Databases

Available to Central, City, Suburban

From Age of Learning, Inc., the award-winning ABCmouse.com curriculum is designed to help young children (ages 2-6+) build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse.com is 100% educational, with 3,500+ learning activities across all major subject areas—reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. 

  • See tutorials in General OneFile section, above.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. Comprised of nearly 200 titles.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Comprehensive collection of over 1,200 animals for elementary school and above.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Fact-filled, interest-driven resource for the states, noted Americans, and U.S. History for elementary school and above.

Available to Central, City

Profiles of more than 18,000 deceased men and women who have influenced American history and culture.
[** Expiring July 2017 **]

Available to Central, City, Suburban | In Library Use Only

Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research. It includes all available records from the United States Census (1790-1940); military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Learn More: http://proquest.libguides.com/ancestrylibraryedition

Available to Central, City, Suburban

An online magazine for booklovers - including reviews, previews, "behind the book" backstories, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Provides access to accurate and up-to-date business, company and industry information and a wide variety of global business information in a single source. Efficiently research business case studies, competitive intelligence, company histories and financial reports and career and investment opportunities. This resource replaces the Gale Business & Company Resource Center. Use the links below to become more familiar with the enhanced search features and content.

Tutorials 

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A useful tool for entrepreneurs, small and mid-sized businesses and nonprofit organizations that  combines extensive consumer household, market segmentation, and demographic data from ESRI with GIS mapping technology so you can find customers and understand your market.

Find out more:

PDF icon Landscape Segmentation Resource Manual, PDF icon Your Guide to Business Decision

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Your Driver Education program contains the following state-specific information:
 - 10 car practice tests
 - 6 motorcycle practice tests
 - 3 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice tests
 - 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)
 - An FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes the American Heritage Dictionary.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Based on the distinguished, long-standing print product.  Geared to the sophisticated research needs of more advanced students.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Provides Instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests. More than 175 journals covered.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

More than 100 full-text magazines and journals including the Wilson Art Index and RILM. Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Available to Central, City

Direct, immediate, free access to National Archive records including more than 5 million military rec­ords, documents, and stories. Also includes over 74 million digitized documents and images, such as War of 1812 pension applications, stunning documentary photographs, and even original Civil War battle sketches. The Fold3 Training Center includes a link to ‘Finding Your Military Veterans’ a free video course from Ancestry Academy.

Learn More: http://proquest.libguides.com/Fold3

Available to Central | In Library Use Only

Find information on more than 90,000 U.S. foundations including direct corporate giving programs and company-sponsored foundations, 900,000 recent grants, and more than 400,000 key decision-makers.

Available to Central | In Library Use Only

Quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

Available to Central | In Library Use Only

The Foundation Center's premier data visualization tool and the easiest way to see who is funding what and where around the world. With millions of grants from 2006 to the present, Foundation Maps combines the Foundation Center’s rich data on grantmakers and their grants with Google maps and provides innovative ways to visualize funding data. The flexibility and precision to tailor research, helps funders and nonprofits access the knowledge they need to make strategic decisions and strengthen their impact.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A selection of individual e-reference books. Topics covered include consumer health, education and business and history.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books including the Business Plans Handbook. There is no loaning or checking out - the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. GVRL has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira). 

PDF icon List of Newspapers Available

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Focus specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. Includes content from 50 journals relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Coverage from 30 full-text journals begins in 1980.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

Tutorials

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology from more than 275 academic journals and general science-focused magazines.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Search this online encyclopedia set for sports articles and biographies. The emphasis is on sports that are popular in North America, but there is considerable coverage on sports and athletes from other parts of the world, too. Includes volumes on baseball, basketball, boxing, racing, football, golf, ice hockey, the olympic sports, and tennis.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

From Salem Press, the database includes essays, maps, charts and images about the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries, plus historical biographies.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished in the 17th century. Includes biographical information about emperors, conquerors, kings and queens, popes and theologians.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Biographical essays with illustrations of key historical figures up through the Fall of Rome.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

637 essays focus on historically significant people considered "notorious" and controversial. Scope of coverage is worldwide from ancient times to the present, with an emphasis on the North American and the West.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Biographical essays on the standard figures - kings, queens, generals, artists, and scientists from Africa, Asia, Europe, and North and South America as well as many key figures who are less well known. Also includes a comprehensive listing of Rulers and Dynasties, other chronologies and maps.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Includes coverage of over 350 of the greatest scientists in history from a wide range of fields. Each of these extended biographies offers an introductory summary of the person's scientific significance; birth and death dates and places; and specialty fields of science. Biographies represent a strong, global, cross-gender focus.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

GreenFILE a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns - global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. Containing nearly 300,000 records, it includes full-text from current publications as well as backfiles from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management , Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology . Also included is information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Based on the full text of the Academic American Encyclopedia, is a fact-filled reference resource. Includes and interactive atlas, images, sound files and topical Internet links. Designed for users from the upper elementary grades through adults.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A collection of online encyclopedias and other reference titles including: Amazing Animals, America the Beautiful, New Book of Popular Science and Lands and Peoples.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

This five-volume set includes American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century devoting coverage to many previously underrepresented areas of inquiry, including African American artists, Asian American artists, and Native American art, both historical and contemporary. Artists, major movements, institutions, critics, and the architecture found in major cities of the United States are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art.

Available to Central, City

A collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture, including a complete set of U.S. Federal Census [head of household] records from 1790-1930, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and an index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.

Learn More: http://proquest.libguides.com/heritagequestonline

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Nearly 100 leading industry journals covering topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. Coverage begins in 1980.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Access full text articles from more than 1000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading international titles. Search articles by title, headline, date, author or newspaper section. 

Tutorials 

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Complete encyclopedia for Spanish speakers and Spanish language students.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Up-to-date information on countries, cultures, and current events for middle school and above.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Learning Express Library is an online learning resource for academic and career test preparation, and reading, writing, math, and science basic skills improvement with practice tests, courses and downloadable ebooks in PDF format.  New test preparation tools enable users to select viewing answers during testing or at the end, after scoring. Practice in untimed or timed modes. 

The Career Center includes practice tests to help you prepare for entrance, occupation and military exams as well as job search and workplace skill development. The Computer Center has tutorials on MS Office products, Windows 7, and some CGI software.  There is also an Adult Learning and High School Equivalency Center that includes the TASC. The College Preparation Center has practice tests for AP, ACT, SAT and PSAT.  The School Center contains tutorials and downloadable ebooks for 4th grade and up.

PDF icon Overview of Learning Express

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Lynda.com is an extensive collection of award-winning online courses and video tutorials to help you learn business, technical and creative skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals. Courses are taught by recognized industry experts. Learn what you want, when you want, from our entire library. Build custom playlists to organize courses you want to watch.  Watch courses on your computer, tablet, or mobile device. Switch back and forth without ever losing your place.

Available to Central, City

More than 1.5 million biographies of leaders and achievers from around the world in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more that  have appeared in the 24 Marquis Who's Who print titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from Who Was Who in America volumes from 1607–1985.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Covers 135 iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Includes legislative documents, speeches, congressional reports and more with in-depth analysis and commentary. Also includes biographical essays, timelines and images.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Covers 125 iconic primary source documents from ancient times to the present and from virtually every geographical region. Entries include the full text of the document, an overview that outlines the importance of the document and an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 500 titles and more than 7 million articles with links to related sources outside of the current article: reference books, magazine and newswire articles.

Available to Central, City

Independent and in-depth recommendations and research on stocks, mutual funds, and exchange traded funds in an easy to use, easy to understand format. Includes data reports on 8,484 stocks, 23,928 mutual funds, and 807 ETFs and analysis on more than 1,600 foreign stocks.

PDF icon Quick Guide, PDF icon User Guide

Available to Central, City, Suburban

In-depth biographical and critical essays covering  more than 600 musical artists who made an enduring impact on music between 1901-2000.  Includes many genres,  world music and music for film and musical theater.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Concise resource covering a broad range of topics. Includes history timelines, wonder questions, reading lists and teacher guides. Geared toward students in the middle grades. 

Available to Central, City, Suburban

In-depth coverage of science, health, and technology for middle school and above.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Full-text articles from a collection of New York State newspapers including the Syracuse Post Standard (1996-current). To search the Buffalo News and Albany Times Union, use the Newsbank database. To search the New York Times use InfoTrac Newsstand database.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Retrieve digital images from the New York Times Eastern edition or the Wall Street Journal Late edition from 2008 to present. Unlike a database, you will need to select a date to view the newspaper image. Subject or keyword searching to locate articles is not available in the digital microfilm. To search for articles by subject, use the National Newspaper Index database listed above.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. More than 60 Special Reports provide news articles, images, videos, maps and other useful content grouped for convenience under specific topics and themes. Customized email alerts can be set up to follow a particular topic or news event of interest. Newspapers include all the Syracuse Newspapers (12/2/86-Current), Utica Observer Dispatch, Albany Times Union, and many major U.S. metropolitan titles. This collection is text only and has no images.

These Search Tips will help you retrieve the best results.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A searchable archive of digital images from US and international newspapers.  Coverage includes more than 750 cities and over 2000 newspaper titles. Included in the collection is a searchable archive of Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages.  Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.

PDF icon General FAQs

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Database covering more than 120,000 adult, teen and children’s fiction and non-fiction titles. Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels, award-winning and recommended titles, read-alikes, book reviews and much more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration – with content from more than 380 journals.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Contains eBooks to read online, or library cardholders may e-mail or download chapters. Includes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, the Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, and the Grove Encyclopedia of American Art.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Articles from more than 60 journal titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Useful information for researchers in social science, history, or art. Includes 100 subject-appropriate periodicals, which are predominantly full-text.

Available to Central, City

100 videos with interactive exercises to prepare New Americans for the Naturalization Test. You will need a personal email in order to set up your ProCitizen account.

Available to Central, City

A global literacy tool to enable speakers of any of 50 languages can learn to speak any of 60 new languages.  Learn to understand and speak a new language in everyday situations through activities, drills and quizzes. You can also choose from other available learning aids, such as films, music and audio files.  Content is available for learners of all ages. You will need a personal email in order to set up your Pronunciator account. Mobile apps are available for a variety of devices

 User Manual in English and Spanish

Available to Central, City

Full text coverage of the following newspapers: New York Times (1851-2012),
Wall Street Journal (1889-1997) , Washington Post (1877-1999) , Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), 
The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2002).

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A business and consumer research tool to use for quick lookups or creating customized lists. Includes listings for more than 14 million U.S. business, 4 million new businesses, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, more than 800,000 U.S. physicians and dentists and 210 million U.S. residences. Profiles include contact and other directory information. Advanced search allows users to do reverse phone number lookups, search by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.

Tutorials

  • RefUSA Online Tutorials Schedule: Search Essentials, Uncovering the Hidden Job Market, Start, Manage, Grow! How Businesses can use RefUSA and more. 
  • RefUSA YouTube Channel :short video tutorials on key features of the database such as searching for trade associations, building a list of manufacturers and mapping the results and more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

The Careers in Human Services guidebook provides insight into potential careers, and instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Online, searchable, full text content of two titles: Magill’s Medical Guide 7th edition, an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides and Salem Health: Cancer, 835 essays on all aspects of cancer for the patient, family members and caregivers.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Includes Milestone Documents in American and World History, Great Events from History 1454-2000,  Great Lives from History, Great Athletes and more.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Includes Earth Science: Earth’s Surface & History, Applied Science and Physics & Chemistry of the Earth. Together, both titles include over 425 lengthy essays and more than 1,000 illustrations (tables, charts, drawings, and photographs) that display basic principles, phenomena, geological features of our world and the solar system, engineering, micro- and nanotechnologies, aerospace, communications, energy, information, medical, military, transportation, forensic, and even food technologies.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Find over 280 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs.  
Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Over 2,500 entries from 180 international scholars including biographical sketches of important personalities associated with the development of the Jewish religion over the centuries and an index with alternate spellings of Hebrew terms.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

This three-volume encyclopedia examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. This set provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from circa 500 CE to circa 1500.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

A collection of journals providing balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books. There is no loaning or checking out - the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. GVRL has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Provides content from over 300 largely full-text publications from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. Almost 100 full-text periodicals are included. Coverage begins in 1980.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Individual ebook how-to guides for planning and selecting the right insurance and financial products.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Balanced coverage of events in World History. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. Contains nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals.

Available to Central, City, Suburban

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. [This is not the Onondaga County Public Library catalog.] Paid for in part with funds administered by the Central New York Library Resources Council.