Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Syracuse Carnegie library.
My Account | Catalog | Databases | Services & Collections | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | News & Events |

Locations & Hours | Search Tools | Reference Shelf | Ask A Librarian | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home

Business

Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries


Gale Business & Company ASAP     novelny logo

More than 35 million articles from business, management, and trade journals and newspapers.

 

Gale Business & Company Resource Center     novelny logo

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and business periodicals, including detailed business and industry news, 1980-present.

Online Tutorials

 

ReferenceUSA

A business and consumer research tool to use for quick lookups or creating customized lists. Includes listings for more than 14 million U.S. business, 4 million new businesses, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, more than 800,000 U.S. physicians and dentists and 210 million U.S. residences. Profiles include contact and other directory information. Advanced search allows users to do reverse phone number lookups, search by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more. **Using the ReferenceUSA Business Database Tip Sheet [pdf]

ReferenceUSA Online Tutorials

 

Small Business Collection

Find over 280 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

 

Ferguson's Career Center

Detailed and up-to-date job and industry profiles including fastest growing industries and most in demand jobs,  job hunting and workplace skills and sample resumes.

 

 

Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Hoover's Online

Comprehensive coverage of public, private, and non-U.S. companies. Includes profiles, news, key people, and in-depth financials.

 

Mango Languages Online

Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans. Use Mango Basic courses to quickly learn some basic words and phrases for your business trip or short trip overseas or, for speakers of other languages, to quickly learn some basic words and phrases in English. The Mango Complete courses are aimed at students who want to move beyond basic language skills. Instruction available in French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish as well as ESL lessons for Brazilian Portuguese, Polish and Spanish speakers. A text translator is also provided.



Morningstar Investment Research Center

Independent and in-depth recommendations and research on stocks, mutual funds, and exchange traded funds in an easy to use, easy to understand format. Includes data reports on 8,484 stocks, 23,928 mutual funds, and 807 ETFs and analysis on more than 1,600 foreign stocks.

**Quick Guide [PDF]

**User Guide, 22 pages [PDF]

Morningstar Online Tutorials
Basic Training Webinar

 


Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

 

Last updated January 11, 2012