterns.
Vogue
Knitting: The Ultimate Knitting Book (2nd ed.) by the Editors of Vogue
Knitting Magazine (2002)
An indispensable reference, covering
every possible aspect of knitting with clear illustrations and beautiful
photographs.
Projects and Patterns
Bliss, Debbie
Any of the many books by this leading designer, known especially for her baby
and children's designs, will instruct and inspire.
Glorious
Knits by Kaffe Fassett (1985)
This book helped start the current
knitwear revolution. The popular designer’s inspired use of color and
his technique for accomplishing it encourages knitters to devise their own
color schemes. Includes garments for adults and children and, as in all his
books, they are photographed in gorgeous surroundings.
Alice Starmore's
Book of Fair Isle Knitting by Alice Starmore (1988)
Teaches the history,
patterns and traditional techniques for the colorful, stranded knitting style
that originated in a tiny island off the coast of Scotland. The author explains
how the natural environment as well as everyday objects inspire her. Her work
with classic motifs and color schemes to create original patterns and designs
encourages readers to do the same.
The Knitter's
Handy Book of Patterns: Basic Designs in Multiple Sizes and Gauges by Ann
Budd (2002)
Ann Budd, the editor of Interweave Knits magazine, explains
how to calculate the numbers to create your own projects with your own choice
of yarn from toddler size to extra-large adult in any weight of yarn.
Knitting
Without Tears: Basic Techniques and Easy-To-Follow Directions For Garments
to Fit All Sizes by Elizabeth Zimmermann (1971)
The classic and
influential book which inspired a new generation of knitters, written in a
lively, conversational tone. Includes clever solutions to frustrating problems
and step-by-step instructions for timeless designs.
Stitch'N
Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook by Debbie Stoller (2003)
Written
by the co-founder of the Stitch'N Bitch circle in New York, this is the book
for the new generation of 20 to 30 year old knitters. Includes basic techniques
and unusual projects like cell phone covers, backpacks, and bikinis, with commentary
about knitting, its history, and why young people are knitting again.
Knitting
In America by Melanie
D. Falick (1996)
The author traveled around the U.S. exploring studios, galleries,
yarn shops, farms, festivals and museums getting to know knitters for whom
the craft is a way of life. Includes interviews and more than 30 patterns created
specifically for the book, with beautiful photos.
Knit Socks!:
15 Cool Patterns for Toasty Feet by
Betsy McCarthy (2004)
For those who know the basics of knitting, but not much
about knitting socks, with step-by-step instructions and color-coded charts.
Includes 15 patterns in various types of stitch designs for adults and children.
Men In
Knits: Sweaters to Knit That He Will Wear by Tara
Jon Manning (2003)
Offers help in choosing the right fit, color, texture and
style so men will actually wear a hand knitted sweater. The patterns include
both classics and trendy fashions, and many will appeal to women also.
Dogs in
Knits: 17 Patterns For Our Best Friends by Judith
L. Swartz (2002)
The first book from a major publisher to provide a pattern
wardrobe for dogs. The designs combine ethnic traditions with a modern sensibility
to create “sweaters dogs can wear with dignity.” Includes appealing
yet practical canine styles and instructions on sizing patterns for a perfect
fit with color photos.
The
Art of Knitting: Stitches, Colors, Fashion (2004)
(3 hrs. 39 min.) - DVD
Clearly demonstrates techniques
for beginners to advanced, explains types of yarn, tools, color theory. Provides,
in a well-organized format, information on designers, knitting circles, organizations
and events, a stitch library, glossary of terms, inspirational music to knit
by, the history of knitting, ergonomics and how to prevent injury.
For Children and Teens
Teen
Knitting Club: Chill Out and Knit by
Jennifer Wenger (2004)
Shows how knitting can appeal to teenagers as a way
to get exactly what they want to own. Includes patterns designed especially
for teens and how to start a knitting club.
Knitting by
Judy Ann Sadler (2002) (for ages 7 & up)
An easy to follow guide to get
started. The instructions are straightforward, photographs and illustrations
clear, and the projects simple but appealing for children.
History
No
Idle Hands: The Social History of American Knitting
by Anne L. MacDonald (1988)
Covers from colonial times to the 1980s and shows
how women have always used knitting as a practical outlet for their creativity.
Many primary sources are used for an entertaining social history.
Inspiration
Knit
Lit: Sweaters and Their Stories … and Other Writing About Knitting
by Linda Roghaar & Molly Wolf, eds.
A collection of stories and essays
of knitter’s
personal remembrances.
Fiction for Adults
Knitting:
A Novel by
Anne Bartlett (2005)
“A story about the healing power of friendship enriched
by knitting details.” (Library Journal,
Mar. 1, 2005)
Fiction for Children
Derek
the Knitting Dinosaur by Mary Blackwood (1990)
Derek, a little green dinosaur,
is somewhat worried that he likes to stay home and knit instead of acting like
his ferocious brothers, but the onset of cold weather allows his knitting to
become useful.
Vogue
Knitting International (published 4 times a year)
Available at Central,
Beauchamp Branch, NOPL @ Brewerton
In
addition to the latest in designer fashions and trends and interesting articles
every issue contains book reviews, reviews of new yarns, an index to advertisers,
techniques, a list of retailers, and a yarn buying guide. The ads provide
a useful source for yarn and patterns.
Knitter’s (published
4 times a year)
Available at Petit Branch
In three sections: “Features” has letters, instructions,
classified ads, book reviews; “Articles” on design issues, common problems, designer
profiles, reviews of classes; and “Projects” which are usually sweaters but often
include some home decor, with many ads.
The online databases do not index the magazines listed above, but interesting articles can be found from other magazines and newspapers. Try searching General Reference Center Gold or Ebsco Masterfile Select with "knitting" as a subject.
About.com Knitting
The author is a knitter and designer and offers free patterns (many with photos), articles on all types of knitting, a forum with questions and answers, and more.
Woolworks
Non-commercial, volunteer run site includes extensive listings of links about books, magazines, guilds, software, events, charities, and more.
Knitty.com
A free web-only magazine published 4 times a year, gathers patterns from both new and established designers and offers them for free, with photos and schematics always included.
Knitting Pattern Central
An directory of free knitting patterns
available online; well-organized by type of pattern (baby items, sweaters, hats, children, mittens, etc.).
KnittingHelp.com
Features online videos demonstrating the basics as well as a few more complex knitting techniques, with very clear and easy to follow instructions. Great for newbie knitters who still need help with their purl stitch as well as experienced knitters who can't quite remember the correct way to Kitchener!
Knitter's Review
"A weekly online magazine for fiber enthusiasts" - and much more! Knitter's Review features reviews of the latest yarns, knitting tools and books, as well as reports from fiber festivals and conferences across the United States. The Knitter's Review forum is an online knitting and fiber community where you can post questions and meet virtually with knitters from around the world.
KnitCast
An online radio program and podcast about knitting. The host, from Great Britain, interviews designers, store owners, magazine editors and other knitters from all over the world.
| Hazard, Petit & NOPL @ Brewerton libraries have had knitting groups at various times.
From the OCPL homepage click on Events Calendar. |
![]() |
Twisted Stitches of Central New York Knitting Guild
Find out about the activities of the local group affiliated with the national Knitting
Guild Association.
The Knitting Guild Association
A national organization, publisher of “Cast On” magazine. Sponsors conferences,
correspondence courses and a charity knitting program.
Craft Yarn Council of America
The trade association for the yarn industry. Website includes free patterns and basic instructions.
| The
Art and Craft of Hand Knitting Needlecrafts |
![]() |