RVing – what a way to go! |
A Pathfinder |
by Mary Nasikan, Librarian |
Even with a slumping economy and the recent rise in gas prices, owning and using a Recreational Vehicle (RV) is an attractive option for many Americans. RV owners love the ability to go where they want, when they want, stay as long as they want, and maybe even bring along the family pet. A 2005 University of Michigan study estimates that there are more than eight million RVs on the road in the U.S. and that baby boomers (ages 35 to 54) are the fastest growing segment of the RV market. More industry details can be found at the Recreational Vehicle Industry Association web site.
Directories
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Associations
Related Pathfinders
Most RV directories are updated annually and list campgrounds and RV parks by state and/or region. Find specifics like number of available hookups, if there’s an on-site store available, whether pets are allowed, phone numbers, and road & towing laws for states.
2007 Trailer Life Directory: RV Parks, Campgrounds & Services, “Official Directory of the Good Sam Club”
Woodall's 2005 Eastern America Campground Directory: The Complete Active RVer's Guide to RV Parks, Service Centers and Attractions
Woodall’s 2007 New York/New England and Eastern Canada Campground Guide: The Active RVer's Guide to RV Parks, Service Centers and Attractions
Woodall’s North American Campground Directory 2006
Try searching these subject headings in the Onondaga County Public Library (OCPL) catalog. Use your library barcode and PIN number to request any item available in 33 libraries. You can also retrieve good results by simply using the term “RV” or “RVing” as a title word or as a general subject term.
Recreational Vehicles
Automobile Travel
Recreational Vehicle Living
Road Travel
Motor Homes
Mobile Home Living
Trailer Camps
Camp Sites
Books
Cooking Aboard Your RV: Good Food in Less Time - 300 Recipes Plus Dozens of Helpful Tips
by Janet Groene, 2004.
This book contains lots of helpful tips, including what to bring and what NOT to bring. Most recipes are short and sound good enough to try anytime.
Frommer’s Exploring America by RV
Shirley Slater & Harry Basch, 2002.
Includes tips to consider when deciding to rent or buy; describes many U.S. trips; a fun personal and public history of RVing; details of their own RV adventures in New England, California and the Florida Keys.
Living Aboard Your RV
by Janet Groene and Gordon Groene, 2002.
A wonderful fun read of case histories and very practical advice; descriptive black & white photos. Safety, hand signals when driving big rigs; sections on bringing kids, pets. Authors are not afraid to describe pitfalls and hassles - very realistic advice from psychological issues to technical troubleshooting. Useful sketches of RV types including pros and cons for each.
The RV Cookbook: Over 100 Quick, Easy, and Delicious Recipes to Enjoy on the Road
Amy Boyer, Danielle Chace, 2002
The RV Handbook
by Bill Estes, 2000.
RV Repair & Maintenance Manual
by Bob Livingston, 1998.
RV Vacations for Dummies
by Shirley Slater and Harry Basch. 2002.
The Complete Idiot’s Guide to RVing
by Brent Peterson, Revised edition, 2006.
The RVer's Bible
by Kim Baker & Sunny Baker; 1997
Lots of small, useful tip sections in easy-to-read format. Includes details on how to choose the best RV for you, the mechanical side of RVing, and RV lifestyles and activities.
RVs: Getting Out and Staying Out
by Alan & Barbara Lidstone, 2001
Good chapters on Internet /TV/phone service, hooking up utilities at the RV site, and Preventative Maintenance tips, and checklists to use when closing up your home.
301 Ways to Make RV Travel Safer, Easier, and More Fun
by Bernice Beard, 2001.
Woodall's RV Owners Handbook
1999.
Videos
California Coast by RV, DVD, 2005
Great Vacation Drives, VHS, 1993.
RV-related magazine titles currently in OCPL system include:
MotorHome
Trailer Life
Travel and Leisure
Find additional RV magazines with links to their web sites at RV.net.
For articles about RV travel, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.
You can find free, full-text articles from any computer with Internet access. Type in your library card number. Click on the link for EBSCO’s MasterFILE Select database. Type in the words "recreational vehicles" (put
both words in quotation marks) and limit results to full-text articles and
whatever current time span you want, e.g., January through June 2006.
For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.
Here are three articles located using the above strategy:
"Road Rules: For Millions of Americans Across the Country, Home is Where
the Heart, and the Highway, Is", by Tim Sramcik. Aftermarket
Business;
Nov. 2005, p58-66.
"Road Trip" by Wendy Paris. Essence Magazine, August 2005, p174.
"The Joys of RVing" by Nancy Baren Miller. TravelAmerica,
May/June 2005.
The Internet is currently the best resource for RVing information, with thousands of online sites available for all levels of RV enthusiasts – from the first-time RV user to people who live fulltime in their RV. Some of the best web sites are listed here in alphabetical order. Like all web sites, their web addresses and internal links are subject to change.
Families on the Road - an RV lifestyle web site with families in mind.
First RV - just like the web address says, its basic detailed info is geared towards the first time RVer.
Full Time RVer - another web site for those who already love the RV experience and are considering doing it fulltime. It contains an archive of their monthly newsletter and lots of technical tips.
Movin' On - a fun and informative web site starring an RVing couple that has gone there/done that. They began their RV adventure in 1989 and have moved full circle from a home to a small RV to a bigger RV to an even bigger RV and then back to buying a home and keeping a smaller RV for traveling. They’ve authored a book together and offer a lot of real world experience. Great web section just for RV-friendly recipes!
RV America Online - click on RV Buzz to read the latest in RV forums – includes a Woman’s RV forum and other special interest groups.
RV.net - a mega RV web site – has everything for all levels of RVers; includes online forums for beginners, FAQs, how to buy, books, DVDs.
Roadtrip America - all about all kinds of road travel – autos, bikes, motorcycles AND RVs. It has a separate link specifically for RV travel. Contains great ideas for travel spots, book and video reviews, how to make money while traveling, how to stay connected to the Internet, a fuel cost calculator, and much more.
Road Trip USA - features eleven major routes across the U.S., including the Appalachian Trail, with lots of driving tour details.
RV Buyers Guide - produced by the publishers of Trailer Life & MotorHome magazines. Cruise it for extensive details on how to choose and buy an RV.
RV Bookstore - books, magazines, eBooks, DVDs, and more. Some of the more interesting titles are The Wal-Mart Locator, Camping and RVing with Dogs, RVers Guide to Dump Stations.
RV Trader Online - Great site to start searching for the RV of your dreams. Can browse by type of RV, by state, by manufacturer. Search with specific criteria in mind – year range, cost range, fuel type, and more.
RV Travel - find current news info and link to WiFi (Wireless Fidelity) RV parks. Read the weekly online newsletter and regular features on the best travel destinations.
Search by city, zip code or area code for local RV resources at Recreation Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA).
Camping World RV Sales (formerly Meyer's RV Superstore)
1312 RV Center Dr, Syracuse, NY 13209 USA
Phone: (315) 451-1266
Email: SBECKER@Meyersrvsuperstores.com
Four Seasons RV Rental
724 Old Liverpool Road, Liverpool, NY 13088 USA
Phone: (315) 457-4746
Email: 4seasons@aol.com
Seven O's RV Sales, Inc.
7917 DeVaul Road Kirkville, NY 13082 USA
Phone: (315) 687-9342
Email: sevenoskirkville@aol.com
RV Way
8700 Route 11, Cicero, NY 13039 USA
Phone: (315) 699-4441
Email: sevenoscicero@aol.com
Recreation Vehicle Industry Association
A great site for pictures and descriptions of all kinds of RVs. Separate links to good info on buying or renting an RV, Maintenance 101, winterizing, etc.
The Recreation Vehicle Rental Association
A national association of companies who rent recreation vehicles (RV). Renting is a great idea to "test the waters" and discover if RVing is for you.
The National African-American RV'ers Association, Inc.
Started in 1993 in Cincinnati, Ohio with 53 RV owners and now has over 1400 members.
About.com has an extensive list of camping resources with campground reviews, camp recipes, camp gear, & camping links for the budget-minded, seniors, families, and more.
The Internet Public Library has detailed pathfinders on Recreational Outdoor Activities and on Travel & Tourism.
Librarians' Internet Index (LII) is a publicly funded website that includes many current and informative travel–related pathfinders for travel all over the U.S. and the world.