Onondaga County Public LibraryPencil sketch image of old Carnegie Library
Ask A Librarian | My Account | Catalog | Databases | Kids & Teens | Local History & Genealogy | Locations & Hours |

News & Events | Search Tools | Services & Collections | How Do I? | About OCPL | Home


Available to Central, City and Suburban Libraries

Ancestry Library

[In Library Use Only]

Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research. It includes all available records from the United States Census (1790-1940); military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.


NewsBank America’s News & Access World News

A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. More than 60 Special Reports provide news articles, images, videos, maps and other useful content grouped for convenience under specific topics and themes. Customized email alerts can be set up to follow a particular topic or news event of interest. Newspapers include all the Syracuse Newspapers (12/2/86-Current), Utica Observer Dispatch, Albany Times Union, and many major U.S. metropolitan titles. This collection is text only and has no images.

These Search Tips will help you retrieve the best results.

Newsbank Special Reports video tutorial

Newspaper Archive.com

A searchable archive of digital images from US and international newspapers.  Coverage includes more than 750 cities and over 2000 newspaper titles. Included in the collection is a searchable archive of Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages. Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.

Newspaper Archive.com - Syracuse

A searchable archive of just the Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages. Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.



Business and residential phone numbers, addresses, and other directory information, including reverse phone number lookups. The business directory offers advanced mode searching by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.


Available to Central & City Branch Libraries


Direct, immediate, free access to National Archive records including more than 5 million military rec­ords, documents, and stories. Also includes over 74 million digitized documents and images, such as War of 1812 pension applications, stunning documentary photographs, and even original Civil War battle sketches.

HeritageQuest Online

A collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture, including a complete set of U.S. Federal Census [head of household] records from 1790-1930, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and an index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.


Proquest Historical Newspapers

Full text coverage of the following newspapers: New York Times (1851-2012),
Wall Street Journal (1889-1997) , Washington Post (1877-1999) , Los Angeles Times (1881-1991),
The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2002).



Branch Libraries - Beauchamp, Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White

star iconIf your library card was issued by a suburban library, check that library's website for access.

Last updated October 1, 2015