Written Communication:

A pathfinder to the written communication resources
of the Onondaga County Public Library System


by Shanti Shoemaker, Librarian

This pathfinder is designed to aid patrons in their search for information about business and personal communication.  Most of the resources listed here are reference-style texts and websites:  they can be used as guides and manuals.  If you have questions about grammar, writing style, and forms of correspondence, these resources will give concrete answers and examples.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Books
Magazine Articles
Databases
Websites
Related Pathfinders


Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Image of Encyclopedias of Business letters book cover image of book cover for English Grammar for the utterly confused Image of book cover for the Little Brown Handbook image of book cover for Oxford Essential Office Handbook image of book cover for title: How to Write it

AMA Style Guide for Business Writing, 1996.
808.066 AMA

Business Grammar Handbook by Scott Pancoast, 1992.
428.202 PAN

Business Letters Ready to Go! by Anne Basye, 1998.
R651.75 BAS

Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America Kristin Kahrs, Editor.1995.
Includes sample business plans in several volumes.
R658.401 BUS

Encyclopedia of Business Letters, Fax Memos, and E-Mail by Robert N. Bly, 1999.
651.BLY

English Grammar for the Utterly Confused by Lauri Rozakis, 2003
428.2 ROZ

Forms of Address: A Guide For Business and Social Use by Andrea Holberg et al., 1994
Includes commercial correspondence and etiquette examples.
R395.52 FOR

The Little, Brown Handbook 8th ed. by H. Ramsey Fowler, 2001
R808.042 FOW [Picture above is 9th ed.]

Merriam-Webster’s Guide to Business Correspondence, 1996.
R651.75 MER

The Oxford Essential Office Handbook, 2004.
651 OXF

How To Write It: A Complete Guide to Everything You’ll Ever Write, by Sandra E. Lamb, 1998.
Includes letter examples for social, business, and personal occasions.
651.74 LAM [Picture above is 2004 ed.]

The McGraw-Hill Handbook of More Business Letters, by Ann Poe, 1998.
Includes sample letters.
R651.75 POE

Put It In a Memo: A Practical Guide to Persuasive Business Writing, by Helen Gorenstein, 1992.
651.755 GOR

U.S. Government Correspondence Manual, U.S. General Services Administration, 1992.
Includes chapters on punctuation, style, spelling, letter formats and forms of address. Good practical guide for anyone writing any business letters.
R651.75 UNI

Top of Page


Books

The OCPL Library Catalog will have many resources.

Here are some useful subject headings to search for materials:

Personal Communication


Everyday Letters For Busy People by Debra Hart May, 1998. Includes forms and samples.
808.6 MAY

Everyday Letters for All Occasions by Jack Maguire, 1995. Includes business and personal communication.
395.4 MAG

Gift of a Letter by Alexandra Stoddard, 1990. A gentle read about the art and pleasure of letter writing.
395.4 STO

How to Say It: Choice Words, Phrases, Sentences & Paragraphs for Every Situation by Rosalie Maggio, 2001.
808.6 MAG

My Deepest Sympathies: Meaningful Sentiments for Condolence Notes and Conversations, Plus a Guide to Eulogies by Florence Isaacs, 2000.
395.4 ISA

What to Say For Every Occasion by David Belson, 2002.
808.51 BEL



Business Communication


The 100 Most Difficult Business Letters You’ll Ever Have to Write, Fax or E-mail: Clear Guidance on How to Write Your Way Out of The Toughest Business Problems You Will Ever Face by Bernard Heller, 1994.
651.75 HEL

The AMA Handbook of Business Letters by Jeffrey Seglin, 1989.
651.75 SEG

Business English: A Complete Guide to Developing an Effective Business Writing Style by Andrea Geffner, 2004.
808.0666 GEF

Business Notes: Writing Personal Notes That Build Professional Relationships by Florence Isaacs, 1998.
658.45 ISA

Get to the Point: Painless Advice For Writing Memos, Letters, and E-mails Your Colleagues and Clients Will Understand by Elizabeth Danziger, 2001.
808.066 DAN

How to Write a Business Plan by Mike McKeever, 2005. 658.152 MCK

Instant Recommendation Letter Kit by Shawn Fawcett, 2002.
808.066 FAW

Internationally Yours: Writing and Communicating Successfully in Today’s Global Marketplace by Mary Ann De Vries, 1994.
808.066 DEV

Model Business Plans for Product Businesses by William Cohen, 1995.
658.401 COH

The Perfect Memo! Write Your Way to Career Success! by Patricia H. Westheimer, 1995.
658.453 WES

Strategic Business Letters and E-mail by Sheryl Lindsell-Roberts, 2004.
651.75 LIN

Style: Ten Lessons in Clarity and Grace by Joseph M. Williams, 2000.
808.042 WIL

Writing Effective Letters and Memos by Arthur H. Bell, 1991.
651.74 BEL

Writing That Works: How to Communicate Effectively in Business, Email, Letters, Memos, Presentations, Plans, Reports, Proposals, Resumes, Speeches by Kenneth Roman, 2000.
808.066 ROM

Top of Page


Magazine Articles

"Dos and Don'ts of a Good Proposal Letter", Journal of Accountancy, April 2002 v193 i4 p22(1) . Retrieved from Academic ASAP on June 2, 2005.

"Writing Tips for Noticeable Interoffice Memos", OfficeSolutions, May-June 2003 v20 i3 p11(1). Retrieved from Academic ASAP on June 2, 2005.

"Properly Use These Common Words and Phrases", Essential Assistant, April 2003 v16 i4 p4(1). Retrieved from Academic ASAP on June 2, 2005.

"Stop Whining and Start Writing: How to Pen Effective Complaint Letters", Black Enterprise, March 2004 v34 i8 p123(1). Retrieved from General Reference Center Gold on June 2, 2005.

"Writing the Fundraising Letter Right", Campaigns & Elections, Dec 2003 v24 i10 p42(2). Retrieved from General Reference Center Gold on June 2, 2005.

Top of Page


Databases

For an index to more articles on written communication, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Back to Top


Websites

OWL Online Writing Lab: Purdue University
Demonstrates effective writing skills for business, personal and scholarly writing.

Guide to Grammar and Writing: Most Frequently Asked Questions. [Capital Community College Foundation.]

Elements of Style by William Strunk
The online version of the standard writing guide.

WritingHelp-Central.com
Sample letters, business plans, reports and more.

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

"How to Find the Job That is the Right Job for You"

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us