It's A Boy image

Welcoming the New Baby

A Pathfinder

by Joanne Trask, Librarian
It's a Girl image


This pathfinder lists resources to help prepare older siblings for the arrival of a new baby in their lives. Topics covered include: pregnancy and birth, changes in the sibling’s daily routine and emotions, ways children can help with the baby and habits of newborns.  Also included are resources concerning the arrival of a sibling through adoption and the birth of a premature infant.

Books & Videos
Magazines & Articles
Databases
Websites
Local Resources


Books & Videos

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials in the OCPL catalog:

Adoption—Juvenile Literature
Babies—Juvenile Fiction
Childbirth—Juvenile Literature
Infants—Juvenile Fiction
Infants—Juvenile Literature
Infants—Development—Juvenile Literature
Pregnancy—Juvenile Literature

Top of Page


The following is a select list of items available in the OCPL system. Additional items may be found in the OCPL Catalog.

Children’s Books:

book cover image - Baby on the way book cover image - The Chosen Baby



Baby on the Way by William Sears, M.D, Martha Sears, R. N. and Christie Watts Kelly
Boston:  Little, Brown, 2001

Explains the changes that take place inside the mother’s body during pregnancy as well as the adjustments older siblings must make as the family prepares for the arrival of a new baby.   Sidebars entitled, “What You Can Do” and “Answers for the Very Curious” provide additional possibilities for discussion.

Baby Science by Ann Douglas 
Toronto:  Owl Books, 1998

Photos, illustrations and text describe the development of a baby from birth through its first year.  Explains baby’s daily habits and schedule, why babies cry, what babies eat at different stages and how they play.

A Baby’s Coming to Your House by Shelley Moore Thomas.
Morton Grove, Ill.  A.Whitman, 2002

Children learn what to expect in preparation for a new baby as well as changes that will take place once the baby arrives.   

The Chosen Baby by Valentina P. Wasson
Philadelphia:  Lippincott, 1977 edition

Originally written in 1939, this is the story of Peter and Mary’s adoption.  This story helps young children understand the process of adoption and reinforces the attribute of being “chosen.”

book cover image - Hi New Baby! book cover image - Love That Baby!


A Family for Jamie: An Adoption Story by Suzanne Bloom
New York:  C.N. Potter, 1991

This is the story of Molly and Dan, who wanted to be parents and chose adoption as a way of welcoming a child into their home.  Explains a little about the adoption process, waiting for a baby and their joy when Jamie arrived.

Hi New Baby by Robie Harris
Cambridge, MA: Candlewick Press, 2000

A story emphasizing the differences between what a baby and a big sister can do as the older sister anticipates the baby’s arrival.

Just Add One Chinese Sister by Patricia McMahon
Boyds Mills Press, 2005

A mother creates a scrapbook of pictures recounting the story of how Claire, a baby girl from China became part of her family.  Included in the scrapbook are Conor’s thoughts about becoming a big brother.

Let’s Talk About Having a New Brother or Sister by Diana Star Helmer
New York: PowerKids Press, 1999.

This volume in the “Let’s Talk Library” focuses on being an older brother or sister.  It deals with emotional changes as well as the helpful role the older sibling can play in the family.

Love That Baby! by Kathryn Lasky
Cambridge, MA: Candlewick Press, 2004

Helps young children understand the habits and behaviors of babies.  Covers sleeping, diapering, feeding, crying, soothing, playing etc.

book cover image - Mommy's in the Hospital Having a Baby book cover image - New Baby at Your House book cover image - The Night Before the New Baby


Mommy’s in the Hospital Having a Baby by Maxine Rosenberg
New York:  Clarion Books, 1997

Photographs and text help prepare children to visit their mother and new baby in the hospital.

My Baby Sister Is a Preemie by Diana M. Amadeo
Grand Rapids, Michigan: Zonderkiz, 2005

A little girl and her parents cope with the details surrounding the birth, illness and recovery of their premature baby.

My Mom’s Having a Baby! by Dori Hillestad Butler
Morton Grove, Ill. Albert Whitman and Company, 2005

Elizabeth gives a month-by-month account of the growth of her baby brother or sister as she and her parents wait for its birth. 

The New Baby At Your House by Joanna Cole
New York:  Morrow Junior Books, 1998

Photographs of babies, siblings and parents accompany an explanation of baby’s needs and habits and siblings’ feelings about the new baby.

The Night Before the New Baby by Natasha Wing
New York:  Grosset & Dunlap, 2002

The author has captured the excitement of waiting for a new baby in this verse set in the tradition of the famous Christmas poem.

book cover image - That New Animal
book cover image - Waiting for Mae
book cover image - What to Expect When the New Baby Comes Home


That New Animal
by Emily Jenkins
New York:  Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005

The arrival of a new baby is seen from the point of view of the household’s pets.

Vera’s Baby Sister by Vera Rosenberry
New York:  Henry Holt, 2005

When Vera feels left out after the arrival of her baby sister Ruthie, grandfather helps her create a special place and project of her own.

Waiting for May by Janet Morgan Stoeke
New York:  Dutton Children’s Books, 2005

A touching story about a family waiting to travel to China to adopt their new baby, May.

What to Expect When the New Baby Comes Home by Heidi Murkoff
New York: HarperFestival, 2001

Answers common questions children have about the habits, behaviors and abilities of infants. Each page includes an activity the older child can do either to practice taking care of the baby or to learn about his/her own babyhood.

Children’s Media

A New Baby in My House
New York:  Sony Wonder, 1994 (videocassette)

Mrs. Snuffleupagus reads a story about a little prince who feels left out when his new baby sister arrives.

Blues Clues:  Blue’s Big News
Nickelodeon Home Video, 2001 (videocassette)

Two episodes in the popular Blues Clues series highlight events surrounding the birth of a new baby.  In the first, Steve, Blue and their pals find ways to express their appreciation of Mr. Salt & Mrs. Pepper as they await the arrival of their new baby.  The second episode focuses on the big day, as the Blues Clues crew looks at baby books and even visits the hospital.

Sesame Street:  Three Bears and a New Baby
New York:  Sony Wonder, 2003 (DVD)

Baby Bear has trouble adjusting when his little sister cub arrives, so Gina, Telly and Big Bird help him learn how to be a helpful big brother.

Top of Page


Magazines

The following periodicals can be found in various libraries in the Onondaga County Library System.  Please check the OCPL catalog for availability at individual libraries.

American Baby

Baby Talk

Parenting

Parents
image of a baby having a bottle

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about welcoming a new baby into the family, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

The following periodicals are available through Gale Reference Center Gold:

image of a baby getting a bath
image of a sleeping baby

American Baby
Baby Talk
Child
Child Development
Children’s Digest
Psychology Today

EbscoHost provides access to articles in the following periodicals:

Family Life
Child Life
Pediatric Alert
Pediatrics for Parents

Facts on File Health Reference Center provides information on both physical and mental health.

Database Articles

"New Sibling Preparation." Meyerhoff, Michael K. (2004)
Pediatrics For Parents.  Vol. 21 Issue 7, p8-9, 2p. EbscoHost Masterfile Select.

"Sibling Rivalry and the New Baby:  Anticipatory Guidance and Management Strategies." Sawicki, Jill A. (1997)
Pediatric Nursing. Vol. 23 No. 3 p298 5p. Gale Reference Center Gold.

Top of Page


Websites

image of two parents holding a baby

American Academy of Pediatrics

This web site includes articles on a variety of health topics pertaining to children and adolescents.  Included are practical tips for parents, public policy and professional and educational resources.

National Network for Child Care
Site includes over 1000 publications and resources pertaining to child care as well as a listserv and a newsletter.

Web Articles

Preparing Siblings for a New Baby by Greene, Alan, M. D., (2003), from Dr. Greene.com

Helping Children Adapt to a New Sibling by Laurie Kramer (1996), from National Network for Child Care

Life With Baby Brother (2005), from Talaris Institute

Preparing Siblings for the Baby (1999-2005), from keepkidshealthy.com

Preparing Your Other Children for a New Baby, from The American Academy of Pediatrics

Welcoming a New Baby Into Your Family (1995-2005), from keepkidshealthy.com

Top of Page


Local Resources

Organizations and Classes



Doulas of CNY
Many services including a class to prepare siblings for a new baby’s birth.

Sibling Classes at St. Joseph’s Hospital Health Center.
drawing of mother and two children

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us