Vegetarianism:

A Pathfinder

by Jeannine Chubon

Vegetarianism is the practice of not eating meat, seafood or poultry. Some vegetarians include dairy products and eggs in their diet while vegans exclude all animal products. This pathfinder is a guide to finding books, articles and recipes on vegetarianism available from the Onondaga County Public Library and the Internet.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Directories
Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Associations
Related Pathfinders


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Gale Virtual Reference Library


Search within the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine to find current information on alternative and complementary medical practices including the following articles:

Dupler, Douglas, and Rebecca Frey, PhD. "Vegetarianism." Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. Ed. Jacqueline Longe. Vol. 4. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005.  p2097-2103. 4 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Thomson Gale.

Dupler, Douglas, and Teresa Odle. "Lacto-Ovo Vegetarianism." Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. Ed. Jacqueline Longe. Vol. 3. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005. p1178. 4 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Thomson Gale.

Animal Ingredients A to Z. Dayton, OH: E.G. Smith Press, 1997.

Top of Page


Directories

Book Cover Book Cover

Healthy Highways: The Traveler’s Guide to Healthy Eating by Nikki Goldbeck
Woodstock, NY: Ceres Press, 2004
641.302 GOL

Vegetarian Restaurants & Natural Food Stores: A Comprehensive Guide to Over 2,500 Vegetarian Eateries by John Howley
Badger, CA: Torchlight Publishing, 2002
647.957 HOW

Top of Page


Books

If you’re searching the OCPL catalog for titles, try some of these subject headings:

Vegan Cookery
Veganism
Vegetarianism
Vegetarian Cookery
Vegetarian Children

Here are some books available from the Onondaga County Public Library:

Ethical and Environmental Aspects of Vegetarianismbook cover image

Making Kind Choices: Everyday Ways to Enhance Your Life Through Earth and Animal-Friendly Living by Ingrid Newkirk
New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, c2005

Provides practical suggestions on enjoying a cruelty-free and environmentally friendly lifestyle. Includes recipes.

Vegetarian HistoryBook Cover

Vegetarian America: A History by Karen Iacobbo
Westport, CT: Praeger, c2004

A complete history of vegetarianism in the United States from the late 1700s to the present.

Vegetarian Nutrition for BeginnersBook Cover Book Cover Book Cover

Being Vegetarian for Dummies by Suzanne Havala
New York: IDG Books Worldwide, c2001

Provides practical tips on nutrition and meal planning for new vegetarians including those with special needs.

The New Becoming Vegetarian: The Essential Guide to a Healthy Vegetarian Diet by Vesanto Melina and Brenda Davis
Summertown, TN: Healthy Living Publications, c2003

A comprehensive resource offering nutritional information and recipes for vegetarians at all stages of life.

The Vegetarian Way: Total Health for You and Your Family by Virginia and Mark Messina
New York: Harmony Books, c1996

Provides information on all aspects of vegetarian nutrition. Includes menus, recipes, cooking tips and advice for special needs.

Vegetarian Cookbooks

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book CoverBook Cover

The Vegetarian 5-Ingredient Gourmet by Nava Atlas
New York: Broadway Books, c2001

A guide to quick meals for the health conscious.

Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon
New York: Workman, c2002

More than 1,000 vegetarian and vegan recipes with the focus on flavor.

Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian
by Madhur Jaffrey
New York: Clarkson Potter Publishers, c1999

A collection of the world’s best vegetarian dishes for both everyday meals and entertaining.

The New Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen
Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, c2000

A lighter and healthier version of the classic vegetarian cookbook.

Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker: 200 Recipes for Healthy and Hearty One-Pot Meals That Are Ready When You Are by Robin Robertson
Boston, MA: Harvard Common Press, c2004

Slow cooker convenience for vegetarians with recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook

Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Publishing Inc., c2005

Features more than 600 recipes and chapters on vegetarian nutrition and cooking techniques.

Vegan Cookbooks

Book Cover
Book Cover Book Cover

How It All Vegan! Irresistible Recipes for an Animal-Free Diet by Tanya Barnard
Vancouver, BC: Arsenal Pulp Press, c1999

Features the authors’ personal stories along with nutritional information and recipes.

The Voluptuous Vegan: More than 200 Sinfully Delicious Recipes for Meatless, Eggless, and Dairy-free Meals by Myra Kornfeld
New York: Clarkson Potter, c2000

Presents nutritionally balanced main course menus along with cooking tips.

Vegan Planet: 400 Irresistible Recipes with Fantastic Flavors from Home and Around the World
Boston, MA: Harvard Common Press, c2003

A collection of vegan recipes from around the world. Includes an introduction to the vegan pantry and cooking tips.

Vegetarian Children and Families

book cover image
Book CoverBook CoverBook Cover Book Cover

Help! My Child Stopped Eating Meat! An A-Z Guide to Surviving a Conflict in Diets by Carol J. Adams
New York: Continuum International Publishing Group, c2004

A practical guide for parents of vegetarian children. Includes a collection of popular vegetarian recipes.

The Vegetarian Family Cookbook by Nava Atlas
New York: Broadway Books, c2004

Features vegetarian recipes designed to appeal to children and families. Includes vegan substitutions and tips for picky eaters.

Veggie Kids by Roz Denny
London: Southwater, c2002

Vegetarian dishes with kid appeal. Recipes feature full color step- by-step instructions.

The Vegetarian Mother’s Cookbook: Whole Foods to Nourish Pregnant and Breastfeeding Women – And Their Families by Cathe Olson
Nipomo, CA: GOCO Publishing, c2005

Comprehensive nutritional information for the new mother and mother-to-be. Features over 300 recipes for all stages of pregnancy. Includes nutrient analysis, along with “quick-fix” meals and freezable entrees.

Raising Vegetarian Children: A Guide to Good Health and Family Harmony by Joanne Stepaniak
Chicago: Contemporary Books, c2003

Recipes, menus and detailed nutritional information for families with children of all ages.

Vegetarian Teens

Book Cover
Book Cover Book Cover

Vegetarianism for Teens. Jane Duden
Mankato, MN: LifeMatters, c2001

Describes vegetarianism and its appeal to teens. Provides information on planning healthy meals both at home and on the go.

The Teen’s Vegetarian Cookbook by Judy Krizmanic
New York: Puffin Books, c1999.

Easy to prepare vegetarian meals just for teens. Offers cooking tips for the novice cook and lots of portable snack and sandwich recipes for busy teens.

Munchie Madness: Vegetarian Meals for Teens by Dorothy R. Bates
Summertown, TN: Book Publishing Co., c2001.

Nutritional advise for teen vegetarians is offered along with easy recipes for the foods teens love.

Top of Page



Magazines

Veggie Life: Growing, Cooking, Eating Green
Veggie Life is a quarterly vegetarian cooking magazine featuring cooking and diet tips, recipes and nutritional information for the health conscious. Also available online at veggielife.com.

Vegetarian Times

Vegetarian Times is a monthly magazine featuring recipes, cooking and entertaining tips, and the latest research on alternative health, fitness, nutrition and supplements. Also available online at Vegetarian Times.

Top of Page


Online Databases

In the Online Databases you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day with your OCPL library card and PIN. Here are some articles available from the Gale Health Reference Center Academic and EBSCO Masterfile Select:

Gale Health Reference Center Academic

"How Many Vegetarians Are There? A 2003 National Harris Interactive Survey Question Sponsored by The Vegetarian Resource Group." Vegetarian Journal, May-June 2003, Vol. 22, p8, 2p.

Mangels, Ann Reed; Messina, Virginia; Vesanto, Melina. "Position of the American Dietetic Association and Dietitians of Canada: Vegetarian Diets." Journal of the American Dietetic Association, June 2003, Vol. 103, p748, 18p.

Waslaski, Janelle, and Jackie Boucher. "Beyond Bean Sprouts: Vegetarianism Today: Vegetarian Eating Can Help Protect Your Heart and Cut Your Risk of Several Diseases--and It's More Flexible Than You Might Think." Diabetes Forecast, Oct 2005 Vol. 58, p50, 5 p.

EBSCO Masterfile Select

Bauer, Joy. "Vegging Out," Complete Idiot's Guide to Eating Smart, 1998, p185,

Corliss, Richard; August, Melissa; Cooper, Matthes; Bjerklie, David; McLaughlin, Lisa; Cole, Wendy; Ressner, Jeffrey. "Should We All Be Vegetarians?" Time, July 15, 2002, Vol. 160, Issue 3, p48, 9p.

Nissa, Simon. "Does Eating Vegetables Keep You Thin?" Vegetarian Times, Jan 2005 Issue 327, p94-94, 1p.

Oser, Marie. "Menu for the Plant-based Palate." Vegetarian Times, Feb 2004, Issue 318, p33-37. 5p.

Top of Page


Websites

In a Vegetarian Kitchen with Nava Atlas
This site provides recipes, including “kid-friendly” recipes, vegetarian tips, seasonal menus, and vegetarian forums.

Vegan Outreach
Offers a Vegan Starter Pack for new vegetarians. Also includes recipes, articles, information on vegan advocacy, and downloadable pamphlets.

VegSource
Provides 24 hour a day support to vegetarians via discussion boards, live chats, and e-mail. Includes a vegetarian FAQ as well as information on health, nutrition, parenting, and weight loss.

Vegetarian Baby and Child
Practical advise for raising vegetarian babies and children. Includes book and product reviews, recipes and nutritional information.

Vegetarian Recipes
Searchable collection of over 800 vegetarian recipes; includes nutritional information and reviews.

Vegetarian Teen
Offers vegetarian information, support and products for teens and their parents. Teens may contribute articles and/or reviews.

Top of Page


Local Resources

People for Animal Rights of CNY
Provides a list of vegetarian friendly restaurants in Central New York.

Top of Page


Associations

American Dietetic Association
Offers a position paper on vegetarian diets along with a link to the companion paper A New Food Guide for North American Vegetarians [.PDF File]

North American Vegetarian Society
A non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting the vegetarian way of life. Includes articles from Vegetarian Voice magazine.

Physician’s Committee for Responsible Medicine
Offers a wide range of nutritional information on vegetarian diets including recipes and the Vegetarian Starter Kit.

Vegan Action
Vegan Action is dedicated to helping animals, the environment, and human health by educating the public about the benefits of a vegan lifestyle. Provides recipes and links to vegan resources.

Vegetarian Resource Group
Provides a number of nutritional guides and handouts, some in Spanish, as well as recipes and articles from Vegetarian Journal.

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

Vegetarian Nutrition Resource List [.PDF File]
From the Food and Nutrition Information Center, National Agricultural Library, United States Department of Agricultural.

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us