Education & Careers
Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries
Learning Express Library
Features test preparation for licensing and certification exams as well as interactive skills improvement in areas like reading, writing, and math. Includes the GED, SAT, AP exams, ASVAB, civil service, U.S. citizenship, and more. Many titles are also available as e-books. Includes a wide array of computer skills tutorials for today’s most popular applications, MS Word, Excel, Access, Outlook, Powerpoint Corel WordPerfect, Windows XP, Vista and Mac OSX Leopard. The Job & Career Accelerator offers step-by-step job search assistance—from researching occupations to viewing and applying to available jobs. Create effective resumes and cover letters, track your job search and prepare for interviews. New users should enter their OCPL library card number as the user name.
** How to Use Learning Express [PDF]
** LearningExpress Guided Tour
** Finding tests, courses and ebooks
** About My Center
Universal Class
Over 500 free high-quality personal enrichment and non-credit online courses. Offers engaging video-based lessons, a collaborative learning environment, graded lesson tests, certificates of achievement and Continuing Education Units for selected courses. Users need an email address to create their personal Universal Class account. Users can register for up to five classes at one time, but there is no limit to the overall total number of classes a user can take. Users have six months to complete any class and can sign up more than once for the same class.
List of computer classes in Universal Class
**
First Time User Login
**
Already Registered? Sign-in
Job & Career Accelerator
Personalized, step-by-step job search assistance—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding over 5 million up-to-date job postings. Easily create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams. Users can also plan, tailor, and track their individual progress for multiple job searches. If you are already a registered Learning Express Library user, you do not need to register again. Use your LE login for this resource. List of computer classes in Job & Career Accelerator.
Vocations, Careers & Technical Education Collection
Provides content from over 300 largely full-text publications from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Culinary Arts Collection
Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - ebooks
Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books, including study guides : PRAXIS, CLEP, GED, GMAT, GRE, and SAT. There is no loaning or checking out - the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. GVRL has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.
Available to Central & City Branch Libraries*
Mango Languages Online
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans. Use Mango Basic courses to quickly learn some basic words and phrases for your business trip or short trip overseas or, for speakers of other languages, to quickly learn some basic words and phrases in English. The Mango Complete courses are aimed at students who want to move beyond basic language skills. Instruction available in French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish as well as ESL lessons for Brazilian Portuguese, Polish and Spanish speakers. A text translator is also provided.
*Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White
If your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.
Last updated May 1, 2013

